We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a break”
Review of Derby Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Derby Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Urswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Derby Arms is the perfect spot for a break. The rooms are clean and functional while detatched from the main building so noise is not and issue. The pub itself is the perfect village pub, the open fire is as warm as the welcome you will recieve from your hosts and the locals are friendly which creates a wonderfull atmosphere, (all helped along by a few pints of real ale).

The management are very helpfull and the Breakfast (served in the pub) is excellent with a selection of cereals, yoghurts and juices being complemented by a freshly cooked full English. The Derby Arms is situated in Urswick Village which is a only 5 minute drive into Ulverston.

Room Tip: 2 or the rooms are up steep stone steps, if your mobility is not great please specify you require a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Quaint rooms detached from the pub house were clean, comfortable and warm. While the furnishings were simple and basic, our room had a TV with cable, electric kettle with coffee and tea, bottled and cookies/biscuits set out every day. The owner, Steven, our cooked breakfasts to order every morning in addition to the available cereal, milk, yogurt, fruit and orange juice.

Steven and Sally were an absolute delight! From the very first moment we met, they were warm, friendly and welcoming, and seemed to go out of their way to make sure everything was absolutely perfect and that all our needs were met. Whether it was the occasional ride into town or even offering to do some laundry, Steven and Sally made us feel not like guests but like part of their family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I first stayed at the Derby Arms in June 2012 and followed this with a very positive review.

Having spent a further couple of nights there last week I have to say the facilities remain every bit as good and the hospitality provided by the new hosts, Sally and Steve, is first rate. They are very friendly and approachable (as are the locals) and nothing is too much trouble.

To conclude, I would mention that the Derby was inspected by the Food Standards Agency only around three months ago and awarded a food hygiene rating of 5, basically as good as it gets (Ref: http://ratings.food.gov.uk/business/en-GB/328641).

I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Over the past 20 years or so I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts / hotels across the Lake District. The Derby Arms is without doubt one of the best that I have stayed at to date. This is largely down to the hosts, Steve and Sally. They couldnt have made my family and I feel more welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. How many places have you stayed at were you can decide your own breakfast time !
The rooms are spotless, comfortable and well appointed. As others have mentioned they are in an old stable block just across from the pub, which means that you can come and go as you please. There is also the added benefit of the fact that once the children are in bed, you can sit outside your room if you are on the ground floor and have a beer, safe in the knowledge that the kids are tucked up inside. Great Urswick is beautiful and everyone we met was genuinely friendly. The Derby Arms is proper village pub, full of character and the real ale is wonderfully kept. You are 10 mins from the South Lakes Zoo and maybe 20 mins from Bowness etc. We wont be staying anywhere else from now on when staying on this side of the Lakes. Ten out ten for everything.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a ground floor room you can hear people in the room above as they walk around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COYBL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed as a family of 3 and paid £75 for a night.

The accommodation was clean and tidy. The rooms are detached from the pub itself.

Breakfast was included and the service was very friendly.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirianon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

accomodation is in a separate stable block accross the yard from the pub, very clean and invitingly decorated, with a generously stocked hospitality tray. The hosts Sally and Steve were incredibly helpful and made us feel very welcome, We only stayed for 1 night to attend a wedding do in a neighbouing village, so didn't have chance to sample the evening hospitality, but it looks like a proper traditional local pub.
breakfast was cooked freshly to order, and was very tasty. i would certainly recommend the Derby for quality and value.
The village is prettily arranged around its tarn and is well situated for visiting the South Lakes, the Solway Coast and the town of Ulverston

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A wonderful stay ,helped by the hosts Steve and Sally . Lovely accommodation we stayed in the stable rooms .rooms well kept with good quality tea and coffee (biscuits too) bed very comfortable .would definitely stay again ,the locals made us feel very welcome in the bar ,and the quality and choice of beers was great ,all in all a thoroughly great stay thank you Steve & Sally x

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urswick
2.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in Ulverston
154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Arms Inn

Address: Great Urswick | Ulverston, Urswick, Ulverston LA12 0SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston > Urswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Urswick
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La12 0sp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Derby Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Arms Inn Urswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing