We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hisa Kostanja Front patio / parking area, balcony and kiwi which has now really taken off.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Hisa Kostanja
Front patio / parking area, balcony and kiwi which has now really taken off.
The Master Bedroom
The newly completed kitchen
A cosy night in with a large collection of dvds
The new sun terrace, large enough to usually find somewhere you can relax in the sun or the shade!
The stream at the bottom of the garden.
It is the green house in the middle - view of the terrace from other side of the stream.
Kanal from Gorenja Vas
Beach culture during the Summer in Kanal, a 5 minute walk from the cottage
Lake Bohinj
A view from the hill top village of Lig
The Chestnut festival in Lig, October
Most Na Soci, a town 30 minutes from Kanal where two rivers meet.
Vin yards of Goriska Brda
White water rafting on the River Soca
Spend a day in the vibrant and beautiful capital of Ljubljana.
WW1 trenches on the Isonzo front
The water park at Lake Bled, travel there by train from Kanal
The annual bridge diving competition in Kanal
The ski resort above the clouds over lake Bohinj
Costumes worn during 'Pust', to celebrate the end of Winter
Vogel ski resort above Lake Bohinj
Memorial Chapel, Javorca, for WW1 Soldiers that lost their lives in these hills above Tolmin
Tolmin Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kanal, Slovenian Littoral Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rdb251
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“The ideal place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a fantastic week in this cottage. Everything we needed was there, and everything we wanted to see and do was easily accessible. Excellent local bar and places to eat not too far away. Recommend the restaurant on Camping Lazar in Kobarid; amazing food produced from a campsite kitchen. Try the venison goulash with polenta or lamb cooked in a bell on a wood fire. Outstanding. Or, for the more traditional person, black Aberdeen Angus steaks. Food, wine and beer of excellent quality everywhere we went. Lake bled on the train; Lake Bohinj on the amazing car train from Most na Soci; the beautiful walks and mountain views and the Italian coast at Sistiana all worth a trip. All in all, everything you could want.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: tight parking for a large car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gizzy2012
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing just isn't a good enough word, What a beautiful place!
When we arrived in Kanal the sat nav took us directly to Chestnut Cottage, such a lovely cottage, clean and fresh inside and outside the balcony's and garden we're great for bbq's and relaxing with a cold beer.
All the bedrooms we're good sizes, the lounge was great for an evening dvd or just chilling and the kitchen had a table and chairs to sit and have food if wanted, lovely wooden work tops which we thought looked great!!!!
We wanted a holiday where we had the option to relax but if we wanted to do activities as well we could, we we're not dissapointed.
When we went the temperture was 30/40 degress which was so HOT, so what a treat it was to go swimming in the local river which was a 5 minute walk from the cottage, we we're swimming with all the locals and other visitors, everyone was glad of the lovely cooling water, we did this most days.
We had also heard that Lake Bled was a must see, so we caught the train to Lake Bled and WOW what a beauitful idealic place, the train was easy to catch from Kanal and was not much money either, when you get off the train it is a good 15/20 minute walk to the swimming area but well worth it.
One day we all decided we would like to try white water rafting, we used a local hire shop which was in one of the nearby villages, there was just a sign advertising hire. SO MUCH FUN!! would do it again.
Eating out everywhere in Slovenia is lovely, so many nice places to eat and not to expensive, in Kanal they have a pizza place which is yummy, resturant, an ice cream shop which also sells cakes, drinks, etc which you have to try and a place just past the ice creams where you an get massive yummy burgers!!!!
The locals are so friendly and helpful if we had any questions they we're only to happy to help.
We are definitely going to visit Slovenia again and can't wait to stay in the lovely Chestnut Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Rear deck overlooking stream
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mosta, null, Malta
Reviewed 21 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location, beautiful area, well equipped cottage.
Liked least: Parking was not always easy .
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashley S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home in an ideal setting.”
Reviewed 21 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I did a lot of internet research to find the perfect place to stay in Slovenia and I think I found it in Hisa Kostanja. If, like me, you value being within striking distance of a totally different experience every day of your holiday, I don't think you could find a better place to stay. Whilst the town of Kanal ob Soci is not the liveliest or most beautiful town in the world, it's certainly very picturesque, reminiscent of Mostar with it's large arched bridge, the beautiful Soca river flowing beneath it and the cluster of medieval houses that cling to the limestone riverbanks. It also has everything you need, with bars, an excellent pizzeria and supermarket all within five minutes' walk of the house.
The house itself is perched above the town in the village of Gorenja Vas, which is so close to Kanal that it's effectively another part of the town, only even quieter and with great views of the surrounding hills. There's a lovely terrace at the back which overlooks a little stream with a tiny waterfall that you can hear babbling away constantly while you relax, plus when you're in bed - the perfect way to send you off to sleep! We liked the size of the place - three big bedrooms, of which we only needed two - and spacious, modern living spaces with plenty of original character preserved. The bathroom was clean with new fittings and the boiler provided perfect hot water with the best water pressure I've ever come across in a rented property abroad - none of the usual irritating dribbling showers that go from freezing cold to boiling hot every 30 seconds here! The house was obviously very well maintained and, had we needed him, one of the neighbours, Tomas, was on hand to sort out any problems - we had no problems whatsoever, though.
The real bonus of this property, though, was the convenience for exploring the local area. With so much to see and do within an hour's drive - Bohinj (via the great fun car train - an experience in itself!), the Tolmin gorges, the incredible Skocjan caves, Idrija mercury mine/museum, Kobarid (WW1 museum and historical trails), the Goriska Brda wine region (Slovenia's undiscovered Tuscany) and Most na Soci (paddle steamer trip on the artificial lake created by the dammed valley of the Soca at this point) - we were able to cram more into 8 days than we ever would have imagined and didn't have a single moment where we were at a loose end. As long as you have a hire car, you can really explore some undiscovered corners. However, even if you're restricted to rail travel, the convenience of the station in Kanal to the cottage (3 minutes down the hill) means that you could do pretty much everything we did with a little forward planning and some early starts.
In summary, I can honestly say that I cannot think of any negative points about our holiday at Hisa Kostanja. We had lovely summer weather, witht the added bonus of one enormous, beautiful nighttime storm, but I can imagine the place being perfect for a holiday in any season and I would love to go back in winter to see the snow and try out the Slovene skiing experience. 100% recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Wi-fi would be handy.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing