We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

just got back from seagrove hotel had a really good time luggage was taken to the room on arrival and back down upon leaving travelled with travel style on a mystery holiday notified only about five days before going where we were staying had trips two days as well, staff brill nothing too much trouble, entertainment was ok dean does a mean elvis, im a picky eater but was able to eat something from every meal, rooms were basic in need of refurbishing but bed was comfy and clean, for what we paid did not expect the ritz but were ok with it all, would go again hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Some of the reviews on here disturbed us, but after checking with the tour operator we went ahead with the holiday. We were very pleased with the Seagrove and had a very enjoyable holiday. It is in an excellent situation, our room had a beautiful seaview. The bedroom was quiet and warm and the bed really comfortable and clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful and there was a real welcoming feel to this hotel. It even has it's own swimming pool. We had good plain satisfying food and never left the table less than full. Some of the decor was tired and needed refreshing in places and some of the bedroom furniture was shabby, but we were not paying 4 star prices. The hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_malpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralengland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

we enjoyed our stay. staff very welcoming and helpful. nice choice of food cooked and presented well .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappywanderernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is my first ever review. I tend to believe that more people write reviews to complain, than to praise, so I didn't believe the bad reviews I read before I went. I now know that none of them were exaggerated. For 15 years, I've travelled with Travelstyle, on between one and four holidays each year, and this is, by a long way, the worst hotel they have ever put me in! The room was tiny, and dingy. Black mould in nooks and crannies. Very poorly decorated by a rank amateur.Heating didn't work and complaints were ignored (sat in my room shivering). TV had interference which they said was taxis stopped outside (when there were no taxis). Interference was from a cooling unit outside window. Complaint ignored. Usual pathetic entertainment., but what do you expect for the price. Food was reasonable (salads were really good), but I didn't like being called "Mate" by the young waiters. Sea view from back of hotel was lovely, but I will not ever visit this hotel again, unless it's burnt down and rebuilt. Even local shopkeepers made negative comments about it. I also will not be using Travelstyle again. Their coach organisation was abysmal.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevedes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed at the seagrove in august 2010. we go every year, staff are really friendly. nothing is ever to much trouble for them. food is very good. good choice of menu. if u ask for anything extra they will always try there best to get it for you. Myself and my partner are going again in november ,turkey and tinsel, never been on one of these before. hotel in need of a upgrade. but its very clean, and we alway have a really good room. swimming pool good, last time we were there they were having a lot of problems with it, when they got it sorted we enjoyed using the pool, only one problem turn the heating up on it PLEASE...for a cheep holiday we really enjoy it . thanks seagrove and all your lovely staff for making our holiday really enjoyable. well done

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULES6693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just returned from a weekend away, staying at the seagrove hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we were given a sea-facing room with a balcony - what a pleasure. We had more than ample storage space and a lovely big bath. The room was clean and there was more than enough tea and coffee in the room at all times.

Yes, there is an issue with the hotel looking tired and it needs lots of loving care and of course touching up and small repairs but for what we paid for the entire weekend - it was a bargain, as always.

Passengers must put these coach trips into the true context for what they are - cheap and cheerful. If you want to stay in the Hilton with 5 course meals and be waited on day and night, then don't use them. We often travel with Travelstyle and although some of the rooms we have stayed in were lacking in the 5 star treatment, it serves its purpose and it most definitely suits our pockets and budgets.

These holidays suit budget-strapped people and they provide us with a proper break - you sit back, relax and the drivers do all the hard work. You arrive at your hotel, your meal is ready for you - you get what you pay for. Personally, it it wasn't for Travelstyle holidays then we would not be able to take these little weekend breaks. This is what's important. If we never had this option then we'd have no holidays.

Don't knock Travelstyle and their choices of hotels and accomodation. They give you a great holiday for a budget price. I'll keep using them as long as they are in business. I have yet to have one bad holiday with them - Well done Travelstyle and Many thanks for making it possible for many budget-stricken families to have a break!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waggieraggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

the hotel was in need of some TLC but the staff made up for this they made you feel really welcome the the food was good and plenty full. we went with travelstyle and maybe they should check out some of the hotels they put there guests inthem, we had a a nine hour journey but our driver was freindly and helpful, if they brought the hotel up to standards with the staff they have they could do very well

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leabooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing