We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice break away”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice break away”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and would stay again. We had the special web offer of half board, 4 nights and ferry included. We upgraded to a sea view room. The rooms were very clean and spotless. The housekeeping staff deserve a medal. The menu had loads of choices, despite me being a vegetarian. The first time I come across a hotel that had a wide variety. The swimming pool is very cold so coulddo with heating up a little. The only downside was being woken up by the vibrating flag pole but the wind was extremely high so not the hotels fault. Also I would of liked a game of bingo as its a holiday thing. But I ended up leaving as people were getting very territorial over seating which left my husband standing and me sat at the other end of the room. Its only a game. People were practically running to grab seats. It shouldn't be like that. However I would reccomend the Scruffy Jacks across the road very quiet and can have a gMe of pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room only £10 extra a night but well worth it as rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your break. I am sorry to hear about the Bingo but, I think you managed to play a couple of games. I do remember the Flagpole incident and as you say, the wind was awful. We did offer you another room, but unfortunately it did not have a sea view, so you decided to stay where you were. Luckily the weather was better the next day.

Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    107
    49
    26
    36
See reviews for
53
133
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

just got back from a weekend was an absolute shambles, rather than the replacement of the televisions as mentioned in last review maybe looking at the showers first would be a better thing, water in shower went from hot to cold when it felt like it,
Dinner was 3 courses in the fastest time possible record was 25 minutes (one thing and one thing only food quality was good, one member of staff short blond woman in restaurant didnt get her name, was probebly the rudest person it has ever experienced in a customer facing role think she needs some training actually instead of tvs train her to answer in a polite professional manner instead that would be a start., then theres the beds if you like your beds to creak and squeak every time you move your in luck from all accounts all of the rooms have these beds in them, nothing on earth would get me to stay here again.
You have been warned

Room Tip: book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for the review following your recent stay.

Firstly some of the TVs have been replaced with flat screen ones and we will continue to do so. Quite a lot of the beds have been replaced and while you were checking in we had a delivery of more new beds.

Your Group had booked into a 2 star coaching style hotel, but were quite clearly expecting a 4 Star hotel. As it was a group booking, you had all received a reduction of £10.00 per person per night. On Saturday night, you all decided to bring your own wine into the Dining Room and when approached by the Duty Manager, one of the Group shrugged their shoulders as if the say 'so what'.

I am pleased to hear 'nothing on earth would get me to stay here again' as all the Staff that dealt with your Group were relieved when you left. I will make no further comment as I am the 'rude blonde lady' that feels we run a good hotel offerering value for money. We feel we treat our guests in a respectful and professional manner but sometimes that can be very difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Tjis hotel was very good, Food great and fresh with a good choice on the menu. The rooms were clean (well done the ladies who clean them). The whole hotel looked clean, altough not a complaint the tv's could benefit from having freeview. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: This is a good place to stay, the food excellent with fresh ingredients, would recommend this for gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZZA57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The TV's are next on our refurbishment plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Our bowling club had a smashing time at the royal pier hotel. Staff were nice , rooms ok, food was really very good, service was excellent, nothing was a trouble to them.
Having entertainment on every night was a great bonus.
Not one of our party (45 of us) had a bad word to say about the place.
Thank you very much June & your staff for making our stay so nice.
Phil Knowles
(Capt) Oldington Bowling Club.

Room Tip: My room on the first floor with view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogger58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay. You were all such a lovely crowd and we all enjoyed your company. I will pass on your comments to the staff as I am sure they will remember you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Booked this hotel via a booking site that guarantees lowest rates but it appears that I paid nearly twice as much as the normal rate. The room was shabby, the ensuite cramped with a dangerously sloppy floor covering, no curtain on the bathroom window, a broken bed that sloped down at one end and a broken remote for the tv. In the morning the receipt I requested to claim back the cost from my employer was not there as promised, the hapless and incompetent receptionist could not raise a receipt?? Awful please don't stay here, you would be more comfortable sleeping on the beach.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snakehips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Further to your review following your recent stay, we are sorry that you were not happy with your visit. As you are aware, the price you paid via an agent is for 2 people which would not have made it expensive. I am surprised as a well travelled guest you did not contact us direct and request a single room as it clearly stated that you had booked a double room for 2 people. We apologise about the receipt but this was emailed to you before you had even left the Island. The Bar by the Reception was very busy that particular evening. Any complaints that we receive we try and deal with immediately and once you had reported the problems we then investigated them but I feel it is not appropriate to make any further comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

the only good thing about this hotel is the swimming pool , and the maid service , the rooms were small and hot with no views , very dissapointed for 82pound a room a night for bed and breakfast and the breakfast was cold and not much 2 it so didn,t bother havin breakfast at the hotel again , it needs a good modernisation throughout the hotel , ive stayed in better hotels at half the price , wouldn,t recomend at all ..was not happy at all ...

Room Tip: ask for a sea view rooms might be bigger , there was a few of us and all our rooms were very small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blaze910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and that you felt £41 per person was expensive. In addition to your Bed and Breakfast there is nightly entertainment and a swimming pool so we feel it is good value for money and we are pleased that we have more positive reviews rather than we do negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

On the plus side Great Holiday - Good Food + Menu choices - Friendly Staff - Great Location - Indoor Pool -On the negative side-Lift only holds two people - and the hotel (not the staff) isn't very friendly towards people with walking difficulties - I took my elderly Mother and she found access to room difficult - lift to two floors and then you need to walk down or up about 7 steps to most of the rooms + Our room only had a bath which my Mother found impossible to access- also rooms need updating -Overall enjoyed the stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missfit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. The Hotel is a very old Victorian building and we do our best to cope with elderly guests. We have a continuous reburbishment plan on place and hope to have refurbished the bathrooms next year with walk in showers, although some older people still prefer baths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Property: Royal Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing