We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food ok, rooms a dissapointment”
Review of Royal Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pier Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Bodrum
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, food ok, rooms a dissapointment”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We are a couple in our 40's and went for 3 nights with National Holidays. We were not expecting anything special as usually the rule of thumb is great location/poor hotel or stuck in the middle of nowhere/excellent hotel!
The hotel is right on the seafront directly opposite the amusements and just round the corner from the shopping street. Very few shops though 2 small supermarkets provided snacks.
The first room we were given was very small with a shower/toilet in green and about as big as a broom cupboard. The sink was in the room. The decor was 80's chintzy and tired but reasonably clean. Tea/coffee provided but we had to go buy our own coffee as no decaff and cheap coffee we would not drink anyway but that's our problem. No hairdrier. Just small bars of soap and no shampoo/shower gel but clean towels and plenty of loo roll.
We opted to pay extra for a seaview and were offered another small room that reeked of smoking so we asked for another choice and ended up in a spaceous room with a decent view but twin beds. No shower but we were provided with one of those rubber plug on ones to use in the bath. The bathroom was large but seemed cleaner than the other 2 we'd looked at.
There is a tiny lift to save your legs.
Cleanliness was not top notch though the cleaners who shot in to change the beds were lovely friendly ladies. The net curtains were very grubby so we pushed them aside to enjoy the view as much as we could as the window was a bit dirty but it was October after all and possibly had been raining before we came.
My husband tried out the pool and said it was lovely.
The manager was a lovely guy who was friendly and approachable and a credit to the hotel. He seemed to work all hours!! He was barman/reception and bingo caller!!!
We love our grub so were looking forward to evening meal. There is a fixed menu for each night of the week with about 3 choices for each course. The food was ok, nice and hot, not big portions but enough. Nicely presented. Serving staff weren't too friendIy but were very busy - a smile would have been nice though. My main gripe was the fact we were treated like schoolkids having to sit where they had appointed us every day. Plus being made to share vegetables/milk jugs/butter and marmalade with people at your table when they could have just given a dish per couple - though the persons we sat with were lovely it felt awkward passing round the veg etc or guilty if you finished the milk. I also would have liked jam with my toast not marmalade every morning which I didn't partake of as I don't like it - tip just ask and there is jam in the back so dunno why they don't serve it. Breakfast was good though. Cereals followed by hot breakfast and toast and marmalade. It isn't a huge breakfast but adequate and a goof start to the day.
We had our first day free and took a stroll along the shore to the Sandown Zoo with big cats. We really enjoyed it as we love lions and tigers.
In the evenings there was entertainment and bingo laid on but we felt a bit young for it so it was pub or the Amusements as there is nothing else around really. Small TV in the room so stocked up on choccie and watched X-Factor!!
Second day was back on the coach for an Island tour. I had hoped to visit the Donkey Sanctuary but we went to the Pearl Centre which was boring and a waste of time and then the Needles. It was good to view the needles but a waste of time hanging around there because the shops there are rubbish. We and others just were twiddling our thumbs till we could get back on the coach. Luckily things picked up when we visited a couple of villages that had something to look at and cute shops to look around and we enjoyed a lovely slice of cake and a coffee in the sunshine. My advice to National Holidays is to cut out Needles and Pearl and take your people to the villages or one of the many zoos and animal sanctuarys. I would have happily paid entrance to go to Flamingoland or wherever.
All in all it was an enjoyable break and we were lucky to get sunshine in October. The Isle of Wight was interesting and very green. The hotel was just a bit dated and needs some refurbishing but for what we paid it was good value.
Note to the manager: room 27 - sorry but you should take some steps and look on the roof of the bathroom. Must be years of dust up there with skin cells and whatever - my husband freaked out that we were breathing that in never mind the idea of dust mites. We didn't complain but I think it needs either blocking off or sweeping out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaceplantBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
I take on board your comments and we have already started a programme of re-decorating and replacing carpets where necessary. The Hotel was sympathetically converted from a Victorian Summer Residence and therefore some of the rooms including the bathrooms and/or shower rooms are of different sizes. Hairdryers are not in the Rooms but are always available from Reception, along with irons. For the tariff charged, we feel that the Hotel is good value for money and we therefore we do not supply shower gel and unlimited tea and coffee.
When people are travelling by Coach and therefore sit together on a table, it is not possible for us to know if they were travelling separately, therefore when the table’s food order is served; it is done so as a complete unit. This has not proved a problem in the past.
Thank you for your comments about the Duty Manager and I have passed theses on. All the staff are very conscientious and it is good to be able to pass on praise for their hard work.
In relation to your other remarks, unfortunately we cannot comment. The itinerary for visits is decided by the Coach Company, so it is to them that you should voice your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    113
    52
    30
    38
See reviews for
56
141
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I visited the Royal for 2 wks in 2008, back in 2010 for another 14 days. Thoroughly enjoy my stays here. Room was overlooking the ocean, clean & comfortable. Cost included breakfast & supper ( food was very good ) Felt the supper hr ( 6;30 - 7.00 ) was a bit tight.
Staff all very friendly. If you plan to stay awhile, be aware that there are no laundry facilities in Sandow, must go to Shanklin.
Would I go again.... sure, but flite from Canada to Isle is long.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We recently stayed at the Royal Pier Hotel. The location was fantastic on the seafront opposite the pier within walking distance from everything. All the staff we spoke to were really helpful and chatty. Unfortunately the room was a let down with dirty headboard, grimy bathroom and on the windowsill in the corridor was a mouldy bit of bread that had obviously been there a while. The food was ok and the entertainment about average for hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Really enjoyed my stay here, i must admit i was a bit concerned when i read some of the reviews but have them to be completely unfounded. The meals were very good with a good choice, something for everyone and a perfect kids menu, which is great when your travelling with a teenager and a 3 year old. The rooms may be a bit dated but everything was very clean and tidy. The staff at this hotel are brilliant, very helpful and nothing seemed to be to much trouble for them, the hotel also offers nightly entertainment which which we found to be very good as not all hotels offer this. Set a good location, we had a lovely family room which was spacious and had sea views which was very nice. Overall we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will email you with our 'Web Specials'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Just had a 1 night stay at the royal pier hotel. Location wise fantastic, just opposite to the pier and a minute uphill walk to the bust stop in case you plan to take the island tours. The Victorian building is a pleasant stand out from the mechanical long straight corridors with multitude of doors on each side as in the more chic hotels. Very lively ambience around the hotel with lots of eating out options. The breakfast was great and the staff very helpful. Though the rooms were a bit small and the decor a bit loud, but it was all very clean, professional and friendly. The sea facing room offered a good view of the pier and the sea of course and I enjoyed a blissful early morning just staring out of the window. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and hope to be back for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sghosh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The location of this hotel is fab -right opposite the beach by the pier so you could wake up / fall asleep to the sound of the sea and run 'home' for a shower after a swim.
It is also very close to the centre of town and all the amenities and public transport links that provides.

The downside is that the hotel tries to cut costs wherever possible and this means that the quality of the product and the service is low. From tea so cheap you could barely drink it to small portions of very low quality food served with a curt 'breakfast is only served from 830 till 9' when we arrived at 825 and a: 'you can't have a veggie breakfast as you didn't order it the day before'.

It isn't a cheap hotel and at these prices you would expect everything to be at the very least half-decent -it isn't.

We did come across a friendly receptionist/bar person and he greeted us warmly. The local area knowlege they could provide, such as times of public transport, was limited. Admittedly the other guests at the hotel, as with most on the island, were a lot older and part of organised coach trips, so staff probably weren't used to giving out information. But, as a large hotel we can't be the only independent travellers they have ever had.

The whole place is stuck in a bit of a time warp. We had an extremely tiny, decaying avocado suite bathroom. We were out most of the time so a dated room didn't really bother us. We did need one towel replacing and left it in the assigned place but it was never changed. Nor was the one sachet of instant coffee per person per day in the room replenished daily as promised. The nightly live music -covers from the 50s and 60s- could even be 'enjoyed' coming up from the bar through the walls of our room. Luckily we enjoyed the comedy factor of it all and the views and proximity to the beach went some way towards making up for the flaws.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
The Royla Pier is in a superb location, close to the beach and all amenities. We would like to point out that we are not cutting costs wherever we can, but like all Hotels we are conscious of costs. As you will see from other comments, we have had many compliments about the quality of our food for both breakfast and evening meal, along with the polite, efficient service from our waiting staff. We apologise if on this occasion you felt it was not to our usual standard.

We do attract a regular mix of both Coach parties and independent travellers and we do our best to provide as much information as possible to guests, but it is impossibe to know every time on every bus route on the Island.

Due to the size and age of the building there will always be an on-going programme of refurbishing.

We are confident that we offer good value for money as we are on average 30% or more cheaper than other Hotels in Sandown in a similar seafront location. We have numerous repeat bookings with Coach companies and individual guests, so we can only assume we must be getting some things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We arrived at the hotel and was greeted on the coach by the management and taken inside where we was given our room keys . Our luggage was brought up by the hotel porter a short while later .
The hotel was spotlessly clean and tidy . All the meals were nicely presented and very tasty . All the hotel staff and management were friendly and polite and could'nt do enough for us .
I would certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone . When we arrived back home after our stay we contacted Isle of Wight Tours and got the details for the same hotel for 2011 and i might add all our group is looking forward to returning to the hotel once again which i'm sure you will agree says it all .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June_OReilly, General Manager at Royal Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for making the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year. I will pass on your comments to the staff as I’m sure they’ll appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pier Hotel

Property: Royal Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Pier Hotel, originally built by the Victorians for Princess Beatrice as her summer residence, is ideally positioned on the seafront offering views of one of the finest beaches on the Island and the Pier with its family amenities. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool and spa-pool, regular entertainment, choice of two bars and a light, spacious dining room overlooking the seafront. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and offer value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pier Sandown
Royal Pier Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing