We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shazza”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and I would say that the fact the hotel is on the pier is the only thing going for it!. The accomodation was poor, with dusty bedding. The accomodation stated that hotel has indoor heated pool, the pool is in fact only big enough for two/three small children. There is no way adult could have a swim in it. The service provided by staff was again poor. I have a severe gluten intolerance, and despite the fact that this was specified when I booked, it was clear that management of the hotel had not picked this up from the booking. At one point when i ordered gluten bread toast I was told that the kitchen had run out of the speciality bread!. General opinion, hotel needs bring up to date radically.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shazia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed with your break. I am surprised you never brought it to our attention that you thought the bedding was "dusty" as it is changed on every change over. I found your comment about the pool quite amusing as the pool is 22ft by 11ft across and is used by adults as well as children all the time. We have never professed to have an olympic sized pool. I can only apologise about running out of the special bread we had purchased for you, but we did go out and buy some more as quickly as we could. I have spoken to the Chef and he said that he was not aware of any other problems with your dietary requirements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Royal Pier as part of a coach party from Just Go! Holidays. Despite pretty horrendous weather, we had a most enjoyable time. The hotel location, just opposite the pier, is wonderful and once on the promenade it is possible to walk traffic free the two miles to Sandwich seafront. The hotel is gradually being updated but is still comfortable even if some of the rooms are a little tired. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, always piping hot and served by friendly and obliging staff. There was always a reasonable choice of dishes on offer. The hotel has a small heated swimming pool and a spacious bar providing good evening entertainment and selling alcohol at similar prices to local pubs. Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather but maybe it is worth coming back again as we normally have very good weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a great weekend 20th/23rd April, with excellent service from warm and friendly staff.The hotel generally was very clean and tidy with good services and entertainment.The food was of a high standard and the staff helpful.
Our only gripe was our bedroom (19) which did not seem to be a double in size (we are not very large people) and it looked as though it needed some TLC to bring it back up to a reasonable standard.The white chipboard sink unit was water damaged and some wall paper had come unstuck away from the walls.One chair only and the shower curtain allowed the floor to be soaked.The toilet/shower cubicle was not big enough to dress/undress.With the sink being in the bedroom one had to touch door handles etc in order to wash hands..
Had we been staying longer we would have required a change to a better/larger room.

Room Tip: * Check your room out early and change if it does not suit. * As part of a package,we do not know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

We are sorry you felt the bedroom and en-suite were not up to standard. We agree the bathrooms need upgrading and these are on our refurbishment plans.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the food was good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

just came back from monday to friday here in royal pier hotel,sandown. had a lovely time. hotel is an old victorian building, thickly carpeted with large reception rooms and foyer downstairs. we had a family room with a seaview. spotlessly clean and very big. beds very very comfy - only place i've slept from 12 to 7.30 am without waking up! fab view from the big bay window. hop,skip and a jump from the beach, which my 12 year old grandaughter loved. food was very good (although i must say it took a long time to come at every meal:( ). the roast pork dinner on the wednesday was delicious. no complaints at all. all of the hotel was very clean, lovely white sheets and towels. yes, we had an avodado green bathroom suite which was very fashionable in the seventies. i didn't go away to look at the bathroom suite so i can't see what people complain about. the shower was a nightmare, no water pressure so it just trickled. make sure you allow plenty of time for showering. staff were all very helpful, especially on reception and hotel bar and the cleaning ladies were very nice and obliging too. only problem for me was the lift. it's an old one with a heavy door to pull across and hold back while you enter. unfortunately, the two old ladies with me would never have been able to manage it alone and would have been a big problem for them as they can't use the stairs. no ground floor rooms. we managed by me escorting them up and down in the lift. that said, i think this is the best choice hotel in sandown. warm, clean, good food and a view to die for. hope i can return there soon.

Room Tip: lovely sea views at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsbrynmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our Hotel. I am sorry you felt the service was slow in the Dining Room. It is difficult to get it right for all of our Guests. We endeavour to ensure that everyone is happy with the service and if we are asked to provide a quicker service we will strive to do this. We do appreciate that everyone is on holiday and does not always want to be rushed.

We accept that the bathrooms need upgrading but we are pleased to hear that everything was very clean.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were part of a coach party from Chesterfield with Nova Tours. Almost ev erything about our short trip was good including the weather. The hotel was on the sea front and just five minutes away from the shopping street.
Our room was adequate, rather small but fine for a few days' stay.
Reception was efficient and helpful. The service in the dining room was excellent and the food was both plentiful and of high quality. The chef should be congratulated for providing such good food on what must have been a tight budget.
The Nova coach driver was also excellent and looked after his mainly elderly passengers very well.
The only minus point was that in our room, no. 9, there was no shower attachment over the bath and the bathroom suite could do with refurbishing when funds allow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel. We realise some rooms are larger than others but it is an old Victorian Building so would be very costly to change. I appreciate all of your comments and we do work to a budget like all businessess. I am proud of the chef and all the other staff at the hotel. We have an ongoing refurbishment plan and bathrooms are next on our plan. We are aware of difficult times and like to feel we still can offer good service and good value for money. Once again, many thanks and it would be nice to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Once again we have enjoyed a wonderful weekend break at the Royal Pier Hotel in Sandown. Our stay didn't include turkey and tinsel but we really appreciated the fact that the management included it in our weekend break at no extra cost to the customers, including presents from 'Santa'. This hotel is by far the best in Sandown for quality, entertainment, friendly staff and good customer relations. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are always on hand to help you in any way possible. Our room (4) was the best we have stayed in at any hotel anywhere on the island. The food was exceptional and plenty of it. Service was speedy and all waitresses and waiters efficient, professional and friendly, served you with a smile. Have already booked another holiday break for February in this hotel, and are certain this will not be the only one for 2012.

Room Tip: We had a family seaview room (4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciscokid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and we do our best to make sure you all have a good time.
Look forward to seeing you again in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

spent last w/e at the Royal Pier Hotel and had a really enjoyable time. Smashing, friendly staff who were happy to go the extra mile to help people. Real value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for writing a review after your recent break. We try hard to ensure people enjoy their stay and it is good to read we actually got it all right! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing