We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Oaktree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaktree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I have stayed here on a few occasions for work rather than pleasure, besides my shower not working to well on two occasions (top room I think) its been good.

Plenty of parking on street nearby, excellent breakfast, rooms stay warm (in winter), good freeview channel selection.

Room Tip: The top room is warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
77
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Other comments say it all. An excellent place to stay. Its well run by a very friendly couple who actually go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
They know the area so are able to point you in the right direction for local sights, eateries and that sort of thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Great small hotel, comfortable and welcoming with great access to Metro into Newcastle and surrounding area. Andrew and Sonia (proprietors) are very friendly and cannot do enough to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with good recommendations for meals out (Divanties Italian excellent and close by). A good breakfast to set you up for the day. I would definitely recommend Oaktree and am sure we will return next time we are travelling through North East England.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here for the second time last week. The B&B is in a good location in a quiet street, and it is run by friendly people who are always willing to help. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There’s plenty of on street parking, and the Metro, town, and sea-front are all only 5 minutes away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I'm sure we'll be back to Oaktree Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I needed to overnight in Whitley Bay and by chance picked Oaktree Lodge via an internet search engine. Luck was definitely on my side as it turned out to be a simply wonderful bed and breakfast run by a couple of people for whom nothing was too much trouble. Sonia and Andrew are genuinely friendly and really made me feel at home. Although I arrived late they saved me a parking space and I even had my bag carried to my room by Andrew.

I stayed in a big room (Room 8, I think) with a large bay window overlooking the front of the hotel. Many such places claim to be conveniently situated, but few deliver on that promise as well as Oaktree Lodge does. It really is a couple of minutes away from the Esplanade with all its restaurants and also the sea, just walk out the front door, look to your right and it is in front of you!

My room had lots of nice little touches: Properly functioning wi-fi so I could catch up on my e-mails. Complimentary mineral water, biscuits and a choice of tea and coffee. Perhaps most importantly the bed was comfortable and the bath and toilet facilities in my room were spotlessly clean. The next morning, breakfast was as good as any I've had, it was delicious, served quickly and a truly relaxing start to the day. I really cannot recommend this place too highly and I will certainly try to book it again when I'm next up in Whitley Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Dont usaully stay at b&bs, only hotels but this b&b was just very very good, friendly welcombe Adrian took our cases to our room which was very clean with everything you would want.
we were given a pot of tea and a chat on our arrival. we asked about good places to eat and was told to go to a wonderful Italian resturant which was excellent and a new Indian which had just open and they got us a table although they place was fully booked. Breakfast was everything you wanted and very well cooked.If all B&Bs were this good i think i could get used to staying in them. P.S. The only down side for my Partner was No full length mirror but she is fussy!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbird97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Agree with Barbara H and Bonnie F. Clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast but the clincher is the friendliness of the team there and how accomodating they were to us. Very friendly towards families but do check because at the time we went they didn't have cots or high chairs - as we were forewarned we took our own cot and there was plenty of space in the room we were in to set it up (room 5).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldybeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaktree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaktree Lodge

Property: Oaktree Lodge
Address: 15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaktree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaktree Lodge - Whitley Bay - 4 STAR SILVER Award - ETC btreakfast Award - Green Tourism Silver Award and Highly Recommended across all review sights is the perfect Guest Accommodation for business or leisure, situated in a quiet central location in sight of the scenic Northumberland coast As well as contemporary bedrooms, equipped with En-suite bathroom, TV, Hairdryer, Tea/coffee facilities, Onsite facilities include Free Wi-Fi, Lounge/Bar. A full English breakfast using local organic produce is included and daily packed lunches are also available, Experience this beautiful seaside resort, located just minutes to start of Hadrians wall and the end of Coast to Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaktree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaktree Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing