We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
Nonsuch Bay Resort(Freetown)(Great Value!)
US$437
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$358
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
US$1,753
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$502
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Inn & Gunpowder Suites(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Copper and Lumber Store Historic Inn(English Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Yacht Club Marina Resort(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Point Antigua(English Harbour)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,448)
Filter reviews
4,448 results
Traveller rating
1,917
1,658
546
192
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
1,658
546
192
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineappleribsmary's outhousesnack barchickenfishocean viewshirley heightsa la cartelaid backbar staffgreat holidaymain restaurantrum punchtopaz restauranttropical waterfront roomevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
3,889 - 3,894 of 4,448 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for 10 days in December, just before christmas. Although a lot of the reviews I've read have given this resort a good score, I think it depends what you have experienced before - having been on an amazing holiday in St Lucia for a similar price this really was not up to scratch.

We paid extra for an oceanview room. In hindsight we shouldn't have bothered as we were on the ground flour all we could see were the palm trees in front of our room. The room was tired but reasonably comfortable. Not as clean as you might expect.

The hotel itself is quite nice, and the beach is nice, albeit on the atlantic side of the island. At the time we stayed there it was probably only half occupied, it may feel a bit crowded if it was full.

The food was terrible. If you usually live on microwave meals/ frozen food then you may say the food is good but for anyone who enjoys eating out in proper restaurants then you'll hate it. It was all very bland and the selection is poor. The set-up is there is one main restaurant area (The topaz) which is either buffet or a menu which doesn't change much. The buffet selection is poor, considering it is the main place everyone eats. On occassional days they pretend to have two other restaurants of which one is italian (it is in the topaz) and the other mexican/carribean neither of which it does well. The topaz also is the breakfast area and lunch which are both buffet. The other places to eat lunch are mary's outhouse, which does chicken/ribs/hot dogs (and thats it) and the pool grill which was by far the most popular place to eat the whole time we were there. The outhouse has nice views but you would have to seriously love BBQ chicken/ribs to go there everyday. The poolgrill does a good cheeseburger and also has nice icecream, chips and brownies.

The staff were friendly enough, the evening entertainment was ok but repeats itself so if you were to stay there for two weeks you would go through everything twice. Some of the bands they have are very good, other nights were not so good with a magician or karioke as the main event.

In summary I wouldn't really recommend this hotel unless you get an amazing deal for it; for the money you pay to go to the carribean it is not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drdottina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We had planned to stay at the Grand Pineapple Beach Club for Xmas this year, we normally go to Barbados, and love the carribean not only for the weather, but the people and the laid back way of life.

I had read various reviews regarding this hotel, but decided that in general the hotel seemed ok, value for money.

I booked a beachfront room for 2 adults and 1 child, when we checked in we were upset to find outselves in the smallest room we had every been in.

The room was very tired, ripped bed linen, furniture that had seen better days.

We were moved after highlighting that we did expect a bigger room, after paying for the 'best caterogry' and was moved after the porter told us that infact we had been placed in the smallest room in the hotel.

The 2nd room was bigger, however, was still very tired looking, very basic in facilities, no window or fan in the bathroom and the lock on the door hanging off.

The beach was fantastic and the staff were very helpful, I actually felt quite sorry for them, they seemed embarssed by the quality of both the facilities and food.

After spending 2 nights, we should have been staying for 11nights, we decided we had to move. The pool area was very tired and dirty looking, rubbish bags left out over night, the bar had wooden crates in the seating area, and a pool table which had seen better days.

We had booked a table for dinner on our second night at the Pineapple Grill, on arriving for dinner found the restaurant to be closed, even though we had made the reservation only a few hours previously. We were told that we would have to eat in the main restaurant, where they had 'closed' off a small area to serve guests who had booked to eat at the Pineapple Grill.

The Hotel management were very understanding and agreed to let me move without cancellation charges, I walked across the road and booked into the Verandah Resort which was like haven!

After speaking to some over guests, we realised that we weren't alone and they too had left and move to the Verandah.

I am pleased to say that the V erandah saved our Xmas!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sunnysantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Four of us (two parents, two teenagers) stayed for a week through Virgin and we loved it. A lovely bay and the resort has many places with real character, especially Mary's Outhouse

Location - the bay is beautiful and very peaceful. Despite the terrible news that British tourists had been shot on the other side of the island (on the weekend we arrived), we felt the Grand Pineapple was a great getaway.

Transport - the hotel is not served directly by public transport, so to get to see other parts of the island you have to hire a car or book onto a bus trip. We did hire a car for a couple of days from the Avis desk in the hotel, and that worked really well. You park in a supervised compound at the top of the resort.

Rooms - we had adjoining rooms (a double and a two bedroom) upstairs in the garden area. These were clean and quiet, bedrooms a decent size but bathrooms small. A couple of times the water pressure was too low but apart from that everything worked.

Food - excellent and plenty of variety. One time we had to queue a while for a dinner table, but generally there are lots of tables and plenty of staff. Quality was highest in the Pineapple Grill, but all the meals were good.

Beach and pool - one of the pools was closed for refurbishment but the main pool was popular with the children. The beach looks spectacular and there is a great snorkelling area on the far right - as well as lots of shoals of fish, I saw a ray swim along the shallows in front of the resort.

Facilities - one of the reasons we picked the Grand Pineapple was the chance to sail. For the Hobie Cats and windsurfers they run inductions, but these are not available every day so even though we had sailed before at a different resort we had to wait a couple of days here. Once we could get out, the sailing was excellent.

Activities - beach volleyball was organised by the staff and there was a regular group. Plenty else on offer, also entertainment in the bar area. I thought one of the bands at the resort was actually better than the one that played to a big crowd at Shirley Heights the previous Sunday

Service - it was good. Having been in Barbados beforehand, we didn't rate Antiguan people as friendly as the Bajans, but Mary's Outhouse is exceptional.

Money - the front desk at the Grand Pineapple refused to cash large denomination travellers cheques, so we had to travel across the island for a bank. Although in the all-inclusive resort itself you don't really need cash, take some money with you from home or get it changed at the airport before you transfer.

Scuba diving - we booked a first-time scuba dive by telephone (the hotel gave us the number) with John at English Harbour. John collected us from the Grand Pineapple and he promised it would be the highlight of our holiday. He was right - I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wotton-under-edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

this hotel is great. the food is good. the birds at breakfast are fun as they steal anything and watching someones breakfast being stolen is a laugh. i really did not think they where a problem just part of life.
the rooms are basic but clean and comfortble. the staff are really freindly and helpful. the beach is lovely. the only problem i had was comming home. after going to such a wonderfull place. i would tell everybody to go to this hotel. but make sure you take shirts to wear to dinner or you will get sent to the naughty chair. as they are really fussy about what you wear.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squidge1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Grand Pineapple for a week in mid-December, in a standard room which overlooked the hotel gardens, and part of the beach/sea.

As mentioned in a number of other reviews the hotel rooms are a bit tired and could do with updating, although they have everything you need. Our beds, two doubles, were surprisingly comfortable, and our room was quite spacious. We also had remote control air conditioning, a ceiling fan and cable tv with numerous US and a few other channels. Our safe broke while we were there, and after mentioning it to reception it was fixed within a couple of hours. The hotel gardens are maintained to a high standard, and were covered in various Christmas lights that were not gaudy and over the top as you might see back home. All of which was a bit surreal considering the temperature was never less than 25c. The hotel also has a gym and tennis courts although they are found at the top of the hill away from the main hotel area. Neither of which were hardly used while we were there. There are two swimming pools, one small one beside the Topaz restaurant and a larger more inviting pool for people who chose not to go into the sea.

There are a few places to eat, mainly the Topaz and Pineapple grill restaurants. There is also an area of the Topaz restaurant used for what is called Chef Pietro's, which served a la carte food, although this was only open on certain days. The Pineapple grill was only open once in it's own building, and then moved alongside the Topaz while we were there, as there were not too many guests, besides the Topaz restaurant area was actually much nicer anyway. The breakfasts were good, with omelettes, and eggs cooked to order. Fruit, fried food and pastries were always available as well, although it's best not to leave your table unattended while there is anything the birds might take a fancy to or it wont be there when you get back! For lunch the Topaz restaurant always provided a buffet, which was good, with a number of choices and also pasta cooked to order. The snack bar was also available as was Mary's Outhouse although as the Topaz was pretty good we never tried the others. Plus Mary's outhouse does look a bit like a child's tree house, despite the fantastic views. For dinner you need to make a reservation at the reception each day, or a day in advance. Sometimes only the Topaz was open, but on these nights it was buffet, one night Caribbean and the next was Italian - both of which were very good. We ate in the Topaz from a set menu, with a few choices although this wasn't very good, we also ate at the Pineapple grill on an Italian set menu night and it was pretty mediocre. Chef Pietro's Mexican night was not very Mexican but fairly good nevertheless. At other times during the day the snack bar was open and look out for the freshly made biscuits and cake, found at the tea/coffee machines just after 5pm, if you want something sweet.

The beach was really good, with light golden/pinky sand and crystal clear water. Unfortunately for me there was always a bit of a current and waves which made snorkelling not very worthwhile, partly because the coast is exposed to the Atlantic, and i was told partly down to the time of year. There were other bays we saw during our visit which were either on the Caribbean sea side or that were sheltered by natural reefs or islands, that looked much better for snorkelling. The sea was certainly still ok for swimming, but against the tide it could be a bit of a struggle for weaker swimmers. There were also hobbie-cats available for use with one of the hotel staff which looked pretty good fun, kayaks, and flippers/snorkel/goggles all included within the all inclusive package.

There was some entertainment during the evenings, consisting of local Caribbean bands, Karaoke yawn - nights, and other music, none of which we were particularly interested in.

We went on only two trips while we were there, partly because we didn't expect the prices to be as high as they were and also because we were only there for 7 days. The circumnavigation of the island with the Excellence, which was very good and included most of the sights of Antigua, but was 95 US dollars per person, bought through the rep, (as it was 110 US with the hotel travel department). Although i'm sure you could probably get it cheaper still, if you went direct to Excellence which is based in St Johns. This included drinks throughout the day and lunch. And we also went on an Eco tour with Paddles, which involved a small boat trip, a bit of kayaking and some walking, this was about 50 US. This was also pretty good but maybe not for anyone who just wants to relax.

Overall we had a really good holiday, only slightly spoilt by a number of showers. These probably would have been a relief if there was not always a breeze, as inland it was always noticeably warmer without the wind. It did also rain every night i think which of course wasn't a problem, but it did sometimes wake you as the rain sounded much worse than it actually was on the roof.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christycerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews