We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 25 August 2012

was our 1st time to the isle of wight really enjoyed our stay we r going back y.g.berry.we liked the hotel the only thing we would of liked was a room with a view room was clean and tidy the cleaner came into room every day friendly lady hotel a little tired with its decor but nice enough lovely beach across the road all ammenities on the door step i didnt want to come home staff very helpful thank u all c u again soon x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonneB495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. Hopefully if you return again it would be worth telephoning us to request a sea view room as we always try to accommodate where possible. We agree that the Hotel is tired but we do try and keep the ambience of the decor within the age of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

I needed a hotel for one night so booked this hotel not really doing much research. I thought as it is by the pier and it called Royal Pier Hotel this would be a safe bet, unfortunately i was wrong. The hotel room we had had absolutely no view (it looked out into other rooms) and had a very loud kitchen extractor fan which woke us up when we were having an afternoon nap and woke us up again in the morning. I would not have minded any of this if we were told when paying that this is what we were getting for our money. The breakfast (as a vegetarian) was also awful and measly - tinned tomatoes, 1 egg and some beans. The toast for the breakfast was also horrible as it did not taste freshly toasted. I think this hotel works well for the mass market - coach tours etc, but it has taught me a lesson to do more research, I booked three places to stay during my holiday, two of them were B&Bs and one hotel - the B&Bs were cheaper than this hotel and were better value for money and a better standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view and are not near the kitchen extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. The extractor fan is only in operation when the kitchen is in use which is 7.30am to 10.30am and is an essential Health and Safety requirement. Perhaps if you have a regular nap you should have enquired about the location as we are in the town centre and opposite the pier so its bound to be a little noisy. We were aware that you were a vegetarian and we always have vegetarian sausages and that is following the first course so I am pleased to say that not many people it is a measley breakfast. I would certainly expect a B&B to be cheaper as we have an indoor pool and entertainment each nght and this reflects in the cost,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our family party of four (three generations) have just returned from a four night stay at the Royal Pier Hotel and we are very happy to recommend it to others.

On arrival (after a 12 hour journey) we were personally welcomed and very promptly fed a hot and tasty meal which was much appreciated. Throughout our stay the staff continued to provide excellent service throughout the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile.

Both of our rooms were light and airy and although the en-suite shower rooms were small more importantly they were spotlessly clean. Likewise sheets and towels were immaculate. We were very lucky to have one sea-view room and as the beach is literally across the road from the window it really was a genuine sea view and not just a dot in the distance! The highlight of the stay was sleeping with the window open and hearing the waves gently moving. Truly magical.

We didn’t see the pool (we were too busy!) so cannot comment on that.

Others have mentioned the small lift, however this was not a problem to us as we were happy to take the stairs in order to burn a few calories off after eating too much of the lovely food! Our cases were efficiently taken to and from the room by the hotel porter.

I would agree that some of the wallpaper in the communal hallways was a little dated but as we didn’t go on holiday to look at walls this was not a problem.

The hotel location is excellent. As already mentioned the beach (which is lovely) is on the doorstep and if you want to travel around the island the bus-stop is only a couple of minutes away. We bought a group day rover ticket for £20 for the one day that we had no organised excursions. This ticket is valid for 24 hours from purchase and covers up to five people for unlimited travel on all routes. Amazing value! Some of the more senior holidaymakers also pointed out that their free travel passes from home were also valid on the island. Bus routes are easy to follow and cover all the main tourist attractions.

Overall the Royal Pier is a great and affordable hotel with a fantastic location, good food and excellent customer service.
.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfm-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay at our Hotel. It is always nice to see a family especially 3 generations on holiday together. I remembered that you all enjoyed yourselves which is always good to hear. We are aware of some of the things mentioned, but I always feel that it is usually acceptable if you have clean rooms, good food and friendly staff. Hopefully you may make it again and make use of the pool and hot tub as they are very good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from a coach trip with Nova,we have done this on a yearly basis for the last 8 years it's like a home from home,the staff are like a family to us and always there's a warm welcome,the meals are very good,the rooms are fine,en suites are ready for an upgrade though and so is the seating in the jubilee bar,entertainment is very good though,the mix with the locals making it very entertaining,all in all a very nice hotel to stay,just a few upgrades to decor needed.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for the review following your recent stay,

It was really good to see you all again and you all made it such a good week for the Staff as well.

Glad we have managed to re-book you for 2013 and hopefully more refurbishment will have been completed by then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife , three of my Grandchildren and myself have just returned from a 5 day 4 night break at the Royal Pier [our 2nd visit]. It was great to go back again. We all enjoyed ourselves so much that we will definitely return in the future. Every one on the staff made us feel welcome from Mrs O'Reilly to the cleaners. Mick ,the Bar manager deserves a special mention . He does a sterling job dispensing drinks ,calling bingo ,manning the reception and keeping people entertained with his jokes and stories [i could think of other places who could do with someone like him. We stayed in room 6 again . It's been very nicely redecorated and Mrs O'Reilly told me that other refurbishments are on the agenda. We all loved the swimming pool and hot tub. The Beatrice Lounge and the Royal Jubilee Lounge are both spacious and tastefully decorated and there is live entertainment every night in the Jubilee bar.The breakfasts are tasty and filling . We didn't have dinner at the hotel because we were out every day , but i was assured by other guests that they are very good. Bar prices are very reasonable, £2-90 for a house double of Vodka , whisky , Gin and White Rum is excellent value for money.All the other drinks are reasonable as well. All in all a wonderful Hotel with excellent hard working staff. Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family ask for room 6 it's really spacious and looks out over the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay.

I will pass your comments on to all the Staff and I feel I must say what lovely well behaved grandchildren you have, they are a credit to your family.

Look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a 6 day and 7 night stay we were upgraded on the second night due to the shower not working we found the hotel spotless the food excellent the spa pool although small and you have to pay a pound for 20minuets the swimming pool holds about 6people very warm the double room was lovely clean towels every morning the bed very clean and comfortable no shower only a bath when asked for a room with a shower we were told all the sea veiw rooms have no shower this was fine but one of our party had a sea veiw room that had a shower the staff were fantastic only a couple could do with a lesson on how to smile but we had a fantastic time and recomend this hotel there was a lift holding 2people but you have to be care full not to trap your fingers and on arrival had to lug our own cases from the coach very hard if you are very elderly was told the porters day off

Room Tip: Request a room with a veiw when booking check all reveiws make sure if you have difficulty walking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Although we do not have a porter on duty all the time we are able to ask a member of staff if you cannot manage your cases. We are not allowed to move the cases from the coach. That is an issue to take up with the coach company as usually the driver takes them from the hold and would put them on the path.

Hopefully it did not spoil your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is dated and could do with a spruce up, otherwise an average hotel. Breakfast was fair.
The room was ok, but plastic covers on the matress was annoying when you moved in bed??

Room Tip: Our room (20) window was facing the dustbins at the rear of the hotel! A little noisy due to the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We fit the mattress covers for obvious reasons but are always able to remove them if required. We feel the food offered is good value for money. I would also like to point out that the bins you mention are actually from the hotel next door and sadly there is nothing we can do about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £38 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing