We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Oaktree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaktree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Florida
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a great time at Oaktree Lodge, while visiting family in Whitley Bay, We loved the family friendly atmoshere, It was perfect in cleanliness and had a really freindly helpful approach with a great knowledge of the local area, Oaktree Lodge stood out from the others in this street, having a very modern look about it, the rooms we had were comfy, warm and had all that was required for an excellent stay, well done, you are deserving of all your awards

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
81
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Clean and comfortable guest house. Hosts very welcoming and helpful with eating recommendations. Room cosy, if a little small but well equipped and very clean. Good hearty breakfast with plenty to sustain us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My parents and I stayed the night before starting Hadrian's walk. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. She even recommended a great restaurant nearby and booked ahead for us. Breakfast was great, with both cold and hot choices to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirleaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My son and I stayed for 1 night before starting Hadrians Wall trek the next day. Andrew and Sonia were lovely and advised us of the best places to eat, the room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and sustained us on the first leg of our walk, only complaint no black pud!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyPOP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

As a Travel Agent for the last 43 years I have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world but I have never enjoyed any better personal service than here. OK it's not a 5* hotel but it is an excellent little establishment so well run by Andrew and Sonia, spotlessly clean and a joy to experience.
What a pity that more of the patrons did not take advantage of the excellent bar, superb wines at a more than reasonable price, however that was our luck because we had the owners all to our own to chat with, their local information and knowledge was so helpful and they even booked our restaurant table for us in the evening!!!


Well done.

Room Tip: Room 4 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a great find.
Stayed with my family for one night as a stopover and wouldn't hesitate to return.
The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful going out of their way to make our stay as good as possible, even to the extent of taking us down to a place to eat in their own car.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice hospitality tray and bottled water.
Breakfast was hearty and cooked to our preferences with plenty of choices.
There's a small bar on the ground floor which we took advantage of and tried the local beer.
The road is quiet and although we didn't park on the property the car was fine just outside on the road.
We will definitely recommend Oaktree Lodge as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomdaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The owners of Oaktree Lodge, Andrew and Sonia Birds, are exceptional hosts. We arrived early (10:30 a.m.) and they rushed to prepare a room for us so we could settle in, after being fully booked the previous night. They also provided excellent advice on good local walks, ways to get around the area, must see sights and great local restaurants. We followed their advice and were very glad we did.

Our room was squeaky clean, quiet, comfortable and had a good hot shower. Breakfast was tasty and made from local produce. More than anything it was the positive attitude and local knowledge willingly shared by the owners that would make me return again. Another bonus is that the lodge is a close 5 minute walk from the train station.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Illywhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaktree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaktree Lodge

Property: Oaktree Lodge
Address: 15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaktree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaktree Lodge - Whitley Bay - 4 STAR SILVER Award - ETC btreakfast Award - Green Tourism Silver Award and Highly Recommended across all review sights is the perfect Guest Accommodation for business or leisure, situated in a quiet central location in sight of the scenic Northumberland coast As well as contemporary bedrooms, equipped with En-suite bathroom, TV, Hairdryer, Tea/coffee facilities, Onsite facilities include Free Wi-Fi, Lounge/Bar. A full English breakfast using local organic produce is included and daily packed lunches are also available, Experience this beautiful seaside resort, located just minutes to start of Hadrians wall and the end of Coast to Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Oaktree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaktree Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing