We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veronica”
Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2012

stayed at this hotel for three nights may 2012. The televisions in the rooms are old and antiquated so you have to fiddle with different remote controls to get them on if at all, the dining room was like a library with no atmosphere, breakfast ok and staff friendly, needs to be brought up to date. Over priced for the condition of the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlborough1, Manager at Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

This lady had a 5 hour drive from Liverpool to Whitley Bay in Northumberland in the poaring rain and a long day at work. She was tired when she arrived.
She had a problem with her tv was given the option of an uprgade from a single room with a shower for £47 to a family room with a bathroom sleeping 4 people costing £100 at no extra cost to her self or we would find her another accomadation. She viewed the room and said she would like to stay.
The breakfast room is a very sunny room with a sea view ,it's covered in period pictures and does not look like a library. I'ts quiet except for the sound of the waves which most people like.
She could have had background music if she had asked for it.
Our femal chef who has been in the business for many years and is very friendly made sure this lady was well looked after as she was alady travelling alone.
This lady was asked on many occasions if everything was alright and if she needed anything.
She had the oppertunity to speak up for herself or to move to another accomadation but she stayed on with us for 3 days .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I and 2 children often stay here. We usually have the large sea facing room which also has a fridge, microwave and a table with an amazing view of Whitley Bay beach. We love staying here as it's a great location (near metro) Andrew and Prudence are very friendly and the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. We find it excellent value for money and look forward to staying there again soon. I would thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed at this hotel bank holiday weekend for 3 days we stayed in the room with a seaview it was clean & the view of the sea was nice we found the staff very helpful & friendly,breakfast was very nicely cooked ! good quality bacon ! good hotel value for money ! looking forward to staying again !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back from overnight stay. We found the hotel to be well maintained and very pleasant. Our family room was clean, spacious and en-suite. Beds very comfy. Brilliant value for money. Location excellent - overlooking Whitley Bay seafront.Staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. Will definitely return. Have read some of the negative reviews and can't believe we were staying at the same hotel!

If you get the chance have a meal at the Tak Dir Indian restaurant a few doors away - good quality and very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
Thank JudithWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very regular stop over for me , no problems, friendly staff and good value

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

not good at all had to pay cash on arrival even though card machine availabe for other guests. rooms dirty and self catering filthy with no running water! very dissapointing and NOT what promised at all .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What an experience this was , we stayed as part as a big group as our children were competitng in the scottish nationals in sunderland .the room was cold and dirty and it was two toddler beds rather than single beds.had to ask for clean towels on the 4th day .no cooking facilities only a microwave and toaster no sink to wash up dirty plates it was awful .we were shown by prudence what her guests can have for breakfast if they dont want the traditional one and were told we could pay £2pnd for 3 bits of it . what a joke . we were treated like second rate citizens.never again would i go through this again ,faulty towers springs to mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandsides Guest House
Sandsides Guest House
#2 of 23 in Whitley Bay
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Seacrest Hotel
#18 of 23 in Whitley Bay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cara Guesthouse
The Cara Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Whitley Bay
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandsbrook Guest House
Sandsbrook Guest House
#11 of 23 in Whitley Bay
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aald Northville Hotel
Aald Northville Hotel
#7 of 23 in Whitley Bay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Address: 20-21 East Parade | Central Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range: £34 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, you will find a wide selection of en suite accommodation, with sea front, family and ground floor rooms available. Overlooking the broad sweep of Whitley Bay's golden sands, this family guest accommodation hotel forms part of an Edwardian terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing