We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family holiday!”

Review of Le Chene

Swimming pool with loungers - perfect for summer sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool with loungers - perfect for summer sun
One of the ground floor bedrooms - suitable for wheelchair users Spacious lounge with south-west views opening onto private patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Swimming pool with loungers - perfect for summer sun
One of the ground floor bedrooms - suitable for wheelchair users
Spacious lounge with south-west views opening onto private patio
La Chene sleeps 10 comfortably and is available all year round
Bedrooms have super-king beds or can be set as twins
4 of 5 bedrooms have en suite bathrooms
Downstairs bedroom with access for hoist
En-suite wetroom with showerchair available
Sit and relax at Le Chene
Log fire is perfect for the cooler months
Well equipped kitchen and dining space for up to 14
Patio with BBQ is perfect for outdoor dining
Games barn offers badminton, table football, snooker and table tennis
Swingset and sandpit are great for children
Go out and about wine tasting in the local area
Plenty to visit - such as the chateau/art gallery of Oiron
Wonderful sunset views are enjoyed from the south-west facing lounge year round
Ruined chateau at nearby Bressuire
Bicycles of all sizes are available for all our guests to use
Large heated pool available to guests May to September
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Argenton-les-Vallees, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FiveFloyd
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to La Charriere again this summer - our fourth visit - for another fantastic holiday. We stayed in the bigger gite with my brother and sister-in-law and kids. The gite is very spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Lots of bathrooms are very helpful with lots of little children! The seating terrace and BBQ area, which overlooks fields at the rear of the house is so peaceful. We have lovely memories of watching the sun go down with a glass of wine! The swimming pool area is very well maintained and a good size with two boxes full of bits and bobs for the children to play with in the water. We all enjoyed the play barn. Great toys for the children and sporting equipment for the adults. We really did mean to play badminton but kept finding ourselves back on that terrace with the wine... We loved using the bike (huge range to choose from) and the roads are so quiet that we could go on long rides with even our beginner, wobbly rider. We love the location. It is very peaceful and you really feel away from it all. Good shop in village. Nearby town has bigger supermarket and everything else you might need. We loved a day trip to Parc de la Vallee for the children - very reasonable, great rides including loads for tiny ones and hardly any queues. Also like the local swimming pool with slides and the lake. This year we tried canoeing on the river which was a great success. Paul and Charlotte are wonderful hosts and always on hand to help out with bike problems, cuddle wailing infants, organise canoe trips, offer advice on local wine selection and pop in with delicious fresh veg from their garden etc etc!! We've booked again for next year. Perfect family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ezzy_Jo
Leicester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gite in great location with lots of extras”
Reviewed 3 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday was for the extended family that had a whole range of ages, likes and interests. The Gite is well placed in the open country side but close enough to get to the shops and petrol station (15 mins).
We stayed in La Chene and it comfortable held all 10 of us - 7 adults, 2 older children and a young child. The pictures on the website doesn't do the gite justice as it is much bigger than I or the rest of the family expected. The facilities within the gite are second to none. There are 4 large bathrooms to go with the 5 bedrooms, a huge kitchen/diner and an equally large living room with the English satellite TV ( a huge winner!). There is also a washing machine which with a little one is a must.
The added extras which the whole family took pleasure in using was the swimming pool and barn conversion into mini sports hall. These got used every day with the different options of badminton, volleyball, basketball, pool, table tennis and table soccer. Due to our weather and lack of time, we weren't able to take up the chance of a family bike ride but there were plenty of bikes for all to chose from.
Paul and Charlotte were more than happy to help with anything that we needed. They arranged a visit to a local winery, and even took us so that we could partake in the wine tasting! They have a huge selection of DVD's that can be borrowed too.
There is a second gite at this location and while we were there, there was a second family holidaying. Due to the space available, there was never an occasion where it felt crowded, nor was there a concern that we would not be able to use the facilities so thoughtfully provided by Paul and Charlotte.

Overall, our holiday was a huge success and would highly recommend a visit to Paul and Charlotte's gites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall facilities
Liked least: The weather - rain mostly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yannickpe...
Sautron, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
965alice
Poitiers, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man_Greg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and four bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing