We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't to bad for a few nights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wasn't to bad for a few nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wasn't overly happy with the hotel as we had a really uncomfortable bed the room was a little dirty, the breakfast (full English on menu) wasn't exactly what I call a breakfast it was cold and the food looked and tasted like rubber, bathroom was pretty vile with stains on the walls and shower curtain.

GOOD POINTS- reception staff were very helpful especially when I got out of the pool asking for a token for the jacuzzi haha poor lady!!!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is very difficult to provide a Hotel bed that suits all tastes - for some people they are too hard and for others too soft.

We apologise if you felt the room was 'a little dirty' if this had been reported to Reception, we could have rectified this.

Fortunately we get very few complaints about the food, but if yours was not hot enough, we can only apologise.

Thank you for your kind comments about the Reception staff and we are pleased that you enjoyed the Pool and Jacuzzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    98
    48
    26
    35
See reviews for
51
130
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at the Royal Pier Hotel, Sandown. Overall we enjoyed being there. We travelled with Travelstyle Tours and many of us were OAP's. The hotel couldn't be any nearer the pier or the sea front. It was pleasant just to sit outside and watch the world go by, even a troop of passing Morris Men to entertain us, apart from the entertainment in the hotel bar. The trips we went on were fine. My favourite place apart from Godshill was Yarmouth, a smashing place to visit. The meals.breakfast and evening, were very nice indeed with plenty of choices on starters, mains and sweets, even a cup of tea or coffee. The waitresses were very efficient with particular praise to Shaina. We didn't use the indoor pool but several guest certainly did. On a slightly down note, we did request a low floor room if possible and a bath if possible.This didn't happen but we were not to far away from the hotel lift on the second floor. The lift was fine once you got used to it and knowing which way to face getting out. Haha.!!! It also would have been nice to know that there was no cooked breakfast on the leaving day (Friday). Our coach had to leave the hotel at 7.15am which was a pity has it wasted your final day but there was a ferry to catch. All in all I would certainly return to the Royal Pier Hotel. It's just a pity our holiday wasn't longer. Well done to everybody.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alansviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to see that your enjoyed your visit to the Isle of Wight. We are very lucky at the Royal Pier to be in such a splendid position opposite the Pier and the Beach.

We will pass on your kind words to the staff. Unfortunately we have no control over the coach companies and the times they book the ferry for your return trip.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here the weekend of July 11th - July 14th 2014
We are both in our mid twenties and I would go as far as saying WE WAS NOT WELCOME
This hotel is purely designed for the older generation
We got up to the room and it was a disgrace!!
Tiny room, carpet dusty, bed very uncomfortable and the bathroom STUNK
I went down to complain and u was greeted by a arrogant duty manager who didn't apologise once and looked down his nose at me, he got a book out saying there had never been a complaint.. Etc and I offered him to come to the room which his reply was 'I don't have time'
I was very angry but what can I do... Pay £12 to move rooms (no chance)
We did not venture down for breakfast and tried to spend as less time in the hotel as possible
When we checked out there was no thankyou or did you have a nice stay.. Could not force a smile off the happy lady at the desk
It is a good location but the hotel is a mess and of you are under the age of 50 do not stay here
Even the locals I told where we was staying gave us a look to say 'oh god' so the hotel can't be great in the area
I can't say I care
Maybe the manager should have a word with your rude staff and update your rooms as they haven't been touched for years
Bad bad experience

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Greg2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I feel I have to be honest in how I reply, as I always am.

Your comment “we was not welcome” says it all really. All guests are welcome. You were checked in as normal; you straight away queried the price of £25pppn and asked for a different room, we were however full at the time. I have been informed that not long after your request the receptionist came to your room and knocked on the door but you did not answer. She had managed to move forthcoming guests so we could offer you a different room.

I will apologise for any member of staff that you thought was rude. Most members of staff have worked here for a long time and we do not get complaints, in fact our staff are often praised. On this occasion two members of staff were on duty and their version of events seems to be different to yours.

We did however have numerous complaints from guests about the awful noise that you were making between the hours of 3am-5am. It was believed that you may have been throwing furniture around, the noise was that bad! You had even thrown out the information file from your room out into the corridor.

When the receptionist spoke to you the following morning to ask you to keep the noise down your reply was “oh ok sorry about that, but to be fair we feel as though we are the youngest people staying in the hotel”. The receptionist then replied “whether you are staying with young or old guests, noises of that level would still not be acceptable in any hotel”.

We have a varied age group of guests stay at this hotel, and we feel your behaviour did an injustice to your age group.

We decided that it was best to throw out the dirty tights etc that you left behind on the floor in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would like to add a new review for this hotel. I have been wrong about this hotel in the pest and would like to apologise to the manager. This is a comfortable hotel with good food that you have a good selection from a menu, and even has entertainment in the evenings especially if you do not want to go too far. It is close to the main shopping street if you do not want to watch the entertainment there is a separate bar. It is comfortable and a lift to the floors and your room.

Room Tip: Well worth a look at and possibly book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZZA57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

All the staff work very hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay at the Royal Pier and it is very pleasing to see that you have taken the time to write a new review after your second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

stopped here for 4 nights bed breakfast and 3 course evening dinner food was plentiful well cooked and presentable choice of three available on starters, main meal and dessert just like home cooking served by a very nice waitress named alley gave good service and presented every request with a smile and as though was no trouble she worked very hard, our room was reached by a lift and a flight of stairs, room was clean beds were comfortable linen and towels changed daily room made up daily was left with plenty of tea coffee sugar milk etcetc, the hotel itself was very well run and very conveniently siuated right across the road from the sea,and main shopping area at the top of the road which boasted from charity shops to all manner of restaurants cafes,chip shops, etc etc.we stopped here last year, and nothing has gone lost its flavour, the owners recognised us with a warm welcome, would recommend this budget hotel very highly.the only hotel i have been in the uk and have not heard any moaning at all about food, service or whatever, what more can i say but try it out yourself.

Room Tip: If you choose to take my recommendation spare a thought of what your paying and if you need expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

It really boosts morale to read such positive comments about the food and service we provide. We are pleased that you decided to visit us again and it was lovely to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and a friend had a stay here for a night before the Isle of Wight Festival and it was good enough for the night, maybe another 2 or so at a push but but no means perfect. The room was good enough, not very big or very modern, and the beds weren't overly comfortable but I slept well despite this. The bathroom again was satisfactory for what we paid and was clean. Generally the hotel is quite old fashioned and the decor reflects this (my friend made a comment that it reminded him or Fawlty Towers, I can't say I disagree as his comment had me in stitches!) However, the staff are lovely and friendly and the breakfast again was decent, I certainly can't argue with a full English breakfast included in the price of the room! The location is one of the best aspects of this hotel as it is right opposite Sandown pier and the beach which strecthes for miles all the way down to Shanklin which is a lovely little town to visit with some fun things to do, especially for kids. I can't comment on the pool as I didn't use it but overall the hotel is nice and I would happily use it again if I were needing another one or two night stop in a lovely location.

Room Tip: If you're after a view, try to get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

We agree the rooms are not modern. The Hotel is a lovely Victorian building and we try to keep with the character and style.

We have started upgrading our bathrooms and adding flat screen TV's, but we can only do a few at a time.

We are pleased you commented that the Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and the breakfast was good as we feel these are important factors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Upon arrival we had to find a parking place. Sea front is Always a problem, but the receptionist advised us a parking in one of the Streets nearby.
The room was quit a climb but clean and neat.
Breakfast started at 8.30 sharp, by a gong. A good choice of food.

Room Tip: When booking, look for a lower price. Less costs, smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it and glad you managed to park close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Property: Royal Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing