We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
Nearby Hotels
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Court Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
207
7
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
7
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursenew zealandworld classcape kidnappersround of golfnon golfersthe cottagesgolf shopspectacular viewsonce in a lifetimefood and wineevery respectpre dinner drinksopen firefarm tourbeautiful propertyplayed holes
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was the first resort we stayed at in N.Z. Our expectations were very high, and I can honestly say, it was even better than we expected. Possibly the most beautiful accommodations we have ever had, anywhere. The staff was flawless, the food was outstanding, and the overall experience was one of a kind. It's a bit off the beaten track, but was worth it. If you are a golfer, put this on your bucket list.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious cottages. If you don't want a "hilly" walk to your cottage, ask for something close to the main building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear mompars

Warm greetings from Kauri Cliffs!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at Kauri Cliffs. Our entire team take great pride in the level of care and service we provide at the Lodge. So it is great to hear how much you enjoyed interacting with our team, the dining experience and your accomodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kauri Cliffs and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels throughout New Zealand.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The mansion is really surprisingly "authentic" and all it's furnitures very beautiful. The sight all around is astonishing.
I went to swim in one of their private beaches just before sunset : a unique experience.
Not being Golfer , we had to find some occupation but they organize a visit of their spectacular farm and it was nice.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jcrlierru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear jcrlierru,

Warm greetings from Kauri Cliffs!

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience at Kauri Cliffs. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful beaches on the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The setting of this lodge is magnificent! One looks out at Matauri Bay. 180 degree view of islands, beaches, golf course and sea. What could be better! The staff, including Jay who runs the lodge, are friendly and unbelievably accommodating. The dining is first rate too. We started our trip at Kauri Cliffs and even though we're not golfers, we couldn't have began our New Zealand stay in a better way. Don't miss the barbecue on Pink Beach or the property tour which includes the beautiful waterfall. The accommodations are a dream! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazinghorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Amazinghorizons

Warm greetings from Kauri Cliffs!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Kauri Cliffs. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the lodge, our team, the dining experience and especially the Pink Beach BBQ. We think this quintessential New Zealand experience is a must do when visiting Kauri Cliffs in the summer. We are so glad you were able to enjoy this whilst staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Jay and all of the staff at KC made us feel very welcome at the property. We especially enjoyed Michael and Norbert, two of the waiters who always took great care of us. My wife and I were on our honeymoon, and we enjoyed the entire stay immensely. I would definitely recommend the resort to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax, play some golf, and be taken care of. We especially enjoyed the opportunity to spend some time with the other guests during cocktail hour. All of the facilities were great...golf course (top 100 in the world), lodge, spa, tennis, private beaches, activities, etc. Outside of the activities, you should definitely plan on staying on the resort property for the entire time. It's not extremely easy to hop in the car/cab and whisk away to the town, or to anything else. But then again, there's really nothing that they don't already have taken care of for you. Loved it...can't wait for our next opportunity to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are the closest to the main lodge, if that's what you prefer. We were further away from the lodge in room 17. It didn't bother us at all, but my parents would have preferred something closer, if they had gone.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Ryan S,

Warm greetings from Kauri Cliffs!

Many thanks for your kind words and such detailed feedback following your stay at Kauri Cliffs.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time so much.

Congratulations again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Robertson family has done a superb job at Kauri Cliffs. From the moment Jay met our group at the front door to the staff's effusive goodbyes with wishes for a return visit, we had a wonderful time. From hikes to the Pink Beach to sailing around the Bay of Islands to the incredible food we enjoyed, it was nearly perfect. The rooms are spacious and private with spectacular views of the ocean. And the staff appears to do anything to makes guests happy. One night they set up a mini golf course on the first tee for us to enjoy during cocktails when it was a little too windy for us to enjoy cocktails on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NantucketJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear NantucketJoe

Warm greetings from Kauri Cliffs!

Many thanks for your kind words following your stay with us at Kauri Cliffs. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews