We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Seagrove (HELL) Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
wigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Seagrove (HELL) Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from this dump.The place is filthy dirty and needs to be closed down for a complete refurbishing.My wife and myself have got FOOD POISONING.There were no paper towels in the toilets, the mens toilet in the bar area was blocked.The rubbish was piled high outside on the front of the hotel,

Room Tip: if you want a good room go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabbieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

How dare the directors of Travelstyle send their customers to seagrove, they want to go and spend a few nights there and see what it is really like the pits. The rooms were very dirty, in 4 days we had 1 set of towels no change of bedding, no television just dirty throughout,
The isle of wight is a beautiful island what we saw of it, if you complain to travelstyle you get no response only thing they do is send you a 10 pound voucher for your next trip with them,
no help at all, but i think they have reached the pits with this hotel, the other hotels i have been to with Travelstyle are not 4* but were not bad anyway thats my reveiw, thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We didnt expect 4 * because of the price that we paid but the whole of the hotel is in such bad disrepair . We had no working extractor fan in our bathroom, also the shower didnt work properly because of lack of water pressure one minute scalding hot and then freezing cold, also our toilet seat was broken, there was mould growing in shower tray , the window catches were hanging off also curtains hanging of rail due to lack of hooks, there was a television but no free view box so it didnt work plus other bits such as electric sockets not working and hanging off the wall,and smoke alarm hanging off ceiling.,We sat with 2 couples who had no running hot water in their bathrooms , there was chaos in the dining room every meal time through lack of staff. It is certainly one hotel that we will never visit again, we may have had a cheap holiday but it was a holiday from hell.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

we have just got back from a 4 day break which we booked through travel style coach tours and when we pulled up to this hotel my heart sank, then when we got inside I felt even worse, the paper was falling of the walls in our room the on suite was a mix match with a blue bath and champagne toilet and basin, there was no towels,the tv didnt work as they hadnt got a pre view box for the didgital to work,had to ask for extra pillow as the 2 on the bed was at flat, the room was freezing when we arrived as the window was left open, we had to get them to close the little window as it was stuck open and we couldnt budge it, the whole hotel was dirty and the food wasnt great either I will never stop in this hotel again and I think travel style want to be ashamed takeing money of people and dumping them in this hotel.

Room Tip: sea few rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank sanlen1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have just returned from the Seagrove Hotel, Sandown. I read the reviews before going and i was nervous to say the least. I must say i had a fabulous week. i travelled with Travelstyle and don't know how they can do it for the money. Yes the Hotel is very tired and needs a complete refurb, like a lot of other hotels on our seafronts. The entertainment was brilliant, the drinks cheap, the meals were fine, no problems. I am a vegetarian and had no problem with my food. The waiters and waitresses, cook etc worked really hard and was more than accommodating. I have never seen staff working so fast and efficiently. The beds and bedding had seen better days but externally it was clean, there was always plenty of coffee and milk for our drinks. I was very pleased overall, yes people were complaining, but you get what you pay for, if you want 5 star pay for it, if you want fun and a brilliant week for not a lot of money, go for it. The manager did a great Elvis tribute. Thank you Seagrove and travelstyle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

As this trip was cheap and cheerful we had no room to moan,ok it was a little tired carpet wise and stuff.but it was clean bedding and it wanted a new bathroom suite but it was clean.We liked the breakfast and the evening meal. Entertainment was spot on we had a good laugh.Plus we met some great folks.That what makes your holiday not looking if the carpets frayed or not...........LIFE IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT. :)))

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peabrain123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

ROOM 58, Avoid this room, poor standard of accomodation even for £99. We have never in our lives stayed in a room so poorly maintained. It has a sea view but the glazed units have so much condensation in them that its impossible to see outside. The bedding was too small for the bed. The shower has mold in the corners of the tray. The shower head kept falling off its rail. The water had to be run for 5min before it went clear the 1st time we used it, ok after that. The carpet was badly worn & the wallpaper so shabby looking. All the paintwork is grubby and dusty & the ceiling looks as if its going to fall down due to all the repairs its had. Travelstyle need to have a rethink about this hotel using this room for its customers as its now put us off travelling with Travelstyle, if this is their standard. It was our first visit to the Isle of Wight which is a lovely place. The excursions where very good. Food ok, drink prices very reasonable & entertainment ok. We heard of other guests having similar problems but also spoke to people who have returned on numerous occasions with nothing bad to say about the hotel. If your thinking of staying at this hotel be prepared for the worst. ROOM 58

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing