We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel but bathrooms need looking into!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
grimsby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel but bathrooms need looking into!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Don't expect opulence and room service, this is a very basic hotel and if I do have a complaint it is the bathroom (certainly the one we had)it is in desparate need of a makeover, the shower is old and difficult to get into, the toilet cistern is falling off and the cleaner needs to get hold of some cillet bang with bleach for the tiles. It would be good if the ground floor room 1 & 2 had
bathrooms for the disabled as my husband struggled a bit and no way could he get in and out of the shower.
But what makes it so good to stay in is the staff, the food and the entertainment. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The food would not get any stars from michelin because it is just good well cooked nothing very fancy food and it is great! The owners of the hotel sit in the dining room every day and eat the same meals as their guests which I think is great. There is entertainment everynight in the bar so you don't need to go out, and the drinks are a very reasonable price.
All in all this is a great place to stay at and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: go with travelstyle they use the hotel all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I've been this hotel on varies occations! It is a brilliant hotel!
The staff are very friendly, it's on the sea front. The food is at 5star rating! It is such a lovely hotel! I will definatly go back again on possibly my 7th visit now!
It's an outstanding hotel. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Sea View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

we have just got back from our holiday staying here at the seagrove hotel, it is our first time here even though our relatives have been 9 yrs previous, when i read the reviews i was very worried about taking my 2 young children to the seagrove but i can honestly say i had nothing to worry about at all, yes ok the rooms could do with new carpets and maybe newer furniture but it didnt ruin our holiday, i must say the staff were fantastic i have a little girl who is a very fussy eater but graham (the head chef) would do anything for her, (oh and gotta say thanks for the mushroom soup xx) all the staff at the seagrove do a fantastic job my children already miss louise and richard lots. i would say dont be put off by reports if you want 4,5 star dont go but your not paying 4,5 star prices just go and see for yourself and make your own minds up, i cant wait to go back neither can my children so lastly a big thankyou to the staff at seagrove and see you all next year xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Was quite shocked by some of the reviews but I found the hotel very good in most aspects. OK, improvements in decor could be made but I found my room clean and tidy with superb views of the sea. Staff were helpful and welcoming from the start and the food and service was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family. Well done Seagrove.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djangology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

well i be lying a hostel would be better, the place is a run down old fashioned tip of a place dont get me wrong the staff there are good food is ok but the hotel is a shambles it boasts a 4 star food sign on the entrance door to reception, what a cunning way to get passing trade in but it is certainly not 4 star status in its decor, in my opinion it needs completly overhauled it is still in the 1940 s state, well fellow traverers if you want to no more i will be adding to my stay there so watch this space

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

west midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Thanks to the owner alan and all his staff our party had a very pleasant stay at the seagrove hotel sandown .The food was good.The rooms were clean.The staff were very friendly and very efficient.The entertainment was good and the bar prices exellent.Going back three times next year.Ray Gibbs Travel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c0achman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The outside of the hotel was filthy bird muck all over tab ends alover and filthy windows. Inside just got worse, the whole place smelt of damp, my family were allocated 3 rooms neither of which had a shower one room had an atachable rubber hose which was filthy with mould. We asked the manager to move us to a room where we could have a proper shower, we were given one room which had a caravan shower cubicle in it, the door was hanging off. We each used this as the other alternative would have been to use the baths which did not apeal to us.
Each bedroom had mould on the walls, wallpaper peeling off and rotten wood round the door frames. The beds did not have any mattress protectors on them and were dirty old brown and orange patterned from the 1970`s. The pillows had no protectors on them either. We wrapped the pillows in clean towels and laid on clean towels to try to get some sleep. The valences were torn and the duvet covers were threadbare. The toilet door didnt close properly and the toilet seat was broken. Bedside lamps had no shades on them.
The carpets were thredbare throughout the hotel stuck together with duct tape.

Room Tip: Filthy with old chip wood wallpaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nete1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing