We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Pier Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
The Wight(Sandown)
US$133
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$112
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wight Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
105
123
62
33
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
123
62
33
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjubilee barsea viewcoach tripsea fronthotel barshower roomkitchen staffisle of wightindoor pooleaster weekendevening entertainmentshort breakdressing tablegood nights sleepchoice of foodhalf boardwaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

the whole place needs a update . room we had was very small sink was in the bedroom , small shower and toilet ensuite.the staff are very good and friendly .food o.k to good

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just got back from a 3 day mini break stayed at the 'Royal Pier' on a bed breakfast and dinner basis. Hotel staff very friendly esp Manager James and Barman Dale another barmen though Andy appeared grump and non attendative. Food typical but good, bedrooms very clean but bit dated and yes I had a 'avocado' bathroom suite but as I say was ok and clean and for the price we paid very acceptable. Hotel in good position if your younger than 45 though not much to do in the town at night only couple of pubs hotel bar ok with different singers every night. Only small critism would be great to see more photos etc of how the hotel used to look I feel there missing out big time on the fact that the Royal Pier was orriginally the holiday home of Princess Beatric Queen VIctoria's daughter/grandaughter? especially for the American market..OVERALL A GOOD PLACE and will definately go back - thanks guys!

Room Tip: Check out there special offers online
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just got back from a long weekend at the Royal Pier Hotel in Sandown with my partner.

Firstly the hotel in is an excellent position, a 5-10 minute walk to the train station (for connections to Ryde & Shanklin etc) and opposite Sandown Pier on the beach front! We recieved an extremely friendly welcome from the receptionist and hotel manager.

We paid for a "partial sea-view room" but were pleased to discover that our room had a fantastic seaview looking onto the pier. The room was clean with a comfortable bed - the decor was a bit old-fashioned for our taste, but given the majority of the clientele seem to be pensioners or on tour groups I didnt really feel this was an issue. The only issue we had was there was no shower (only a bath, and yes it was an avacado suite)- a bit of a pain when you just want a quick wash and go, and the old fashioned television could do with an upgrade too, but it worked perfectly fine.

We stayed on b&b basis - The staff were run off their feet at breakfast and the dining room runs a very tight slot to get in, eat and leave. Found the service to be a little on the brusque side (not even a good morning greeting), but the staff seem to be on the go for most of the day and night so that possibly explains it. The major gripe at breakfast were the portion sizes - a 1/4 of a bowl of cereal, full english served on a side plate etc - I understand that portions have to be controlled, especially for tour groups who may be paying little, but I feel the portions need to be re-assessed, especially for singles/couples outwith the tour groups - however, we never left breakfast feeling hungry. We never had evening meal, but there seemed to be a good variety of dishes available.

There were 2 bars in the hotel, one opposite reception (which does not accept debit cards or allow drinks to be charged to the room....very unusual!) and one which was for evening entertainment which seemed to be exclusively filled with the tour groups, and they seemed to love the entertainment on offer - again very much geared to older clientele of the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to the isle of wight and at the Royal Pier Hotel - we found the staff (especially manager) to be friendly, helpful and hospitable and hotel offered a good value break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinglis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Thank you for your review. In an ideal world, we would like to be able to modernise the whole Hotel to a similar standard. We accommodate a varied age group of clientel. Some request showers and some prefer a bath, so at the moment we can offer both. We have not updraded the televisions as we have to prioritise our refurbishment plans and we do not class them as a priority.

I have taken on board your comments about the Dining Room and will look for ways to improve on that. Unfortunately a large number of our guests do tend to be in hurry to get out on their coach trips but we must also remember the guests that are here to relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed here with my husband on our first coach trip.fab hotel excellent value for money.Great staff nothing too much trouble.good choice of breakfast and evening meal All served at the table.room comfy bed slept like a log,warm very clean.Good hot shower,clean towels.Singers on in the bar at night drinks prices good.If you were going to be picky the decor is a little dated but i am sure it will be changed as time goes by.The hotel is very well run with friendly staff and management .would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elsieEastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel.

We do have an on-going programme of refurbishing but do like to keep the bar areas decor in accordance with the age of the buiding.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I have just come back from 4day break ,we were rather concerned about our choice after reading some of the reviews. happily all our worries were unfounded. we were met by a very friendly hotel manager on arrival and given our room key.On our way to our room we found it to be very clean and tidy in all areas. Our room was a little on the small side but perfectly clean well stocked with tea and coffee and a lovely view of the sea.the bed was very comfy too, if i had to be really picky it could do with a new shower in the near future but thats all and the bathroom itself was spotless.(And there was no smell of cabbage!!!)
The food we had on our stay was excellent, plenty of choice,good portions,very tasty and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. the waiting on staff were very friendly and efficient and were happy to cater for your needs at all time.
in the evenings the hotel put on top quality entertainment every night,which had other people from other hotels coming in because there's was'nt up to scratch. with a full house the bar staff served you quickly and were friendly.
All in all we had a great time at the royal pier hotel and can't wait to come back, there is so much to do on the island we were spoiled for choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happycamper190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your review. It is very difficult when you read negative reports to know what to expect, but we are pleased you felt they were unfounded.

We are aware that the bathrooms need upgrading, but having just re-carpeted most of the bedrooms, it will be our next project.

I am very proud of the Staff here as they all work very hard to ensure the guests have an enjoyable stay, so I will pass on your comments to them. We also are aware that however hard we try, we cannot please everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews