We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 11 November 2011

just came back from weekend away at the pier it was lovely had a good time room was lovely had a sea veiw room it was masive food was good entertainment was good it was a tinsel aand turkey break the guests were mad had a good laugh the staff couldnt do enough for us wish i was there now cant wait to go back

Room Tip: go for a sea veiw room very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelyn221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for your recent review after your Turkey and Tinsel break with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves and T&T breaks are still popular with most people - including the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

First off I have to say I last stayed much earlier this year, so refurbs or the like may have taken place since.

And I also have to say that though I've given this 4 stars, it's one of my favourite places to stay.

If you're expecting 5 star, you won't get it. It's a little run down, past its best, and yes - it takes coach parties of rather elderly people.

The rooms are a touch on the shabby side - the sheets, curtains and carpets aren't too new. I think because of this, it doesn't have that clinically clean feel and look many people seem to expect now - but if you're reasonable you'll realise it is in fact clean. I far prefer the charm of 'datedness' than the souless minimalist decor that's become so common.

Some people take exception to the plastic bed protectors - well, what do you expect if a large percentage of the clientele are on the older side? I'd rather that than... well!

I have to say I'd love more comfy mattresses, but otherwise it's all more than acceptable.

So the less poitive points done with, why do I love this place so much?

Well, it's charming! Though the sheen may have faded a bit, it's retained that wonderful charm that tells you it was a wonderful place in its day and time. One of those ever rarer places that hasn't had its original features ripped out and replaced with bland Ikea-like decor. The entrance hall, lounge and dining room are stunning - faded, but stunning.

The service has always been impeccable - real people, happy to have a natter and always polite, warm and helpful. A world away from the stilted, couldn't care less attitude you often find in other establishments.

Breakfasts are always perfect - a real treat, again with excellent service.

As for the coach parties, well it might not be everyone's cup of tea. But for any other 'young uns', if you just remember that older people are simply people too you'll realise they're actually an advantage to what this hotel has going for it. We've had some fabulous times talking to the other guests, playing cards and just having a giggle. Definitely more sociable than the usual hotel where guests don't mingle.

The pub it's attached to is cheap and offers good, solid old style entertainment - which is more fun than you might think!

Besides all that, a decent pool, bar, and let's not forget the stunning location right by the sea! Sea view rooms are definitely worth it - it's whipped up a storm a couple of times we were there and it's wonderful.

I have to give it 4 stars to acknowledge that it would benefit from better quality mattresses, new bathrooms and a little 'freshening up' - but please, please don't lose that wonderful 'British Seaside' thing you do so well. This establishment caters for a certain market and does it very well indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank three3cliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is good for morale to read it.

As you say, it is not everyones 'cup of tea' but large Hotels like ours would not survive without coach bookings. Although I agree a lot of them are the older clientele, we also have lots of families stay as well. Most of the bedrooms had the carpets replaced last year and the bedrooms decorated. The bathrooms should be tackled soon. I completely agree, I would prefer a dated but clean room rather than the other way round. I suffer with a bad back and hardly ever stay anywhere where I do not wish it was a softer bed.

The staff here are hard working, friendly, loyal and offer a good service and I am proud to work alongside them.

Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is located on the sea front and if you pay a bit extra you get a sea view room which is definately worth it.d.

The hotel has a pool and hot tub but these services are only available up until around 6.30pm, however the pool is really nice, big enough to swim around but not huge. When we went there it was quiet and just ideal.

Be careful of the lift, whilst it worked all the time its one of the old school lifts with the manual door which can be a bit heavy. Overall v.good.

Room Tip: go for the seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfratelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your recent review.

The pool is only open till 6.30pm due to Health and Safety issues. We realise the lift can be a little difficult but rather than considering upgrading it, we prefer to spend the money on refurbishing the bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just returned tonight from a short break at The Royal Pier. i will give the good and the not so good in our opinion.
we arrived later than expected on our coach trip, but were warmly welcomed, shown straight to dining room and were served a hot meal very quickly by staff who were obviously rushed and busy but still courteous and willing. our luggage was taken to our rooms whilst we dined and was waiting when we got to the room. our room (30) was 2nd floor, with a lovely sea view. the room itself was dated in decor and bathroom very small and very dated. however the room was clean and we had lovely clean towels, the net curtains could have done with a wash, and we were very surprised to discover the wash basin was not in the bathroom but in the corner of the room with a very dated oversink unit.
The dining room was lovely and light and bright and each day we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and adequate evening meal which was always hot and a varied menu. the public rooms were clean and spacious, the bar area spacious. we spent every night in the Jubilee bar and enjoyed the evening entertainment on every night, in fact we were very pleasantly surprised at being entertained every night with live music. thank you, but please get the wed night act to drop the groupies that came with them, they were very irritating and detracted from the enjoyment.. we were with two friends and enjoyed the opportunity to dance, albeit not always good dancing! on what these days was a good sized dance floor. the bar staff lovely. in fact all of the staff we found to be really nice and friendly.
we did look at the swimming pool but didnt use but the pool room was hot so presume pool was good temp too.
we have stayed in 5 star hotels and paid 5 star prices, this hotel was very good for what it cost us. it could do with some updating, as already mentioned but we have had a good break, laughed each night, and got waved off as we left at 7.30am. there were some issues we do have with the coach journey but this we will take up with travelstlye, not the hotel. would i stay there again, yes I would. lovely location. but the journey of 12 hours far too long for me!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1nathanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are constantly upgrading and refurbishing the Hotel but with 65 bedbrooms it is like the 7th bridge - finish one job and time to start another!

We appreciate your constructive comments and will pass these on to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and were looking forward to our balcony room with seaview, having paid top dollar for bed and breakfast - what a dissapointment! , we would have had a much better deal had we turned up in a coach as the people either side of our balcony did getting bed and breakfast and dinner far cheaper.
The first room we were given had a bathroom which had an antiquated avocado colour suite with an old shower and smelt of dead fish.We complained at the desk and were told that as the coach party hadn't arrived were able to change to room no. six - this didn't smell, had the same old avocado sink and bath but no shower at all but we couldn't face the smell in the other room to have a shower. There was no heating the first night.
As other reviewers have said the decor is very dated, but I have to say the bedding and room itself was clean even if the beds could do with updating.
Our main complaint and concern is the swimming pool it is a disgrace. It is not as it appears in the broucher - it is old, dingy with dirty tiles and a changing room like a cupboard, and the water has loads of floating things in it which makes us wonder if the filter is working and if the correct chemicals have been added. If you are staying at this hotel do not bring your swimming costume!
It is such a shame because the location is great - and most of the staff are very friendly, far better to close the pool, remove it from the broucher, and spend the money on updating the bathrooms and new televisions, (these items keep the husbands happy!)
We joined the coach party for dinner and it was adequate for the extra money we were charged.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86Sandy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

I am replying to your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our Hotel.

Firstly, I will point out that most large Hotels have to take in Coach Parties to survive. They would normally be sending numbers of between 25-50 people, so of course they get a discounted price. That would be no difference if you were buying in bulk from a shop - bulk buying or booking groups always get a reduced price.

We agree the décor in the bathrooms is dated, but it is clean. The pool is checked daily and on a weekly basis by a Swimming Pool Inspector and regularly by EHO. We are aware of the correct chemicals to use otherwise the EHO would have closed us down by now. The changing room is small as the only people able to use the pool are Hotel guests, and they usually change in their room first. The changing room is fully tiled, so I am not sure what part you think is dingy. The Pool is a popular part of the Hotel so we would not consider closing it and we very rarely receive any complaints about it.

Our refurbishment plans are on-going and we do not find many people are worried about the TV’s not being ‘modern flat screen’ as they have come on holiday to enjoy themselves and not to sit and watch television all the time. The pictures on the website are current photos.

I do appreciate your comments about the Staff being friendly and I am sure most people would agree that paying £7.50 for a 3 course meals is good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel was ideally situated for the attractions.I found this hotel to be very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly.The waiting service in the dining room at meal times were excellent. Most of the time we had Tania serving us. She was very good at her job. The food was very good. Entertainment was reasonable. I asked for a seaview room and a walk-in shower in which I got both. The bed linen was clean and tidy which shows the chambermaids did a good job.Now we come to the bad points: the lift was very outdated, and only accommodated 2 people at a time; The bathroom was very small.Smallest wash basin I have ever seen.Tea, sugar and milk was provided in the room but only enough for 2 cups per person per day.If we wanted extra we had to pay for it. If required the charge was 3p for sugar,3p for tea and 5p for milk. I found this unbelievable as I have never known this to be the case in any other hotel. It was a good stay on the whole and i would book again.

Room Tip: try for first floor. We was in room 66 which was 2 floors up but still a long way to walk after usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrychambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for writing a reviiew following your recent stay at our Hotel. We have passed your comments on to Tanya.

We take on board your comments and some of the points raised, it would be difficult to change. We like most businesses work within a budget.

We have this week checked with other Hotels to see if they charge from extra tea etc and some do and some dont. We have found in the past some of the guests would be drinking 8/10 cups of beverage per day which we feel is extravagent. However, we have now changed our Policy to be more flexible on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I arrived early, reception staff were very helpfull, made my room ready for 11.30am. Room was excellent overlooking Sandown Pier. Nice clean, comfortable bed, plenty of tea & coffee.Room was "old fashioned" but it was in keeping with the age of the Hotel. Overall excellent value for money, I will definately book again on my next visit to I.O.W.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at our Hotel.

We always try to accommodate guests requiring an early check-in, but sometimes this is not possible. We were pleased to be able to do so on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £29 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing