We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seagrove to esplenade sandown i o w”
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“seagrove to esplenade sandown i o w”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

just returned from a holiday in sandown .
was glad to see that the old sea grove hotel is at the moment closed and under going major refurbishment..
i understand that the hotel now has new owners.,,
the hotel has been renamed the esplenade.
i did not get to look inside but the work on the outside has made a huge difference and has been done to a very high standard..
i will keep my eyes open for when the reopening takes place and look out for the first reviews on trip advisor ,,,an may be even plan a return visit

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Well the seagrove had issues but it was a great place to go on holiday.the staff were great and the whole atmosphere had you returning year after year.
Now the Esplanade is down right crap. The owner is rude and abrupt and the staff are all on edge because of her temperment towards them.
The hotel has new floors and walls moved but the rooms are basic with stained bedding that i wouldnt put a dog in and stained matresses.
The whole place needs shutting. There is no entertainment and the atmosphere has gone. The food ok but really needs closing and turning into a elderly persons retirement home as the smells are horific and Elizabeth the owner has no cares for anyone even her disabled partner just left to his own devises.
A disgrace to man kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FRED P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Co, Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Seagrove Hotel on the 3rd July 2012 travelled with Stanley travel.
What a dump worst place we have ever been in, all the reviews about this place being filthy, worn out, and stuffy are true, even the week we spent there the food was rubbish, god I could go on and on about this tip, BUT AND THEIR IS A BUT , I pity you if you are going within the next month or so, but {yes another but} When we moved out on the 14th July workmen were already in renovating this hotel, entrance and the dining room had new floors, all beds and furniture was thrown outside plus the carpets, and they were skimming bedrooms, The new owner an oriental woman Elizabeth is her name is a real nice person, and if she gets some trained staff, and chef, and I am sure she will you will be going to a good hotel with a new name,
THE ESPLANADE HOTEL, this is the one to look for now, . But work is ongoing till xmas, so the workmen told us, enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: At this point of time all rooms at this hotel are been refurbished throughout, but ground floors loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BILLYCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

i sometimes pop back to trip advisor just to check see if things have improved at the seagrove.
but just reading recent reviews there has been no improvement....why travelstyle and other coach holiday companies still use this place is beyond me ;..
on our visit i think 80% of people on our coach said never again.,
but i see a little loyalty coming from the manager now and again.
BUT? does he think that all the reviews are inaccurate..
COME ON THEY CANT ALL BE WRONG,,,/?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in march had wonderful weather and a fantastic time here at the seagrove already booked my holiday from work so does anyone know if travel style are going back to the seagrove in september

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

we stayed here last August Bank holiday.. this year we are returning booking 25 rooms. yes its dated. BUT value for money. the beds and bathrooms were clean. The staff were fabulous. They made us feel more like friends. The views are great. we all had a great stay.

Room Tip: pleny rooms with a view.. location fantastic for the day and eve..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dinks65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

stayed at the seagrove many times and while it is possible to find faults i have found it to be friendly comfortable and great value for money.If you require top quality accomadation stay in one of the more expensive places.If however you want cheap and cheerfull digs with good food great entertainment friendly staff and cheap bar prices the Seagrove ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chad Hill Hotel
Chad Hill Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sandown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing