We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
Nonsuch Bay Resort(Freetown)(Great Value!)
US$453
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$515
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Point Antigua(English Harbour)
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (4,457)
Filter reviews
4,457 results
Traveller rating
1,925
1,658
547
192
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,925
1,658
547
192
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineappleribssnack barmary's outhousechickenfishocean viewshirley heightsa la cartelaid backbar staffgreat holidayrum punchmain restauranttopaz restauranttropical waterfront roomevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,952 - 2,957 of 4,457 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed 8 June - 23June 2 weeks. -Cheshire England
We have been all over the Caribbean islands and it was a special birthday (my 60th) so I wanted to go somewhere different. this was the smallest place we have very stayed in. If you want to relax and chill out and want to a small lovely beach then you might like this resort. The most positive thing is that the beach front room we had was lovely & large, very clean, you walk straight out on to the beach, we did request a double bed & a fridge which we got. The sea was good for me as it was calm no big waves and crystal clear. Hobby cat was good they take you for a sail was great, my hubby went snorkelling he saw some great colourfull fish at the right hand end of the beach near the rocks.
The bar area was run down not enough chairs entertainment was not very good most people went to bed early as they were bored, take casual clothes with you as it is not a place to put your posh dresses on. Now I know what colonial means!
Now the FOOD, in the main restraunt the food was bland and only luke warm especially on the nights they had barbecues around the pool & beach I was fed up of eating cold food so I complained to the Director (Barbara) she looked at me didn't say alot said she would look into it but never heard from her again I also told her about the adult pool which was always dirty on the top, they did seem to clean it after that but still not with filter equipment which other hotels use.
The best meal was breakfast as the eggs are cooked to order & the bacon was nice & crispy at least they got that rigtht!
Go to the Pineapple Grill have to book this the day before but get there early as the places soon get snapped up as guess what! the food here was lovely and HOT so we went here all the time when it was open. Mar'ys Outshouse is a shack up the hill but the food was excellent and hot here jerk chicken, ribs, hot dogs and salad plenty of lager help yourself, the views up here are great.
This resort is not what we have been used to before but it is colonial so if you like this sort of thing then you may like it hear, the only other good thing was because it was small you got to meet lots of people we met some great people.
We hired a car for 2 days with another couple so we did get to see all of Antigua not much to see but driving through the rain forest was interesting and worth the trip, Shirley heights was stunning, Nelsons harbour was interesting & Jolly beach was great but this was on the Caribbean side so the beach & sea was magnificant.
The staff on the whole were nicen& friendly some were a bit miserable but thats life!
This is not a cheap holiday it is cheaper to stay at other Caribbean's resorts(Cuba, Dominican Republic,Mexico & Barbados) which are 4/5* and have nicer restraunts, bars, pools etc, so we will not be returning to this resort.
As Virigin don't fly direct from Manchester we took the BA shuttle to Gatwick the night before & stayed in a hotel overnight & this worked well. well done to BA & Virgin. Unfortunatley our return journey from Antigua to Manchester was fraught with problems due to Virgins flight being delayed hence we missed our connecting flight to Manchester, fortunatley as we had booked the connecting flight direct with Virgin we did not have to pay for the later flight. Something to watch if you are returning to Manchester via Gatwick you have to pass through Gatwicks security checks and any alcohol or liquids bought in Antigua or on the flight from Antigua that are not in a sealed package at the point of sale will be taken off you, so be ware.
Hi to Ian, Natalie, Michele, Paul & Barnaby lovely to have spent most of our hols with you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amronkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for posting about your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua. It was an honor for us to have you for your 60th birthday and I am so sorry that your experience at with us did not meet your expectations.

The highlights of your stay are very encouraging. We always want to provide a relaxing, friendly environment for all of our guests. We've followed-up with the staff as well as the General Manager regarding your dissatisfaction with a number of amenities and we are working with the departments involved to ensure future guests don't have a similar experience.

Again, thank you for your review. We are always appreciative of any client feedback received. Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-SANDALS if you have any questions or concerns.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Review Coordinator
Sandals and Beaches Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just spent 12 nights at the Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel in Antigua and we had a great holiday, relaxing and meeting new people. Many of the people who go here are from the South of England or the USA. We only met a couple of other Scottish people and one Welsh couple.

It is not a big resort, one of the reasons we picked it, and the other was the fact that all the buildings are built in Caribbean style. We didn’t want to wake up in a modern sterilised hotel that could be anywhere in the world. We wanted a real Caribbean experience and that’s what we got. The hotel is set in lovely grounds which are beautifully kept and regularly tended. Don’t miss the giant tortoises outside reception and the nursery area with little babies. They are lovely.

The check-in experience was great, don’t worry about rushing to get in first ahead of the queue. Instead of standing in a huge queue at reception waiting your turn, you are welcomed with cold towels and rum punch and everyone’s keys and relevant info are handed round while you are sitting relaxing. You are then shown to your room when ready and a porter takes your bags – very civilised.

We stayed in a Tropical Waterfront Room and we were very pleased with it. A nice big room with a beautiful view of the beach. You could lie in bed at night at hear the waves wooshing onto the shore. The air conditioning was very efficient and I couldn’t believe how quiet it was - you really couldn’t hear it. The ceiling fan was the same. There is a coffee machine in the room to make proper coffee but no kettle. I asked for one at reception and it appeared a couple of hours later. So if you are a tea drinker in the morning like me just ask for a kettle, it’s no problem. There is one British 240V plug in these rooms so you can use any electrical appliances you take with you. Don’t do what I did and buy straighteners for worldwide use, its just not necessary. Can’t speak for the other rooms. We also had a fridge but speaking to other people I think these are the only rooms that do.

Take a bottle of water or some sort of water holder with you as there is no bottled water in the resort. There is a soft drinks machine at the snack bar where you can refill your bottles. The bar staff will also happily refill your bottles and so will the restaurant staff. The water from these sources is filtered and is safe to drink. Occasionally you do get some at Mary’s but was available on only one occasion when we were there so you can’t rely on it. Alternatively, you can buy a bottle in the shop and refill that.

The food in the restaurant is not cordon bleu cooking but it really is pretty good. They have different themes for their buffet nights e.g. chinese, mexican as well as caribbean, so even being there for 12 nights we did not get bored. I felt the breakfast selection wasn’t huge although what there was was good. Wine is served with lunch and dinner and they are very good at refilling your glass. The Pineapple Grill is really nice so make sure you book to go there. You can do this from 8.30 a.m. the morning before you want to go. We went three times during our stay and it was good every time, including the service. Mary’s Outhouse – you will either love it or hate it. Either way the ribs and chicken are good. The climb isn’t as bad as people say I’m not that fit and found it pretty easy. The views from the top are well worth it. Although we only used it a couple of times, preferring the dining room or Mary,s the burgers from the snack bar were very good.

We booked a trip on the Catamaran Excellence and although expensive it was a good day out. Beware the rum punch tho! As many of the tours on offer didn’t really suit us, we booked Marvin to take us on a tour of the island which was tailored to our requirements. As well as taking us on a very informative trip, local knowledge is invaluable, he took us to St John’s and waited a couple of hours for us. Don’t be worried about booking any trips through him, he is very professional and reliable and, more importantly, licensed to work on that beach. He is also cheaper than the hotel. It charges $35 to take you to Shirley Heights on a Sunday night and Marvin is $25. It costs $8 each to get in but if you travel with Virgin and decide to go to make sure you get a voucher from the rep in the resort which gets you in free. It also includes a free drink when you get there.

On the negative side, I do agree that the bar area could do with a facelift, but this did not spoil our holiday in the slightest. One thing I will say, please do something about the horrible plastic wine glasses that are used during the day. I understand the practicalities of using plastic but really you could renew them a bit more often. The dishwasher had left its toll on many and they were awful!!

The evening entertainment was not great but we usually met someone to chat to and this suited us fine. It was nice to take a glass of wine back to our room later on and sit on the balcony just chilling.

The most important thing about a resort though is the people who work there. The staff are lovely and do their best to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good holiday.

If you want a relaxing beach holiday in a great little resort then I can recommend the GPB, don’t expect Sandals but then they don’t charge Sandals prices. All in all I think it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. It's great to hear what our guest think. Also, thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We visited the Gran Pineapple on a last-minute holiday through Hayes & Jarvis. It was without doubt a complete bargain considering the location, length of flight (on Virgin) and all inclusive package.

We paid the small upgrade for a sea-front room, which was well worth it. The room was simple, but spacious, clean and regularly serviced. The roof (we were on the first floor) was made of metal (not uncommon in Antigua) and as a result did occasionally make quite a din' if the rain was heavy at night.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic secluded little bay. With private beach and access to hotel residents only - except for the few local sellers that security seem to allow access to the beach.

There's a small reef along the south of the bay. Unfortunately it's been damaged over the years by, I presume, ignorant tourists standing on it. So the reef isn't what it once was, but the fauna is still a great sight to see.

The reception and gardens of the hotel we're in fantastic order, and very well tended to. The main restaurants and bar we're however a little worn, and could do with a splash of paint here and there.

We we're unfortunate in that it rained for 5 of the 7 days we were there. So we spent more time than we would have liked in the bar and restaurants, and whilst the decor, food quality and service weren't of the highest standard, they certainly weren't bad. But being quite a small hotel, after 5 days of rain we we're quite tired of the same scenery!

Whilst I doubt I would return to the Grand Pineapple, I would recommend it for anyone who is looking for an affordable trip to the Caribbean. The staff are very friendly, and it's a wonderful location to enjoy - if the weather is good

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea-view rooms. It's worth it for the view every morning.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pauljamescampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Came back just over a week ago and still thinking how pleasant everybody was. A very relaxing holiday and felt well looked after by the staff. Stayed in an Ocean View room (i.e. up the hill in one of the blocks) - absolutely fine. Clean and with good air-conditioning. The beach is beautiful and the the snorkelling pretty good - saw a stingray and a barracuda plus a host of other fish out by the coral. The coral is a long way from the OMG rating at the Red Sea, but good enough to keep me interested for an hour or so each day. Only real downside was the pricing of trips from the hotel through the hotel - not quite sure why they set this so high. If you really want too see the island and don't want to pay an arm and a leg I recommend that you walk to Willikies from the hotel (about 25 minutes) and then get one of the regular (and frequent) buses into St John's - only costs US$1.50 per person and you get to meet people. And everybody is really helpful and really friendly (on the return the bus driver dropped us back at the hotel - that never happens in London). There are two bus stations in St John's - make sure you've checked out your route beforehand - it isn't hard, Antigua is pretty small after all.

Highlight of the hotel has to be the outhouse where Mary and her companion endlessly cook spare ribs and jerk chicken - two wonderful people spreading much joy - just watch your head by the washbasin if you are tall - there's a rather nasty piece of wood at head height around there - you'll know if you find it.
My thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheLondonGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. It's great to hear what our guests think! Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at the pineapple for 13 nights in a 2nd floor beach front room which was actually very nice with excellent views of the beach.

We got married on the hill top gazebo which was also excellent thanks again Novella, Jules our photographer was great & made our day a lot of fun, thanks again Jules.

However that aside after the wedding we were left with one bar, one restaurant even though it's advertised as having 3. The adult pool was very dirty & wasn't cleaned at all during our stay.

The food was always cooked nice but choice was very minimal & the a'la carte menu only had 4 choices on the menu, the buffet also only had 4 or 5 choices. Breakfast was always the same no variation at all. The pineapple grill was very nice but also only had 4 menu choices.

Entertainment was almost non existent. The only bar closes as early as 11pm some nights then the disco starts (if you can call it that)...... The only fun night was the beach party & BBQ on a Monday. If staying for 2 weeks be aware that the meals & entertainment just repeat themselves it's a bit like your own groundhog day.

If traveling to the grand pineapple I would recommend no longer than a 7-10day stay as every day being the same can get very repetitive.

However the beach is beautiful & out of all our previous holiday destinations is probably one of the best we've ever been to.

Snorkelling at the end of beach is excellent if brave enough to swim out 15meters or so & the water is lovely & warm even though it's the Atlantic side & slightly rougher.

Our main problem was on paying our bill on last day we were charged two diffrent amounts which left us with no money for the 32hr travel home which dampened our experience even further.

Also if traveling with children beware the "party guys" selling their "products" on the beach during the day.

If your after a moderately priced carribean holiday with a perfect beach & plenty of sun then the grand pineapple is a good resort but we won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews