We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 8 August 2010

my wife and myself stayed at the seagrove the staff where freindly meals good we will return ok it was basic but I believe if you had any problems they where sorted out any way we enjoyed it and made some good friends thanks all staff at seagrove

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wulfencrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

Needs a lot of work painting etc and sack the cleaner shes not doing her job. Worse hotel ever stopped in, in 40 years of traveling .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillott555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

just had a week at this hotel what a dump. we renamed it duck tape lodge, which was holding the place together.
meals were just awful, cold, all tasted the same, bacon only showed to the pan,i could go on & on
wouldnt go there again if they paid us
sink in the bathroom cracked, enamel off the bath, carpets worn out, wall paper hanging off the walls,beds wafer thin & so uncomfortable.
looks just like a hostel for the down & outs

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank holidays65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Absolute rubbish, the state of rooms were unsatisfactory, felt dirty needs a makeover.
The staff were not very nice except for the waiter in the restaurant, he was good to us, we were dissapointed more because we brought along my cousin and her husband.
I have complained to the holiday company.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farfar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The hotel is dirty ,the decor tired and dirty. Couldnt sleep the bed was lumpy and suspect,yuk! The bathroom was foul, and my foot went through the floor in there. Not a nice experience at all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tignlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Very run down in need of MAJOR makeover. Rooms not to clean furniture falling apart in bedroom, carpets dirty and very worn. Staff did their best. Food basic but well cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skier12Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We recently had a Monday to Friday stay at the Seagrove which included bed, breakfast and evening meal. We had a lovely room with a fantastic sea view, whilst the room was basic it was clean, the bed was comfortable, tea/coffee etc. was kept well stocked each day, bin emptied, towels changed. The food was good, the service in the dining room was excellent , there was a good bar with excellent service and good entertainment every night, a comfortable T.V. lounge plus another comfortable seating area in the foyer, the staff were brilliant, really friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We paid £139 each which included coach travel from our local area plus ferry and whilst the hotel is not the Ritz to us it certainly represented excellent value for money and we would definately stay there again.
We have read various negative comments about this hotel, we can only speak from our own experience but as to the comments about duck tape on the carpet where the stair risers are - as far as we can see this has been done purely for safety reasons to highlight steps, stairs, etc.
To conclude - if you want a good value for money place to stay with lovely friendly staff etc. then we highly recommend the Seaview.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarnoldswickMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing