We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Break”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Once again had a wonderful midweek break at the Royal Pier, staff were friendly and as usual the food was excellent with entertainment thrown in, located right on the sea front a great no frills value hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 that was above the entertainment Bar so if you are looking to have early nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driftwood1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed it once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you wish to have a completely broken bed (yes, completely, although a GM's response to another review below mentions that beds were changed last year), a 25-30 years old TV in your room, and to be ignored in the middle of a conversation by the receptionist (because another member of the staff is talking to her).... This is your place!!
Also, I have to say that the two ladies in reception at check-in were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D4759KWJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

If it had been brought to our attention about the bed, we would have replaced it. The TV's are in the process of being replaced and so far we have fitted flat screen TV's in many of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned home after four nights in the hotel,its very big with loads of stairs and at first hard to find the room you are given but when you get used to finding it there's no problem we went in the swimming pool and jacuzzi and had a good time.We found the staff polite and helpful and enjoyed our stay,our twin room was small but for 4 nights it didn't really matter all in all we had a good time and thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Room 22 quiet but not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary_s209967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and will pass the comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just spent 5 days at this hotel and we thought it was fab, the food was excellent and so were all the staff, on the one day the weather wasn't great so we asked at reception if they had any umbrellas and we were very kindly given one which made the difference of us having to stay in all day waiting for the weather to clear, so we could still go out and explore. We were the youngest couple at this hotel being in our late 20's but we were made to feel just as welcome as anyone else. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will defo be coming back. From Rebecca and mike.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the front, it's amazing waking up hearing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your nice review following your recent stay.

It was good to hear you enjoyed yourselves and pleased that we only had one day of bad weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked 2 nights through late rooms without checking trip advisor first... big mistake. This hotel is huge and could be lovely if it had a bit of money spend on it but sadly it is just incredibly shabby and dated. We booked a double room online but when we called ahead to check it was OK to bring our baby and put up our own travel cot we were told the double rooms weren't big enough to fit a travel cot in (??) We were put in a family room instead but the manager was extremely rude and annoyed about this, even though we paid extra money for the bigger room. It was a huge room with nice high ceilings and had the potential to be a great room, BUT the wallpaper was peeling off in several place, the bathroom was dirty, stained and with peeling lino on the floor, the beds were full of broken springs and very uncomfortable, the mirror was covered in smeared fingerprints. It was AWFUL. We only stayed one night then escaped to premier inn with great relief. To be fair to the hotel there was a coach load of elderly women who seemed to be having a great time. If your standards are low and you don't mind rude staff and a menu full of things like fried bread and liver and bacon, this is the place for you. But don't go if you're under 60 - you'll regret it like I did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank emma134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We accept the Hotel is dated. We have a refurbishment plan in place which we are continually working through.

We have in the past had guests arrive with a child - often unannounced and expect to have the child in with them in a double room. As we have explained before, our Insurance does not cover for 3 people in a room advertised for 2 people. We are therefore not being difficult, we are just following our Insurance guidelines. This is also clearly stated on the company website that you booked with. The beds were replaced last year. The wallpaper is often torn by Guests and I am pleased to say that this has now been replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having just returned from a repeat visit I can say it's still a lovely place to stay and my friend and I have immediately rebooked for October. Yes the hotel is dated, but is spotlessly clean, the staff are amazing - thank you Sherrie for wonderful meal-time attention, and the swimming pool an added bonus. Our stay reached all our expectations and can't wait to return. Thanks to everyone for another great time.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your message onto Sherrie. We look forward to seeing you in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a crap hotel well outdated bedroom rubbish ensuit so old I didn't realise that anyone still had advacado green !! Bed older than what I am.!!!!!! As for the restaurant !!!!!!! Never had a experience like it !!! I was told. They were busy and run out of fish and Florida cocktail starter!!! It was 6.30 on a Thurs nite. The so called manageress said we could have our money back for the so called meal as there was a lot of other places we could eat !!! Costomer care is not one of their prioritys !!! Will never go back there !!! If you want a nice hotel don't go there !!!!!!!!!!.. apart from so called manergeress staff were very good !! Shame they have to work in a place like that. If you want to stay in San down don't stay here !!!!!! Crap

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bernie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We have been waiting for your review, so this is our response.

As you will see from previous reviews, we are an 'old fashioned' Hotel in the process of refurbishing.

You had originally booked in on a reduced rate for Bed and Breakfast, When you enquired about evening meal you were informed it was £10.00 per person for 3 courses. We did have a problem in the kitchen and I, the Manager, did resolve it. We cooked some fresh fish for your party and no, it was not straight from the sea. Why book into a 2 star Hotel if that is what you expect.

Whatever I suggested was not going to be right for you, although the other 3 guests seemed to accept the offer of a freshly cooked meal. It was obvious after discussing the problem, apologising numerous times and rectifying the situation, you would not have been happy with whatever we offered. This was the reason I offered you the refund, which your friends declined. The next morning I approached your group and although the other guests spoke you ignored me.

We are always sorry when someone does not enjoy their stay, but do feel it is not necessary to be so rude in a review. Luckily, it does not happen often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £29 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing