We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER - DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EVER - DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This hotel is only interesated in OAP coach tours - and they are not interested in any other clients. I believe this was shown in their actions, and also because they told me as much when we booked in! Staying here is like sleeping in an old peoples home!

I had a booking with them for three days, but left after only one. They insisted on taking payment before we could even see the room. They gave us the worst room in the hotel, with a TV from the 1970's over looking the bins. The room was dirty and the bathroom was so old it didn't look like it could function. The bed was hard and smelt musty.

I asked if they had any other rooms (this is when they told me that they didn't really cater for guests other than OAP coach tours!). They gave me a bigger room but I had to pay a surcharge of £60 on top of the £210 we had already paid.

I then asked to purchase a bottle of champagne which was on their wine menu - only to be told it was in the cellar - so would I make do with Asti? It was obviously too much trouble to go to the cellar for me.

I then asked what time dinner was (as they advertise that they have a restaurant) but they informed me this was for the people on coach tours only - so we had to leave the hotel in a downpour to try and find somewhere to eat.

Breakfast was disusting, and I found a hair in my cereal. When I tried to ask for a fresh bowl, the waitress was disinterested and walked off before we had finished talking to her. The manageress is totally clueless and could not care about the standard of service - she made it clear that so long as the money from the coach tours kept pouring in, she couldn't care about customer service.

Sadly my grandmother was taken seriously ill the following day and we had to return home urgently ( the hotel of course wouldn't give us anything back for the two nights we now couldn't stay).

The swimming pool was very small and the jacuzzi water was turning slightly green - not worth risking!

All in all it was a disgusting display of a total lack of customer service - I cannot think of a single thing to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucykerr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Although we have already replied to the review posted by your husband, we will comment on the numerous points raised.

Firstly your husband stated that you checked out for a different reason than this review. At no time would any member of staff have commented that we do not cater for any other guests other than oaps - we regularly have children, single people and families. We also welcome senior citizens.

When you booked via Late Rooms, it quotes you booked and paid for a standard room at £35.00 per person per night for Bed & Breakfast. You had enquired about an upgrade before you arrived. The upgrade you paid for was a large Family Room with Sea view and Balcony.
At no time were you told that dinner was only for people on the coach. We did tell you what time dinner was available and this was too early for you.

You are correct in stating that the Champagne was in the cellar and we offered to chill it, but you seemed perfectly happy to take the Asti as you did not want to wait. This was placed in an ice bucket for you to take to your room.

In connection with your comment regarding the pool, we follow strict health and safety guidelines and the pool is checked daily and chemicals adjusted accordingly. Therefore we are at a loss that you thought it was turning green, our video camera confirms that it did not stop you using the facility.

We were sympathetic to the predicament you informed us about and reiterate that we had agreed - even though this was not in accordance with Hotel Policy - if we re-let the room for the last night, we would reimburse you.

I find your comments offensive that you feel that I am clueless and do not care about customer service. My staff and I included, pride ourselves on walking that extra mile for our guests, whether old or young. It seems quite sad that part of your problem with the Hotel was the number of older guests that were staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    113
    56
    30
    39
See reviews for
58
143
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Firstly we were put into a dirty 'broomcupboard' which apparently was a double room. There was no table for us in the dining room and we were told that they were 'in business to make money'. Well, good for you. I hope everyone thinking of visiting you reads this review and you make no money at all. We left early because it was so awful and were refused a refund.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margot186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
In reply to your comment. You arrived and requested an upgrade to a Sea View room as it was a special occasion. Your original booking made via Late Rooms was for a standard double. On the second day we received a telephone call from you to say there was an emergency, a member of the family was ill and been taken to hospital so you were checking out and could you have a refund for the last night.

In accordance with Hotel policy, we do not give a refund if someone leaves due to their own problems. However we offered to forward 1 nights accommodation if we managed to re-let the room. You were unhappy about this and were quite rude to us. You felt that we would not let the room as we were 'full of pensioners'.

We feel we showed sympathy to your predicament and we stand by what we said, that if we re-let the room, we will refund the money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
tywyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

the whole place needs a update . room we had was very small sink was in the bedroom , small shower and toilet ensuite.the staff are very good and friendly .food o.k to good

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just got back from a 3 day mini break stayed at the 'Royal Pier' on a bed breakfast and dinner basis. Hotel staff very friendly esp Manager James and Barman Dale another barmen though Andy appeared grump and non attendative. Food typical but good, bedrooms very clean but bit dated and yes I had a 'avocado' bathroom suite but as I say was ok and clean and for the price we paid very acceptable. Hotel in good position if your younger than 45 though not much to do in the town at night only couple of pubs hotel bar ok with different singers every night. Only small critism would be great to see more photos etc of how the hotel used to look I feel there missing out big time on the fact that the Royal Pier was orriginally the holiday home of Princess Beatric Queen VIctoria's daughter/grandaughter? especially for the American market..OVERALL A GOOD PLACE and will definately go back - thanks guys!

Room Tip: Check out there special offers online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Just got back from a long weekend at the Royal Pier Hotel in Sandown with my partner.

Firstly the hotel in is an excellent position, a 5-10 minute walk to the train station (for connections to Ryde & Shanklin etc) and opposite Sandown Pier on the beach front! We recieved an extremely friendly welcome from the receptionist and hotel manager.

We paid for a "partial sea-view room" but were pleased to discover that our room had a fantastic seaview looking onto the pier. The room was clean with a comfortable bed - the decor was a bit old-fashioned for our taste, but given the majority of the clientele seem to be pensioners or on tour groups I didnt really feel this was an issue. The only issue we had was there was no shower (only a bath, and yes it was an avacado suite)- a bit of a pain when you just want a quick wash and go, and the old fashioned television could do with an upgrade too, but it worked perfectly fine.

We stayed on b&b basis - The staff were run off their feet at breakfast and the dining room runs a very tight slot to get in, eat and leave. Found the service to be a little on the brusque side (not even a good morning greeting), but the staff seem to be on the go for most of the day and night so that possibly explains it. The major gripe at breakfast were the portion sizes - a 1/4 of a bowl of cereal, full english served on a side plate etc - I understand that portions have to be controlled, especially for tour groups who may be paying little, but I feel the portions need to be re-assessed, especially for singles/couples outwith the tour groups - however, we never left breakfast feeling hungry. We never had evening meal, but there seemed to be a good variety of dishes available.

There were 2 bars in the hotel, one opposite reception (which does not accept debit cards or allow drinks to be charged to the room....very unusual!) and one which was for evening entertainment which seemed to be exclusively filled with the tour groups, and they seemed to love the entertainment on offer - again very much geared to older clientele of the hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to the isle of wight and at the Royal Pier Hotel - we found the staff (especially manager) to be friendly, helpful and hospitable and hotel offered a good value break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinglis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for your review. In an ideal world, we would like to be able to modernise the whole Hotel to a similar standard. We accommodate a varied age group of clientel. Some request showers and some prefer a bath, so at the moment we can offer both. We have not updraded the televisions as we have to prioritise our refurbishment plans and we do not class them as a priority.

I have taken on board your comments about the Dining Room and will look for ways to improve on that. Unfortunately a large number of our guests do tend to be in hurry to get out on their coach trips but we must also remember the guests that are here to relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastmidlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed here with my husband on our first coach trip.fab hotel excellent value for money.Great staff nothing too much trouble.good choice of breakfast and evening meal All served at the table.room comfy bed slept like a log,warm very clean.Good hot shower,clean towels.Singers on in the bar at night drinks prices good.If you were going to be picky the decor is a little dated but i am sure it will be changed as time goes by.The hotel is very well run with friendly staff and management .would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elsieEastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel.

We do have an on-going programme of refurbishing but do like to keep the bar areas decor in accordance with the age of the buiding.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I have just come back from 4day break ,we were rather concerned about our choice after reading some of the reviews. happily all our worries were unfounded. we were met by a very friendly hotel manager on arrival and given our room key.On our way to our room we found it to be very clean and tidy in all areas. Our room was a little on the small side but perfectly clean well stocked with tea and coffee and a lovely view of the sea.the bed was very comfy too, if i had to be really picky it could do with a new shower in the near future but thats all and the bathroom itself was spotless.(And there was no smell of cabbage!!!)
The food we had on our stay was excellent, plenty of choice,good portions,very tasty and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. the waiting on staff were very friendly and efficient and were happy to cater for your needs at all time.
in the evenings the hotel put on top quality entertainment every night,which had other people from other hotels coming in because there's was'nt up to scratch. with a full house the bar staff served you quickly and were friendly.
All in all we had a great time at the royal pier hotel and can't wait to come back, there is so much to do on the island we were spoiled for choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happycamper190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your review. It is very difficult when you read negative reports to know what to expect, but we are pleased you felt they were unfounded.

We are aware that the bathrooms need upgrading, but having just re-carpeted most of the bedrooms, it will be our next project.

I am very proud of the Staff here as they all work very hard to ensure the guests have an enjoyable stay, so I will pass on your comments to them. We also are aware that however hard we try, we cannot please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Property: Royal Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing