We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
8
7
3
3
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
7
3
3
29
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the ocean inn for a birthday night out, the accommodation was great we stayed 2 nights and had no problems. The staff were great and soo helpful. Everything was clean and tidy.The rooms had recently been decorated and felt fresh with new carpets and blinds. We will defo be going here again in the near future. Thanks for a great stay and experience in Whitley bay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 103lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceaninn81, Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your review, we are soo happy you enjoyed your stay and happy with the facilities at the ocean inn, we do hope we see you in the near future.

Thanks

Management and staff at the ocean inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

hi recently stayed in the ocean inn as part of a stagg party,it has recently been refurbished and found it really good value for money the rooms where clean tidy and bedding fresh also had a tv and dvd player not that we watched much tv as we spent most of the time in the bar also smelling of fresh paint quite retro decent pint and resonably cheap just what you want as a stagg party whitley bay spot on place would recomend it and the ocean inn to any one especially stagg partys taylor made really with the bar down stairs over all great place friendly people what more can you ask for .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRISTOL69ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I recently stopped at this hotel and had a good stay fri/ sat evening. I met the new owners on arrival, me and my party were showen to are rooms all refurbished with power showers towels flat screen tvs, had cracking breakfast on sat morning are rooms were tided sat afternoon, The rooms hotel and staff were spotless, had no problems at all. Bar down stairs all new had an excellent afternoon with drink offers !!!!!!

Recommended defo as hotel all been re kitted out : )

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceaninn81, Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the ocean inn and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked three double rooms and on arival were told there were on two available, however a third was eventually found ,a single. Tiles were dropping off the ceiling and the walls were stained and disgusting. When we booked, through Booking.com, we were told we could use credit cards, however, surprise suprise the hotel had no machine. We were charged £100 per room per night even though one was a single. It was the weekend of The Great North Run, so obviously The Bay Hotel!!! was ripping us all off. I Have since found out that Whitley Bay has a bad reputation, if this is a sample of the hotels then I am not suprised. I could never ever recomend this hovel to anyone. I cannot give any ratings as there are none low enough.

Room Tip: The only helpful tip is DO NOT STAY THERE
Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank GEH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceaninn81, Manager at Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

I would like to apologise for your stay, we are now under new ownership and management and changed the hotel name, the hotel has been fully refurbished to flat screen tv's, new carpets, electric showers, all rooms redecorated, new breakfast room, blinds on windows. We do hope that you may stay with us sometime in the future.

Many Thanks
Management at the ocean inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at the beginning of June for a friends birthday in Newcastle. I knew as soon as we had arrived it was a a mistake to stay here even tried to get somewhere else but was talked out of it by a friend. Very un inviting and the staff were just atrocious so un friendly and made us feel as though we were bothering them when we tried to check in. The room was tiny and felt dirty, each time the toilets flushed the noise was horrendous and woke me several times during the night even though i had been drinking. Coming back to Newcastle in August for a Hen Party and definately will not be staying there. The actual name of the hotel is the Bay hotel but was told by a member of the staff from the bar downstairs the original name. I would advise you not to even set foot in the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sevvy1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews