We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norovirus Hell”
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Please do not go to this Hotel as it is a disgusting place, I didn't think there where Hotels as bad as this one. We were in the attic a climb of 32 steps and it was a cowboy builder's nightmare. The only plus side was that the staff were all friendly. We developed the Nirovirus while there and have been very ill for 3 days, and did report it to the office.

Room Tip: Don't go.!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithStour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Seagrove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Please, don't even think about it. These poor reviews are just the tip of the iceberg for this hole!
We went in 2011 and vowed, NEVER AGAIN! however when we booked a "Mystery Tour" with Travelstyle we were horrified to find out we were going there again! A downright dirty disgrace.
We all ended up with food poisoning as did half of the guests staying there. The local supermarkets even ran out of Imodium!
The used towels in the bathroom were hung back up for you to use again.
Rubbish was piled up outside, next to the kitchen,
The Isle of Wight is a beautiful place but please consider booking elsewhere.
We will NOT be booking with Travelstyle or staying at The Seagrove Hotel ever again!

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharonNPaul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steatgrove, Manager at Seagrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

This can be known as slander 108 guests stayed at the hotel during the outcbreak of NUROVIRUS as doctors,hospitals, and environmental health have identified it as. the air born bug is all over the uk and so this remark is completly unjustified. the other remarks such as some rooms do need refurbishing but as for the staff and food we grade ourselves as excellent. we go out on a limb to make sure all guests have a great holiday and its funny how only 8 guests were ill and none of the staff have fell ill with it.
The remarks on the co op running out of tablets shows you that other people and hotels are suffering with it. there is no blame and if there are any other slanderous remarks we as a hotel can take action just look at the news and read the papers.
It would be nice for the 80% of guests that leave having a great holiday commented and not just the wingy ones.as some guests go out of their way to moan and cheap holidays are not the ritz!
the rooms are cleaned and checked and we have had authorities invited out who cleared us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Never expected much for the cost but believe me you will get a better hotel in downtown Cairo.
I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A RUNDOWN HOVEL in my life .
Floorboards loose windows dont open, shower had nowhere to hang wallpaper hanging off the walls bedroom furniture literally falling apart, i could honestly go on all day with the bad things.
If a hotel inspector pays a visit he would close it down on the spot.
Travelstyle you should be ashamed of yourselves.


Good point : the staff were all great making the best out of a very very poor Hotel setup

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank calypso45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Don't even go there! (don't bring small children- cos of the hyigene) cos the seagrove hotel was absoluety hell, the bedroom were smell (yuck) - dust , & bathroom -OMG!!.... the foods were awful. my friend was ill cos of the dump dreadful place. Everything need to be update
NEVER NEVER GO THERE AGAIN! Glad to be get out of it.....
It's a pity the staffs were friendly & helpful

Room Tip: Don't go there!
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Got back yesterday after 5 days supersaver holiday with travelstyle didnt expect a lot but would have expected better the reviews on here are totally True , first impression when we pulled up outside was what a dump and once inside it certainly was, the dining room was a total disaster 100 people in a small room and only 3 waitresses half the time they dropped food all over food isnt great either, the hotel doesnt seem to have a cleaner the reception isnt open very much the entertainment is the best feature in the hotel our room was a little dated furniture but it was clean apart from broken catches on window and pigeons on window sill in a morning this hotel was fined in 2010 for bad hygeine and looks like its heading that way now, this hotel doesnt know what a lift is , its all stairs , and they dont change the towels regular if you need any more info please get in touch

Room Tip: If you want a good room ring the hotel first or even better dont go
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theresastaniland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Opinioins seem to vary between Excellent and Terrible but they can't both be right! We found it unacceptable in this day and age, whatever the cost, that coach companies such as Travelstyle continue to use such hotels as it reflects on them at the end of the day.
The food was adequate but for this to be described as "5-star" indicates just how much out of touch some travellers are. The waiting staff worked very hard but they needed double the numbers they had to cope adequately.
The rooms were poorly maintained and didn't need a fortune spending on them to make them more user-friendly, just a good handyman.
I really despair for the people who are so delighted with this hotel that they will visit again and again.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennisgee2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This place is old and worn and after reading the reviews I thought I wouldn't mind it. But after stopping there for 3 nights on a trip I couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendytopliss84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Caprera Hotel
Caprera Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandhill Hotel
Sandhill Hotel
#19 of 29 in Sandown
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing