We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of both really” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bit of both really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Had read reviews before trip so were prepared.As we were going on a coach trip we kept a open mind but yes.decor was truely diabolicle!Our room had a balcony overlooking seafront which was suberb so overlooked the fact that the tiny shower was mouldyand there were several used bars of soap lying around(and also another two when we pulled out the bed)Yuck Yuck but Balcony Balcony.Old fashioned tv only had 3 fuzzy channels and duvet and bed had definetly seen better days but we were not planning spending time in the room.When other reveiews said food was good we were quite hopeful but it maybe was good if you were used to hospital food or planned losing a few pounds.Breakfast was one sausage one rasher of bacon and one slimy egg(we opted out of the fried bread and one tinned tomato hopeing to double up on one of the other options but we had to eat a bucket load of toast instead which was in plenty!)The cutlery was so small and cheap and nasty it nearly cut into our palms so actually less on the plate meant less time holding it! There was a sweet wrapper in he corridor on Friday which was still there on Monday but we were encouraged to applaud the staff for their hard work.Who doesn't blooming work hard.!The barman said if he did not take enough money behind the bar he did not get paid-ridicolous remark-trying to make people feel sorry for him!HOWEVER!Apart from lovely balcony the hotel manager was a real character and fabulous entertainer .The people on our coach were all great fun and we got to watch the carnival and fireworks from our BALCONY!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We went to the Seagrove Hotel for 5 days with Travelstyle and didn't know really what to expect as there were so many differing views on the internet. All I can say is take no notice of the negative ones and go and see for yourself. We arrived at 6:30pm and was welcomed by all the staff at the front of the hotel, we were told to go in to the dining room for our evening meal and not to bother about the luggage which was delivered to our rooms while we were eating. Yes ok the decor left a lot to be desired but this was more than made up for by the staff, Dean the manager, Richard our waiter and in fact everyone you came in contact with they were excellent. The food was top quality and plenty of it, a choice of main meals every evening, and the entertainment was also brilliant. So do yourselves a favour and go to The Seagrove and see for yourself, for the money we paid, £99 each you couldn't wish for a better break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzyQ370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

tired decor and needs upgrading but for value for money it is unbeatable. The standard of food is good with plentiful portions. Breakfasts were excellent and well cooked. The service is quick and very friendly. The entertainment each evening was outstanding with good bar prices. If you don't expect the Ritz, you will not be dissapointed. Based on a 4 night stay with breakfast Dinner ferry crossing and superb entertainment, I don't know how they do it at the price we paid. We had a great time!!
John and M

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to the Seagrove Hotel and I expect that you will not be surprised to find, (if you've read any of the reports), that this is a REALLY BUDGET hotel!
Take into account what you get (we went under our own steam):
Ferry crossing, half board, sea front position, entertainment and "Shabby Chic" decor.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and plentiful, (we took extra snacks and another person on our table took some pot noodles just in case the portions were small but all these extras were not touched. We were too full!) , entertainment first class and the bar prices extremely reasonable.
If you come expecting fancy surroundings you'll be unhappy.
If you want a good value stay, fun entertainment, with miles of flat seafront walking and bus stops just outside the front door you'll enjoy yourself (just ignore the faults!).
As for the parking, come after 31 October and parking on the promenade is free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Booked Holiday through Travel style and have to say was a real bargain.....i should have remembered you get what you pay for.
The Isle of Wight is very beautiful and we enjoyed all the attractions, the hotel appeared very rundown from the outside but we went in open mnded.
The reception was closed when we arrived but found someone sat inside who booked us in and directed us to our room, have to say they were quite helpful.
we stayed in room 35 which was a double room with a shared balcony and lovely sea views, after this have little good to say. the room was very outdated, over the bed wardrobes that i havent seen for many years and poor materials for bedding and curtains. the walls were stained with water from previous leaks. the radiators had no controls so it came on with timers so it was pretty cold for first few days and on last day was left on constantly so was too hot. the only window in the room did not open nor close as jammed most of way so wind whistled through constantly.
the bathroom was very compact, lovely long bath but the toilet was loose and cistern away from the wall, we did report this at start of holiday but not addressed.
The food was of good standard and for me there was plenty, my partner thought having hash browns for tea bizarre as traditioinally a breakfast food. the meal times in morning were quite fliexible 8.30-9 but evening meal was 6.30pm and on the dot, people arriving later had to miss their starters as past time.
The bar/.entertainment area was large but actual bar was tiny, the decor was very 70`s and cold. we didnt stay in to see the entertainment but was provided every night.
there was car parking for 4 cars, however lots of debris and old oil cans and boxes took up space and kerb was very high
The staff did their best to be polite and helpful and were clearly working hard whilst they were there despite having plenty of tasks to do.
i cant say i would visit the seagrove again but isle of wight is a definite.

Room Tip: Just remember you get what you pay for and apparently the rooms on top floors are in better conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnbanf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Don't expect opulence and room service, this is a very basic hotel and if I do have a complaint it is the bathroom (certainly the one we had)it is in desparate need of a makeover, the shower is old and difficult to get into, the toilet cistern is falling off and the cleaner needs to get hold of some cillet bang with bleach for the tiles. It would be good if the ground floor room 1 & 2 had
bathrooms for the disabled as my husband struggled a bit and no way could he get in and out of the shower.
But what makes it so good to stay in is the staff, the food and the entertainment. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The food would not get any stars from michelin because it is just good well cooked nothing very fancy food and it is great! The owners of the hotel sit in the dining room every day and eat the same meals as their guests which I think is great. There is entertainment everynight in the bar so you don't need to go out, and the drinks are a very reasonable price.
All in all this is a great place to stay at and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: go with travelstyle they use the hotel all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I've been this hotel on varies occations! It is a brilliant hotel!
The staff are very friendly, it's on the sea front. The food is at 5star rating! It is such a lovely hotel! I will definatly go back again on possibly my 7th visit now!
It's an outstanding hotel. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Sea View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing