We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Somewhere Else”
Review of Ocean Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Inn
Ranked #21 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find Somewhere Else”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My boyfriend came to this "hotel" on a stag do - when they arrived there was no one there to greet them and they had to wait 2 hours for someone to turn up and show them to a room. After wasting £25 on this place, he decided to leave and go home only to find that the hotel had overcharged him by £250, yet when you rang them no one wanted to help. Had to dispute this through our bank.
Horrible hotel, horrible staff. No customer service at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanOToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    3
    3
    29
See reviews for
3
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

For £18 a night, this was a bargain for an en suite room. Staff were friendly and the room was reasonably clean, although not spotless. Room had everything you need, freeview TV for the Cup Final in my case, a place to sleep and plugs to charge my phone. Nightclub was downstairs, you could hear it, but could still sleep. Woken by some noisy and inconsiderate residents in the night, but that's not the hotels fault. Bed was comfy and clean, shower was hot enough, can't really ask for more than that for this cheap

Visited between seeing football at Consett and Sunderland http://footygrounds.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/consett-fc-belle-vue-park.html

Room Tip: 205 was perfectly fine for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussWWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

avoid this hotel at all cost its a health and safety hazard i had my stag doo here lost my deposit ue to people smoking in the rooms when no 1 in my party smoked. there was urine stains on bed sheets no toilet paper in any room bathroom mirrors hadnt beed washed in a decade, carpets were all stained, a half eaten pizza was found in a drawer from the previous guests suppost to be a bed n breakfast but it was a loaf of bread and black banans in a cuboard a total joke the rooms arent worth £5 never mind £25 go else where and pay a little more will be well worth it. only time wee seen staff all w.e was to demand money

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

as a coach driver . I visit loads of b&bs... hotels ect... I took a bus load of guys in for a stag weekend. . and was appalled. .. saw owners once.. to demand money ... rooms were like dirty bed sits.. dirty walls.. filthy beds. ripped towels.. no soap. or toilet rolls.. carpets filthy.. done bed n breakfast expecting a dining room.. we got a cupboard like room... at toaster n loaf. .. no staff saw all weekend.... guys... seriously. .. take a better hotel and just walk to the action.... which I may add was crap...but we were guys... and had no option to just treat it as a place to put your head down... ps ... get to boots in the morning to get de loused.... the club attached next door. .. lush? should be called velcro... as your feet stick to the floor... sure staff at bar are under age... look like 14... walking around in hit pants... disgrace of a place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter42041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is now call the pubes hotel we booked in for the week the first night got to the room it was discussing as I pulled the covers back all I could see is Curley pubes everywhere I felt sick so I pulled to cover back on the other camp bed and guess what,, that's right more curly pubes I had to sleep on top of the covers. The next day I was itching all over and thought I had crabs and had rashes all me.we handed the keys for rooms in next day. Do not stop at this hotel it wants closing down.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kennedy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Rooms were very cold,there were no evening meals(although they were still advertising doing them)which was probably a blessing after finding pubic hairs in 2 beds and what looked like vomit in the hot water urn in the breakfast room.You are well catered at breakfast as long as you like just toast or cereal.We decided to leave after one night as we felt we couldnt wait to see what else was wrong here or what bug we would get,the whole place needs a really good clean.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joiner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Rooms cold, dirty, bath had no taps, sink backed up with brown sludge! Pillow stank of vomit. There was a dried greenie on the wall. Had to find breakfast room ourselves. When we eventually found it we lifted the lid from the hot water urn and found a liquid that looked like vomit! Disgusting!!!!!!! Oh and I forgot to mention the pubes in the bed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn

Property: Ocean Inn
Address: 20-24 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RG, England (Formerly Bay Hotel/Banana Joe's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management. We have recently had a full refurbishment and the hotel is a different hotel. Ocean Inn is located in the heart of this busy seaside resort, close to all amenities and local nightlife. We provide a warm friendly service to all our guests. We have our very own bar hush lounge on the main street of Whitley Bay hosting resident DJs and many other fun events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Whitley Bay
Banana Jos Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing