We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROYAL PIER HOTEL SANDOWN”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 14 March 2013

MY Husband And i went to THIS Hotel ON A FRI TO MON THE PRICE WAS QUITE GOOD ACTUALLY,WE WENT MARCH 2013.I CAN Honestly say for the Price OF £99 EACH FOR BB&EM 3 COARSES FOR BREAKFAST & EVENING DINNER IT WAS well Worth it.. THE HOTEL Itself could do with DECORATING All over As there Were scuff Marks In Our room plus AN AWFUL SMELL IN OUR BATHROOM Coming from the shower Plug awful. Plus our radiator never worked all the time we were there, I did report it to the Cleaner In our room But nothing Was done while we were there and it was Freezing all weekend. I Think if the hotel had A Makeover it Would be a lot better, As the food was Good and at least They have ENTERTAINMENT If you choose to stop in. I would go back another Time but hopefully the heating would be in working order.

Room Tip: Don;t have room 47 choose a sea view room if possible we were told they were nicer rooms a lot bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry there were some parts of your stay you were unhappy with. We have since checked Room 47 and can assure you that we have had the plumber look into this and have been assured the room is ok.

We do have an on going programme of refurbishment and decorating and again have put in place plans to rectify the points raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

Room was great, staff friendly, food well cooked with different options each day.
Brilliant value for money
We spent a 5 day break on Honeymoon.
Evening entertainment was good too.
We will definately be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were pleased to have been able to make your honeymoon special and all the positive comments you mentioned are much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I am very suprised about the negative reviews this hotel is getting.last week we returned from a lovely three day break at the Royal. we had three rooms between us and the big rooms are very spaceous,we had a big balcony with sea view, my mum had a smaller room but was still comfortable.
The staff were very accommodating when it came to meeting our friends dietry needs with him being dairy intolerant.
The food is very good, hot and varied and exellent service. The rooms were cleaned daily and all the staff were lovely.
our group was of mixed age range, we all had a lovely time and plan to return later this year.
For an off peek break it was really good value for money and would recommend it.
Mark,Yvonne, Sam ,Rich & Pam

Room Tip: larger rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All the staff work hard to ensure everyones stay is as enjoyable as possible.

We are pleased to see all your party had a good time. We appreciate your kind and positive comments and looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel makes Faulty Towers look good!
The staff was inefficient, slow and unfriendly. The food was tolerable, the rooms tolerable but overall a disappointing stay. Our advice is too look into a prvate B & B, where you might hopefully get better service, rather than a second rate hotel. However,we haven't been put off visiting The Isle of Wight again. It is a beautiful place even in winter, Sandown has a wonderful beach, great sunrses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maria186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we take on board your comments. I am pleased to say it is very rare to have the complaints that you mentioned.

We are please to see that you will continue to come to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just returned yesterday from a Nova Tours Monday to Friday break and already wanting to return! This hotel was really great and nothing was too much trouble for anything that you asked for. The staff were very welcoming and attentive to all guests. The food was outstanding with a varied menu and well cooked and presented - complements to the chef and his/her team. Our waitress Kristy was extremely efficient and always pleasant. The room we had number 7 was large, lovely and warm as well as being spotlessly clean. The swimming pool was very much appreciated and we made use of it daily. What more can I say except 'Well Done' to all and hopefully we shall return again. Our driver was Tony and he was brilliant Thank You.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay. It is nice to have such positive feedback and all the staff said it was a really enjoyable week. Even though there were two separate coaches, everyone seemed to get on well. I will pass the message onto the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The hotel was ok the room was dated and the toilet/shower room was very small.the sink was in the room. but didnt stay in there so no problem for us. Bed comfy and clean.We were upgraded to sea view room which was a nice gesture,it was above the entertainment but that was ok because we stayed until it the bar had closed,good job we did, i went up to the room during the evening and it sounded as though i was still in bar.Entertainment was very good. Food, we paid for bed and breakfast it was good, we also paid for the 3 course meal on the saturday night good value (£20 for the 2 of us).We went to the pool a bit chilly but ok after awhile .The staff were all polite and helpful.We had a good time with all the other guests esp the OAP's they made us laugh. All in all a it was a good stay for the cost.
The only thing i would say there was no parking which was a pain, but we parked around the corner on the high street free.I would return the location was spot on.

Room Tip: The sea view room was good but noisy due to entertainment if you like to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babaSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at the Royal Pier Hotel. It is always a bit difficult if you are in the sea view rooms at the front of the Hotel as they are close to the entertainment. We always make sure that guests are aware that we have entertainment on 7 nights a week, so not ideal if you wanted to go to bed early, but pleased that your enjoyed it. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about parking but even in peak season guests do manage to find somewhere close by so I hope it has not put you off perhaps coming back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We just spent 4 days in hotel over Xmas period, whilst food was generally plentifull and served with lightning speed the rest of the premises is tired and in need of attention. We had room 18 just above where staff go out to smoke, regularly so keep window closed, this isdifficult as the room is so hot radiator switched off within seconds of arriving. Room desperate for refurb infact it brings a whole new meaning to the word budget, the tv (very very old) placed so high on wall impossible to watch good job my partner gave me binoculars for christmas, came in very handy.
Shower area abismal, floor boards uneven and creak, ceiling and cabinet lighting need the 100 watt bulbs replacing with a lesser wattage as film set lighting not required, oh and lengthen the cord to pull switch. My suggestion to owners, Go stay the night in your rooms. If you require to contact reception you need to find them on google and ring using your mobile. Come on, drag yourself into this century or go out of business, manyof our fellow travellers had used you before but place has gone downhill alot and they say this was last time.

Room Tip: Demand sea view or leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank I7755ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay.

We are very disappointed you were unhappy with your Xmas break as we try very hard to ensure everyone has a good holiday. As you are aware, we had 100 guests, lots are regulars that come each year and yours is the only complaint. We accept the Hotel needs upgrading and there is a continuous refurbishment programme in progress.

I can also assure you that the view from your window looked over the staff quarters of the Hotel next door and we cannot stop people standing outside. Some of the TV's have been replaced with flat screen ones, but as most of the guests spend their time downstairs, we do not class that as a priority. You will have noticed there is a large flat screen TV in the Beatrice Bar.

It is a Victorian building so there are bound to be some creaky floorboards. In the information folder in the room, the telephone,fax and email details are clearly shown, so if you had looked in there, it would have saved you having to Google to find us.

I have checked through our comment forms from guests that were here at the same time, and they were all good with positive feedback and some have already re-booked for 2013.

When you booked via the Coach Company you travelled with, they had a rooming list to allocate the rooms, so I am surprised you made the booking when there were no sea view rooms available. Sea view rooms are always popular and sell quickly so therefore it is impossible to 'demand' a sea view room. if they have all been taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £37 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing