We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful little gite, perfect for two, beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hobogite

'Chez Hobo' - Main view of of our recently converted old stone cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Chez Hobo' - Main view of of our recently converted old stone cottage.
A good view of the Pool, with its decking surround, from the extensive rear patio area. The comprehensive Hobogîte Welcome Pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
'Chez Hobo' - Main view of of our recently converted old stone cottage.
A good view of the Pool, with its decking surround, from the extensive rear patio area.
The comprehensive Hobogîte Welcome Pack
Open plan kitchen and dining area, with lovely French oak table.
Open plan sitting/dining room - Flat-screen DVD, 5.1 cinema sound & iPod/Mp3 input.
Lovely light double-aspect bedroom.
First floor landing with bedroom to left and bathroom to right.
Bathroom with the fabulous space-age 'shower pod' - enjoy!
The side of the Hobogîte, from the large undercover dining and barbecue area.
View of the rear garden and covered dining area, taken from the side of the gîte.
View from the front - wet room on left, storage barns on right, very quiet road at end.
First view of part of the acre of gardens and the pool, all there for your SOLE USE.
Private pool & gardens, with the Well & small Veranda, great for reading in the shade.
Another view of the large garden, with some fruit trees and our lovely shady pine trees.
Local sunflowers by the Church in La Chèvrerie, 300 yds from us.
The market town of Ruffec on the Charente River is just 6 km away.
Another beautiful village and chateau on the River Charente, Verteuil is 12km away.
'Les Trois Fontaines' beach, fishing, etc. at Villefagnan just 6km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ruffec, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Susan K
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gite, perfect for two, beautiful situation”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great little gite exactly as described and with exclusive access to beautiful grounds and pool this was the perfect spot for relaxing and catching the sun. With an English 'caretaker' on hand to ensure everything is in order this is was a problem free holiday. The kitchen is well equipped and as we do all our own cooking on holiday this was a bonus as so many rentas seem equipped on the basis that you'll do little to no cooking! We enjoyed two weeks at the gite and loved it. In this quiet part of France there was still plenty to do without every feeling that there were lots of tourists around - lots of sleepy villages and hamlets, stunning gardens to visit and much more. Great for walking and cycling. Wifi not great and I wished I'd downloaded books and music in advance - don't rely on it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden, pool
Liked least: Intermittent, slow wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
It's great to hear that you enjoyed a really relaxing couple of weeks at The Hobogîte, and also that you put all the lovely cooking utensils to good use during your stay.

We were however sorry to hear that the relatively slow Broadband in our part of rural France caused you some difficulties. It's important to bear in mind the “fair usage” download limit of 2GB per week, which is OK for emails and some normal web browsing, but it's unfortunately not up to downloading numerous files, or watching videos, etc. Fortunately though, all the local cafés, supermarkets, etc. provide free Wi-Fi when you need to download stuff.

Thanks again for leaving such a nice review, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienne, France
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and location
Liked least: wifi and no telly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hobogîte for your "get-away-from-it-all" escape, and we're delighted that you particularly enjoyed the gardens and pool area.
It is such a shame that some of the shine was taken off your enjoyment of the stay by the difficulties of providing Broadband in our part of rural France. We recently "upgraded" to satellite, as it seems we're just too far from our telephone exchange for normal broadband. At least this provides a reliable connection (if rather slow at times) and, as you say, all the local cafés, supermarkets, etc. provide free Wi-Fi.
Lene and I were are so happy to hear that you both had such a good time at The Hobogîte, getting full enjoyment both from the futuristic "shower pod" in the house and the (huge) old stone Wet Room by the pool. By the way, do you think we should patent the special "parasol holes" around the pool, they are rather nifty, aren't they?
Thanks again for coming, and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spatch79
1 review
“Hobogite Happiness!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks holiday at the Hobogite. It was exactly what we were looking for - a place to relax and recharge batteries. The Hobogite itself has everything you could need and is finished and furnished to a high standard. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the sun or read a good book. The pool and table tennis are added bonuses both of which we took advantage of daily. It has been all too easy to book and enjoy the Hobogite and will definitely recommend it to friends and family looking for a peaceful place to relax. Thanks Rob and Lene for creating this mini oasis (and Bill for finding my watch!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments - It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at The Hobogîte, and we were also pleased to hear that the Table Tennis table has been given a good airing! Many thanks for your recommendations to friends and family, and we hope to welcome you, or them, to The Hobogîte before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthying
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely positive review of The Hobogîte. We try very hard to make your visit pleasant and stress-free, and it makes us happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
margotdel...
Saint-Jans-Cappel, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis sur Old Atelier Gite, et nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié l'équipement et surtout le Welcome Pack. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez si bien reposé là-bas, et espérons que nous serons en mesure de vous accueillir encore une fois.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing