We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Pier Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$100
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wight(Sandown)
US$101
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
105
123
62
33
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
123
62
33
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjubilee barsea viewcoach tripsea fronthotel barshower roomkitchen staffisle of wightindoor pooleaster weekendevening entertainmentshort breakdressing tablegood nights sleepchoice of foodhalf boardwaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and a friend had a stay here for a night before the Isle of Wight Festival and it was good enough for the night, maybe another 2 or so at a push but but no means perfect. The room was good enough, not very big or very modern, and the beds weren't overly comfortable but I slept well despite this. The bathroom again was satisfactory for what we paid and was clean. Generally the hotel is quite old fashioned and the decor reflects this (my friend made a comment that it reminded him or Fawlty Towers, I can't say I disagree as his comment had me in stitches!) However, the staff are lovely and friendly and the breakfast again was decent, I certainly can't argue with a full English breakfast included in the price of the room! The location is one of the best aspects of this hotel as it is right opposite Sandown pier and the beach which strecthes for miles all the way down to Shanklin which is a lovely little town to visit with some fun things to do, especially for kids. I can't comment on the pool as I didn't use it but overall the hotel is nice and I would happily use it again if I were needing another one or two night stop in a lovely location.

Room Tip: If you're after a view, try to get a sea view room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We agree the rooms are not modern. The Hotel is a lovely Victorian building and we try to keep with the character and style.

We have started upgrading our bathrooms and adding flat screen TV's, but we can only do a few at a time.

We are pleased you commented that the Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and the breakfast was good as we feel these are important factors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Upon arrival we had to find a parking place. Sea front is Always a problem, but the receptionist advised us a parking in one of the Streets nearby.
The room was quit a climb but clean and neat.
Breakfast started at 8.30 sharp, by a gong. A good choice of food.

Room Tip: When booking, look for a lower price. Less costs, smaller room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it and glad you managed to park close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arrived on 4 night break
Rooms are a little dated but told refurb under way,
En suite very small
Bedding clean and fresh but dated... Needs duvets
Food excellent
Bar prices average
Entertainment sufferable

Will return to see if changes were made... 7-10

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steward97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Some refurbishment has started and hopefully next time you consider coming you will hopefully see the changes. We are pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of the Hotel and the excellent food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed at this hotel at the begining of April hotel dated but clean and tidy food not so great found a hair in my egg at breakfast . Rhi and Malcome the bar staff were very good, Hotel lift needs a bit to be diesired very small the doors were hard to pull, but would go back but it is not sauitable for all as it is on a steep

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay at the beginning of April. We are sorry about the issue you had with breakfast and will pass on your nice comments about the two bar staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3. Nights at the beginning of April.On whole the Hotel was not to bad but old .We New this from the start but we're looking at Hotels to take about 40 people from my bingo club for weekends away next year.The room we had was No.53 as soon as they New who I was we were upgraded to this room.Nice and large double sea view over the main door.Lift small only room for 2 sliding door on one side watch your hand it will TAKE it off .When it stops another door has to be open. Food NOT to good One young bar Maude/dogs bodey 10 Out of 10. one barman 10.out of 10 . Would stay here again if had to .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimsbingoclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay in April. We have looked at upgrading the lift, but it would be difficult and very expensive, so at this point in time we are not able to. We are sorry you were not happy with the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews