We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House - Tearooms disappointing”
Review of Turton Tower

Turton Tower
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Edgworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Turton tower is a house that has been evolving over the last 500 years. From a stone tower house in the 1400s, to the home of the Tudor Orrell and, later, the Victorian Kay Families, Turton Tower has been altered and adapted to suit the needs and tastes of those who lived here. It is because of these changes that Turton Tower is of national importance and unique in Northwest England. Today it still captures the spirit of those ages and displays some of the finest paintings and furniture in the region. Turton Tower is owned and run by Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful House - Tearooms disappointing”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The house /tower/gardens were great fun to explore but disappointed that the Tearooms didn't take card payments - we might have had a meal there as opposed to snacks. The tearoom staff could have been more friendly too

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    13
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A small historic building based around a 15th century Tower, encompassing 500 years of history. The interiors are laid out as a family home, so its a lovely way to experience history in a relaxed setting. The volunteer stewards are very knowledgeable and able to give more information if required and are very friendly and approachable. The tearoom attached to the Tower is a little gem, lots of home made cakes, lovely cappucino and teas, and best of all their afternoon tea is delicious and not too pricey. The Tower is set in lovely woodland so if you get a nice day take a walk around the surrounding area, you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely lady called Margot showed us round today, as it was morning, and quiet. The house is well worth a trip round. It's amazing - hidden away there! Lovely grounds too, and I noticed a nice play area if you have younger children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank manchestermum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First visit and well worth the trip.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I love visiting historical houses and Turton Tower was a gem of a find. My friend and I travelled from near Warrington and it was well worth the trip. I loved this house due to its uniqueness of 'added on part's over the centuries. The guides were extremely well informed and very interesting, especially Faye and one of the male guides. The external environment is beautiful, especially at the back of the car park where there is a castellated railway bridge. There is a Victorian tea room next to the house which serves wonderful sandwiches and cakes, well worth a visit. There are some lovely walks around as well.

Definitely recommend visiting Turton Tower, we had a really great day out there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireMabel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Super tearoom, walking area and historic house”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As I live in the area, I was pleased to see that the place was very busy on Easter Sunday. The tea room has been brightened up, has a new menu and is lovely for home made soup, cake or snacks. I can see that I'll go here a few times over summer. We went around the House this time and it was good that you can walk around 'at leisure'. There are volunteer guides to assist you, but I think they only need to be there if required. There are some hand-held information guides, so maybe a few more of these would be helpful for people who haven't been before (with details of the artefacts as well as the rooms). There are lots of nice walks around the grounds and in the area too. I would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sjk129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turton Tower also viewed

 

Been to Turton Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing