We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used as last resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Used as last resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and so we didn't have a great deal of choice. However, we will more than likely not be booking this hotel again. We always like to leave a fair and rounded review, so please find this below.

Positive:
- The hotel is in a good location, directly opposite the recently-renovated Sandown Pier and just off the high street. This meant that we were close to the local amenities without the noise. There is plenty of parking just down the road from the hotel and, as we arrived out of season (it ended on 31st October), this was free to use and there was always a space available.
- The staff here are very friendly and were more than happy to help with any problems or queries.
- The hotel has 2 bars - the Beatrice Bar which is open to guests and the Jubilee Bar which is open to both the guests and the public. The Beatrice Bar is situated just next to the reception and the Jubilee bar can be accessed through a little corridor just off the reception, or by using the front door when walking in from the street.
- On the 2 nights that we stayed, the entertainment consisted of a singer singing along to a backing track, which gave the Jubilee bar a great, intimate atmosphere. The female singer that was singing on the Thursday evening was excellent but the male singer on the Friday evening less so. Either way, both made for a good evening.
- Service to the room was provided daily, with the maid supplying fresh towels when necessary and making the bed.
- Plenty of variety at the bar, including most common spirits, beers, lagers and ciders that are all sold at very good prices
- Bed linen and towels were clean and crisp, and the beds are comfy. Some people may find the pillows to be quite firm, but these were fine for us. For anyone wishing to know, each person is supplied with 2 pillows.
- The hotel operated on a strict heating schedule, with the heating being turned on at various times during the day to keep the hotel warm. Whilst the room was initially cool on arrival, the hotel soon warmed up and feeling cold was never an issue, even with just t-shirts on.

Negatives:
- Cleanliness was a big concern. Whilst I'm aware that looking after a large and old building does not come cheap, there are certain aspects that this hotel does fall short on. To name just a few:
o The grouting between the tiles in the shower was black with mould,
o There were several large cobwebs above the shower and across the ceiling of the room.
o On arrival (and even after the maid had visited on the 2nd day), the back of a previous guest's earring could be found on the bathroom floor
o There were several damp patches, causing the wallpapers to peel
o Most of the hotel had a damp, musty smell due to poor ventilation, especially in the corridors in the centre of the building. For anyone with asthma, a long stay at this hotel may be a health hazard.
- The hotel's decor is quite grand and we liked this because it matches the atmosphere and the name of the hotel. However, there were a few areas that could be updated - there's a difference between looking old for effect and actually being old and dated. However, this is our own tastes and others will feel differently on this.
- Some bottles from the Jubilee Bar refrigerators were served with a strange, dark red sludge on the bottom of them, something we didn't realise until we saw our hands! Not too sure what it was, but the fridges could certainly do with a clean!
- Be warned, if you're afraid of spiders, you might find yourself laying awake at night. On average, we found one in our room every day - one medium-sized house spider crawling towards my bed and a large daddy long-legs spider waiting for us in the bathroom. The building is old and has many holes around pipes, so there's not much management can do about this one unfortunately!
- Whilst the hotel does have a small pool, it's right next to the public bar and the outside smoking area with windows meaning that everyone can see you. We didn't use the pool because of this, so can't comment any further.
- The room we were given was incredibly small, and very sparsely furnished. There was a small walk-in wardrobe and a very small bathroom. To give an idea of the size of the room - if we opened either the wardrobe or the bathroom door, it was impossible to move around the room unless we climbed over the beds!

Overall, we mostly enjoyed ourselves around the hotel, but couldn't wait to get out of the room every morning and left it as late as possible before going to bed. Whilst I'm sure we could have asked for another room, first impressions are everything and if a hotel is happy to give you a sub-par hotel room as your first impression, it's probably not worth the effort to move rooms.

The manager of the hotel does seem to reply to any negative reviews on this site in a very defensive manner, which we feel let's the hotel down. However, we hope we've left a well-rounded and fair review that is based solely on our experience that others will find helpful when making their decision on where to stay.

Room Tip: Might be worth giving Room 55 a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattAndDan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    102
    48
    26
    35
See reviews for
51
132
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and again it's been wonderful. The food has been really good and served by Ed who although clearly not well, was always very polite, cheerful and obliging. Hope you get better quickly Ed. Complements to the chef and his team as the meals were always hot and tasty. There was always plenty of hot water with lovely white towels. Our room was excellent and beds comfortable. The entertainment was good with great performances by Route 27 and Gemma. The swimming pool was an added bonus. My friend and I travelled with Nova Tours 14th to 18th Oct. and our driver Graham really excelled in his duties as driver/courier/waiter and so a big 'Thank You' Graham. All-in-all a wonderful 5 days holiday and we shall hopefully repeat in April 2014

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a wonderful return visit to the Royal Pier and that your experience was as good as the first. i have passed on your comments to Ed, (who is on the mend) and to our kitchen team. I have also shown a copy of your review to Route 27 who are our newest entertainers so it is always good to pass on something positive. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having never been on a coach holiday before and never visited the Isle of Wight it was a pleasure to arrive at the Royal Pier Hotel were we were greeted before we alighted from the coach by the manageress.
The hotel was clean and the reception staff very efficient and friendly. Staff was on hand to take luggage to the rooms but we elected to carry our own.
The meals were of the highest quality and the waiters were hard working. pleasant and obliging. Staff at the bars were of the same standard of the rest of the staff. Entertainment was good and on every night.
All in all an excellent hotel for its rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are pleased that your first coaching holiday experience was a memorable one. It is always good to hear such positive comments and I will share these with all members of staff. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Glamorgan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day coach trip to this hotel (16th - 20th Sept) and were pleasantly surprised (and relieved) after reading some reviews. The hotel is in a good position on the sea front and, unsurprisingly, opposite the pier. The hotel is dated, but it is clean and tidy. All of the staff were exceedingly pleasant and hard-working, particularly the restaurant waitresses and waiters who made sure you didn't wait for long. The food was plentiful, hot, tasty and enough of a choice to suit anybody. The chef should be complimented because his meats were cooked well, moist and full of flavour and most of the veg appeared to be fresh.
We were in room 31, which is on the 2nd floor and had a sea view. It wasn't overly big, the sink is in the bedroom and the shower/toilet room is small and the shower was temperamental. The bed and pillows were a bit too firm for my liking but I'm sure they would suit others. A bulb in the en-suite blew and was changed within 10 mins of being reported, great service. There was no wifi available and 4 channels on an old crt 14" tv took a bit of getting used to. However we found none of these small niggles were worth complaining about as the overall experience was positive.
The evening entertainment was quite good for the most part, Gemma on Thursday and particularly the male singer (whose name escapes me, apologies) was absolutely brilliant. He didn't take a break the whole night.
I don't know if we will go back to the Isle of Wight again, but if we did I would stay at the Royal Pier hotel again and we will definitely go with Brent Thomas coaches again, whose driver Andrew helped to make the holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Some of the sea view rooms on the 1st floor have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

Although we agree the Hotel is dated we are pleased you found it clean and tidy. I will pass your message on to the staff as it is always nice to get some positive feed back. Wifi is available but it is only in the reception area due to the old building and low ceilings. We have replaced some of the old TV's to flat screen but have not yet gone to freeview but hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel and reported to the coach company 's rep enquiery that we found the hotel acceptable.We were a little dissapointed in the room on first impressions but as time went on found it clean and maintained that way by staff throughout our stay.The shower was small but there was always plenty of hot water available through a powerfull jet.
The menu for breakfast and evening meal were very good giving choices at both sittings.We found the first waiter that served our first couple of meals a bit of a sad guy but without complaining a young waitress replaced him and she was very pleasant it was nice to see a smiling face(no names)
As time went on we really enjoyed our coach/hotel holiday(our first) and will be booking for the same time next year but it would be nice to have a better room

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678marjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. it is an experience when you go on your first coaching holiday, but we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. You can always request a room with a seaview if you were to book again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just enjoyed a two day stay at the hotel. The hotel is well run with all staff we came in contact friendly and helpful. It might be a two star hotel but from our check-in at Reception, the service at breakfast and in the bar we experienced really professional service. Our our room was clean and tidy as were the majority of the public areas but the bar and a few areas are a little dated in appearrance. Good basic breakfasts are provided but perhaps the hotel needs to consider providing fruit juice as wel as cereal not instead of it. This seemed to be the feeling of others at tables near by.
I woul recommend this hotel for a short break. I intend returning next year

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abacus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
We are glad you enjoyed the break and will pass on your comments. It is good to hear such positive comments as we were totally full and did our best to ensure everything went as smooth as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a good trip to the Isle of Wight and this hotel satisfied our needs for the purpose of our visit to the island. On our first night we did hear several guests in the main bar area complaining about some aspects of their stay. Yes the hotel is slightly dated in places and you would have to be very wary about sitting on the wooden chairs in the rooms (very wobbly) but the location makes up for it as you have access to some really good restaurants, tea rooms and more importantly public transport. What I feel could be improved is the overall customer service in the restaurant just to make the the guest feel welcome on their first visit especially if not part of a large coach party. Only as we progressed to the end of stay did the service at breakfast get better - thank you to Scott.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the Jubilee Bar as the music does carry into the room. Does not help if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I am sorry the service in the dining room was not up to our normal standard, I will look into that. I will also pass the comment onto Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Property: Royal Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing