We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Reef

The Reef
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Been to the Reef a few times now, upon visiting the island on holiday. The food never disappoints, the menu is very varied and something for everyone. Pizzas are lovely! The puddings are to die for and not too heavy after your meal. The staff are friendly and attentive. Will visit again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank GJHWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    192
    57
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So good we went twice.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited The reef on our first night in Sandown. The seafood risotto was to die for. Good service and value for money. We even returned for a second visit late in our stay. Unfortunately we sat outside with an on coming storm. No fault of the restaurant but bear in mind if you are going without booking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadnam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Felt like the Med”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good food in a great location! The sun was shining and the fish served was perfect. It made us feel we were back in the Med but it was better than that, it was the Isle of Wight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“usual great quality food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have eaten here many times, mainly for lunch but also for evening meal. The food is always high quality , well presented and plentiful.
The refurbished toilets are great, staff polite and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsvee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself, my wife and our two young sons booked a table at The Reef on the evening of the 24 July. We were served by Oliiva who was very attentive throughout. The food was fantastic - I had the fish cakes and would recommend them. My wife had a stone backed pizza which looked and tasted fantastic. The kids loved their food too (Pizza and Fish and Chips) and were given activity sheets and colouring pencils which kept them entertained throughout our meal.
This was our first visit to The Reef but we will come back.
What a great location. The Reef is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timdpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reef also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing