We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb!”
Review of Meadowcroft Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowcroft Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Edgworth B&B and Inns
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Superb!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Wonderful setting, phenomenal attention to detail and a gracious and welcoming host. I cannot fault my stay, Outstanding accommodation, toasty warm underfloor heating (we stayed mid winter) and left with a wonderful sense of wellbeing

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gendebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Just getting used to doing this! Hope to see both of you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
30
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best place I have stayed. The fireplace is great for a long chats. Not only the room but also the bathroom is also great. The owner is a very nice person. I do recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerhatT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much. A bit delayed but just getting used to do it!. It is much appreciated. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This B & B is outstanding, 5 star in every way from the bathroom, bedroom, patio area looking out onto open views & the wonderful way that Kath, the owner, makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive! The accommodation building itself has 1 entrance into a kitchen/dining area, then, to each end of this shared area, a private bedroom with an ensuite wow factor bathroom, ours with a whirlpool bath! We were really lucky in the fact that the couple who had the other room were a similar age to us & we ended up having a few drinks sat on the beautiful patio area and then later on in the night, bumping into them in the local pub (10 min walk) and by the end of the night it was like we had known each other for years!! Kath came in the morning and left us in bed while she cooked all our (delicious) breakfasts and was the perfect hostess! Lots of walks and lovely places to visit in the immediate area. Will certainly be booking another stay soon, wish I could live there!!!

Room Tip: Only 1 room has a whirlpool bath and a seperate shower, the other room caters for any disabled visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

What more can I say. An uncovered treasure. We are still in the room and going to come every month! Locals great. Room surpasses 5* + we have stayed in around the world. Every detail to perfection. And breakfast cooked by Kath the morning after! Don't want to say too much more or it will be booked up!!!

Room Tip: Both outstanding!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you . Sorry this response is late. It was great to have you stay. Thank you so much for the delightful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at the Meadowcroft B&B and what can I say - it was wonderful! Kath, the owner, could not do enough for us - nothing was too much trouble for her. The room was so comfortable, the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice made with home grown and locally produced ingredients. The views were lovely from the terrace - we only wish we had had more time to spend there. All in all, we would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_57lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral Merseyside
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Nothing to add to the other reviews, this B&B is 'Just Perfect'. IF you need accommodation in this area do not look for a hotel room as it will not be a patch on this place! Wonderful welcome from the owner Kath who has earned her 5* rating. The breakfasts are fabulous, cooked by Kath, with a great choice. The location is beautiful and had we had more time would have enjoyed a walk in the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csma277398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Very late but a big THANKYOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If ever you need somewhere to stay in the Bolton/Wigan... area, this IS the place to stay, without a doubt!
The Landlady, Kathleen Bullen, is sooooo hospitable, generous, friendly, helpful and caring! You forget you've only just met her!! She isn't on Facebook, though!
The accommodation is 'Comfort Plus' and sooooooo clean! The price was very reasonable.
The room in which I stayed was a massive double room, with an extremely comfortable bed and all the mod-cons. The ensuite bathroom was also massive.
There are two of these rooms/ensuites.
The kitchen area was equipped with everything! There is even a washing machine and clothes drier...
Kathleen fed us a banquet each morning, and provided snacks for the day! Her homemade biscuits are 'to die for'!
The views from the windows are breathtaking! - and there is a stable block right next door, with some lovely horses!
I THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND THIS B&B!!!
I'm looking forward to next time I'm up that way - because staying at Meadowcroft Barn again is most definitely something to which I look forward!

Room Tip: Both rooms are exactly the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathBullen, Owner at Meadowcroft Barn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgworth
2.1 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
4.1 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
7.0 mi away
Ingleside House
Ingleside House
#2 of 17 in Bolton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Barn

Property: Meadowcroft Barn
Address: Meadowcroft Barn Bury Road | Bolton, Edgworth, Bolton BL7 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Edgworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edgworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowcroft Farm is a luxury bed and breakfast in the heart of the Lancashire countryside. A rural retreat, located in the quaint village of Edgworth offering exceptionally high standards. The recently converted self contained barn is beautifully decorated, benefiting from en-suite wet rooms and a modern kitchen, with the warmth of a log burning stove and soft leather arm chairs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing