We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilkinsons yorkshire”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bertram Lodge Hotel
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have been staying with Gary and Lou for the past 8 years. Gary and Lou are very friendly and nothing is too much for them. Rooms are very clean. We stay for both breakfast and evening meal and these have always been of very good standard. For our family it is like going home and we feel very at home once we arrive.

Room Tip: As a family we like to have the balcony room as then we can hang our swimming costumes out to dry
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Bertram Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have stayed at the Bertram Lodge on numerous occasions. Gary and Lou have always been very welcoming and friendly. On my numerous visits, I have stayed in most of the rooms and I have always found them to be clean, tidy and very comfortable. Breakfasts and evening meals have always been superb. The Bertram Lodge is situated within walking distance of Sandown Station and is only a short walk to the town and beach. I'll be back in September!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FileyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have stayed at Bertram Lodge for the past 3 years for a school journey. Lou and Gary are very accomidating and instantly welcome you into their home. Nothing is too much. Meals are great and the rooms are comfortable. The Chidren have really enjoyed staying here for the past 3 years and they all have fond memories of their stay at Bertram Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've stayed at Bertram Lodge with my family and on school journey visits for the last three years. Over this time we have been welcomed and thoroughly looked after by Gary and Lou.The food has always been excellent, the rooms comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.
Our school visits to the Isle of Wight were made so much more enjoyable knowing that we could rely on good food and lodging at the end of the day. The team at Bertram have coped particularly well with the wide range of dietary needs demanded by children from a diverse London school. I would recommend the Bertram Lodge for school visits in a great location on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at Bertramlodge. The hospitality is second to none. Gary bent over backwards to accommodate us and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is tastefully decorated and in a great location for all amenities. We haven't had a full English breakfast as good as Gary's in any other hotel! We would like to thank Lou and Gary personally. We feel we have made great friends and have booked a weeks break for all the family later in the year. can't wait! 5 stars all round!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Fantastic breakfast Gary. A stay at this hotel comes highly recomended. Friendly, welcoming and very clean. Thanks for helping to make our holiday comfortable and relaxing. We will look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

WE have stayed at Bertam lodge many times over the past few years, the last time in september 2011. We like it because it is close to all amenities, in a quiet location, ample off street parking. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and you are assured of a friendly welcome. the food is well cooked and more than sufficient. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Garden room room No 7. large room with access to front garden
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#5 of 31 in Sandown
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertram Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertram Lodge Hotel

Address: 3 Leed Street, Sandown PO36 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sandown
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertram Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bertram Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertram Lodge Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing