We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Oaktree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaktree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The owners of Oaktree Lodge, Andrew and Sonia Birds, are exceptional hosts. We arrived early (10:30 a.m.) and they rushed to prepare a room for us so we could settle in, after being fully booked the previous night. They also provided excellent advice on good local walks, ways to get around the area, must see sights and great local restaurants. We followed their advice and were very glad we did.

Our room was squeaky clean, quiet, comfortable and had a good hot shower. Breakfast was tasty and made from local produce. More than anything it was the positive attitude and local knowledge willingly shared by the owners that would make me return again. Another bonus is that the lodge is a close 5 minute walk from the train station.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Illywhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband and elderly parents. We all found it very clean, good size rooms with excellent facilities. Breakfast was tasty, filling and all tastes catered for. Andrew and Sonia were excellent hosts who went above and beyond to make my parents stay an enjoyable one and believe me it takes a lot to please my father. They could not have been more helpful. I would recommend a stay at this guesthouse to anyone - but if you are loud, drunk and vulgar go find another place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellelorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a nice B n B... the owner was very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble [he pointed out the best place to eat in Whitley Bay] and the breakfast was very good in the morning. The room was clean and the shower hot and powerful. Also handily located relative to the Metro station. Another one for the 'most satisfied' tray...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What can I say..... This is the most friendly, hospitable place to stay. Andrew and Sonia are the best hosts and will do anything for you and the breakfast is brilliant. We are coming back that's a promise and wish it was sooner than November. Ps best poached eggs xx

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Andrew and Sonia provided a very comfortable room to help us rest and get ready for our big 84 mile walk across England. They suggested some areas to explore and places to eat the night before we left. The breakfast was delicious and filled us up with enough fuel to walk 21 miles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernazzaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Very tidy place. Bikes stored safely, good advice on the local food and beer. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and they organised the taxi for us to the station. I would definitely use this B&B again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have to admit I was almost set on giving this place 5 stars within a few minutes of getting in to my room, it's just a very nice welcoming B&B with a really friendly atmosphere, I particularly liked all the attention the owners clearly give to having an ethical & green focus to their business, e.g. the recycling bins in the rooms, the locally sourced milk at breakfast etc. We were in room 8, which was a lovely attic room, and although not billed as such, it just about had a sea view over the rooftops outside (the sort which would be a disappointment if anyone had made a fuss of it, but as they hadn't was a lovely bonus). Veggie breakfast was provided, and was perfectly nice. Only drawbacks were a bit of noise in the morning from the heating system and the electric shower seemed a little bit ropy, but I can't bring myself to knock it down to a four star review, cos I simply liked the place, and will definitely go back there next time in Whitley Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 9 in Whitley Bay
422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaktree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaktree Lodge

Address: 15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaktree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaktree Lodge - Whitley Bay - 4 STAR SILVER Award - ETC btreakfast Award - Green Tourism Silver Award and Highly Recommended across all review sights is the perfect Guest Accommodation for business or leisure, situated in a quiet central location in sight of the scenic Northumberland coast As well as contemporary bedrooms, equipped with En-suite bathroom, TV, Hairdryer, Tea/coffee facilities, Onsite facilities include Free Wi-Fi, Lounge/Bar. A full English breakfast using local organic produce is included and daily packed lunches are also available, Experience this beautiful seaside resort, located just minutes to start of Hadrians wall and the end of Coast to Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oaktree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaktree Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing