We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and service excellent”
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food and service excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

for such a big hotel we found it very clean and tidy. The food and service of everybody was excellent, no waiting between courses and everybody was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bally902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

we stayed at the hotel after travelling with travel style (our first time !) we took my disabled dad with us and had booked him a ground floor room, which he got , we didnt mind where we were! wealso got a room on the ground floor which contained a double bed and two singles. but the main thing that struck us was the view!!!!!!! we had a balcony with a panoramic sea view, it was amazing!!!! the food was lovely a good choice and always hot, the staff were all friendly, and could not do enough for us, we went to the bar at night were we had some good entertainment especially the elvis and neil diamond tribute !! and angie and tony who were great .we had a couple of games of bingo and made some new friends! 2 trips were included in the price and we also booked an optional trip on the wednesday,yes the hotel could do with some work but for what we paid we were highly delighted and i look forward to our next stay with them. thank you all for a great week

Room Tip: ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamsam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

i went with a female friend for a long wekend with travelstyle and was a bit wary because of the comments on tripadvisor but decided to try it because peoples ideas of good and bad differ but ive got to say the bad ones are correct ! the hotel is in a good place on the seafront ( the back of the hotel) but the front is on a very busy noisy road , we asked for a ground floor room due to a disability and a bath which helps me and a sea view when we booked it !! but all we got was a room on the top floor which you can only access by climbing up a very dark and narrow staircase that has several strips of silver masking tape on it to stop you from tripping up on the very dirty and threadbare carpet , the room was very small stains on the carpet, headboards and chair a mismash of very old unstable furniture , the bathroom had mould and holes in the bath panel and was at the front of the hotel and very noisy the last drunken loudmouth went that we heard was at 05.10am so no sleep !!! apparently there are half dozen or so at the back of the hotel that have been renovated but people who had been before and booked directly got allocated these ! the food was mainly frozen or packet and cold and the dining room has damp patches on the ceiling and has we had thunder and lightening the night before at breakfast we got wet because the ceiling leaked on us !!!! the staff were grunpy and we heard and saw many complaints that were just met with comments like " these people are doing my head in " as they walked past our table !! we tried the pool area and the pool was cold you had to pay to use each of the whirlpool and sauna , but we did try the whirlpool out and it stunk made us both feel sick !!! This hotel could def do with alot of renovation before asking anybody else decent stays there or better still put a bomb under it and start again !!!!

Room Tip: demand a seaveiw room that has been renovated !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackietheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

i went to this hotel april 2011 infact i am still here and what a lovely hotel!! after reading all the reviews i thought to myself oh no what should i expect well in fact let me tell you all the staff are really welcoming, friendly and very very helpful. The food is great infact it's suberb and the cheif well what a pleasure to have spoke to him, he was friendly to and funny. the room is very clean and tidy and the beds are comfy so after reading all these reports what aload of rubbish what you have to remeber is this hotel states from the begining its not a 5* hotel so you get what you pay for so you all know the sayin don't judge a book by its cover!! keep up the good work and thank you for a fantastic time spent here. Mr and Mrs ward from Reading.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bambam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Rooms very dirty, bedding (stained) & towels(grey) need replacing, carpet (hadn't been hovered) & sofa needs cleaning, decor very poor, cracks & damp patches on ceiling & outside wall. Rest of hotel ( corridors etc.) needed a good hovering. The diningroom was in need of refurbishment, chairs were filthy , as were the tablecloths. We mentioned more than once to the waiter that there was an infestation of spider mite, which were crawling on cutlery plates & serviettes, as well as in the sugar, but nothing was done, spoiling our meals and holiday. We didn't expect much from a budget hotel, but at least we thought it would be clean. the only good point was the meals, if only we could have enjoyed them.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We did just that .My husband and i have been 6 times to the isle of wight. We had been told different negative things about this hotel we had read really bad reviews. So packed our cases and went for it .It was a wonderful holiday we got back yesterday and would have stayed longer we will be returning in june most of the people we spoke to also said they would go back i had no complaints at all. We should have tried it years ago it has the location food friendliness seaviews all you could want for a price you can afford . Well done travelstyle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Enough has been said about the decoration. I travelled with Travelstyle with my wife ( our first time) the tour was brilliant, coach very comfotable and driver Kieron was an excellent guide being cheerfull and informative.
Upon arrival our cases were taken to our rooms for us and we were directed to the dinning room for our evening meal which was very welcomed after a full days travel.
Our room overlooked the sea, the radiator was a little warm but for elderly guests would have been preferable to being cold.The sound of the sea in the evening and night was very relaxing, the room was clean and tidy as was the bedding as previously stated the decor was tired but more than adequate for our needs as we were only in the room for 4 nights and 3 days.
The view from the dining room is lovely as was the food which was complimented by the friendliness of both front of house and the kitchen staff, bieng both attentive without being intrusive.
The entertainment was of a high standard and enjoyed by guests, staff and entertainers themselves.
Any queries / problems that occured were dealt with quickly and in a professional manner leaving you without being made to feel an inconvenience to them.
We would definately re visit the Seagrove as we felt we were given very good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scousers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chad Hill Hotel
Chad Hill Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing