We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value hotel”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed in Royal Pier over a weekend. The hotel is good and well maintained. To make your stay good make sure:
1. You ask for sea facing room. I stayed in room 27, it is good room with sea view. I heard non sea facing rooms are not spacious
2. if you like swimming I would recommend take swimming dress with you
3. Being Indian I didn't liked the food, as it is more british. Though British guests who stayed there shared with us that even they didn't liked the food much.
4. Staff was great except one lady who appeared rather rude to many guests
5. One funny thing is they switch off heating at night and sometimes in day as well. From 7 to 10 PM heating in rooms is off and they say it will turn on at predefined time. It was rather funny for me and really hard for my wife who had cough and cold.

Other wise hotel is good value for money and good staff

Room Tip: Take room 27 and i heard other seaview rooms as well are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick_Leo_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent break.

Our heating is on a timer and comes on several times a day which has always been acceptable. During cold weather we have kept it on all day. During the early evening it is off as most guests are downstairs in the dining room.

Our Menu is varied to cater for all tastes and includes curry, stir fry, pasta and vegetarian options, roasts, chilli and fresh salads etc. Our food has always been parised for being exceptionally good, especially for the large numbers of people we cater for.

I am pleased you feel it was good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

My wife and i stayed at Royal Pier fri to mon15th to 18th march 2013.Traveled with Just GO Coach company.We had a lovely weekend.The hotel was very warm the bedroom was clean food exellent.The weather was not very good so we stayed in the hotel at night.The entertainment was very good on all three nights.Would certainly stay in the Royal Pier again. Very good service in the dinning room.

Room Tip: Front room sea view opposit pier any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Royal Pier Hotel for a long weekend mon-fri March 1st-4th.What a lovely weekend very warm welcome staff could not do enough for you,food was excellent very clean hotel,well worth the £99.00 we paid.We would without any doubt recomend this hotel to our friends and family..Thanks for a great weekend.Will certainly come again.Trevor & Maureen

Room Tip: Ask for sea view breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it.

As you say, for the price you paid it was extremely good value. If you continue to look at our website, when we do have a few rooms vacant we always add last minute deals which are very competitive.

I will pass your comments on to the staff and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

MY Husband And i went to THIS Hotel ON A FRI TO MON THE PRICE WAS QUITE GOOD ACTUALLY,WE WENT MARCH 2013.I CAN Honestly say for the Price OF £99 EACH FOR BB&EM 3 COARSES FOR BREAKFAST & EVENING DINNER IT WAS well Worth it.. THE HOTEL Itself could do with DECORATING All over As there Were scuff Marks In Our room plus AN AWFUL SMELL IN OUR BATHROOM Coming from the shower Plug awful. Plus our radiator never worked all the time we were there, I did report it to the Cleaner In our room But nothing Was done while we were there and it was Freezing all weekend. I Think if the hotel had A Makeover it Would be a lot better, As the food was Good and at least They have ENTERTAINMENT If you choose to stop in. I would go back another Time but hopefully the heating would be in working order.

Room Tip: Don;t have room 47 choose a sea view room if possible we were told they were nicer rooms a lot bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry there were some parts of your stay you were unhappy with. We have since checked Room 47 and can assure you that we have had the plumber look into this and have been assured the room is ok.

We do have an on going programme of refurbishment and decorating and again have put in place plans to rectify the points raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Room was great, staff friendly, food well cooked with different options each day.
Brilliant value for money
We spent a 5 day break on Honeymoon.
Evening entertainment was good too.
We will definately be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were pleased to have been able to make your honeymoon special and all the positive comments you mentioned are much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I am very suprised about the negative reviews this hotel is getting.last week we returned from a lovely three day break at the Royal. we had three rooms between us and the big rooms are very spaceous,we had a big balcony with sea view, my mum had a smaller room but was still comfortable.
The staff were very accommodating when it came to meeting our friends dietry needs with him being dairy intolerant.
The food is very good, hot and varied and exellent service. The rooms were cleaned daily and all the staff were lovely.
our group was of mixed age range, we all had a lovely time and plan to return later this year.
For an off peek break it was really good value for money and would recommend it.
Mark,Yvonne, Sam ,Rich & Pam

Room Tip: larger rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All the staff work hard to ensure everyones stay is as enjoyable as possible.

We are pleased to see all your party had a good time. We appreciate your kind and positive comments and looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel makes Faulty Towers look good!
The staff was inefficient, slow and unfriendly. The food was tolerable, the rooms tolerable but overall a disappointing stay. Our advice is too look into a prvate B & B, where you might hopefully get better service, rather than a second rate hotel. However,we haven't been put off visiting The Isle of Wight again. It is a beautiful place even in winter, Sandown has a wonderful beach, great sunrses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maria186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we take on board your comments. I am pleased to say it is very rare to have the complaints that you mentioned.

We are please to see that you will continue to come to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £37 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing