We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Investment is needed to bring this hotel up to scratch!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Swansea
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Investment is needed to bring this hotel up to scratch!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Much of what we found on our 5 day holiday has already been said.
The location, even in November and rain, is excellent, opposite the sea and a block from the shops. The staff are pleasant and giving us a cup of tea on our arrival was appreciated. John, who served us couldn't have been more attentive in the restaurant, BUT, the majority of us would not go there again.
Everything in the hotel is tired, including the decorations. The food is basic, (frozen veg. and burnt pots for our 'Christmas meal') Santa never came, though we were given a tiny diary each!
The bathroom needed a contortionist to get on and off the 'loo and the door to be left open to use the wash basin.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MianCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I had the unfortunate pleasure of staying here 10th November 2012, for a ladies festival. I am not too sure where to start if I'm honest. Whilst the room did have a rather nice sea view, the bed was a wooden block, with a very old and flimsy matress, I may as well have slept directly on the floor for all the comfort it provided. The TV's did not work becuase of bad signal. The shower leaked everywhere, and whilst it might appear to be an ingenious idea that whilst you are sat on the toilet, you can rest your head on the closed door to the bathroom - in reality meant you could not even dry yourself in the 'ensuite'. The food was disgusting. Whilst the Friday night meal was not pre-ordered, there were choices, however, out table had every choice on the menu and all were inedible. Since when has 4 potato wedges from 'Iceland' been a suitable and filling starter for a hotel? The soup was pretty much water with a few carrots thrown in good measure.... not sure what flavour it was supposed to me.....needless to say if that was the start of the meal, it didn't get much better - dry chicken, a haddock tail, apple crumble with no apple in it.

The worst things about the weekend wasn't actually the food, it was the staff. When about to sit down, we find a bucket full of dirty, wheich then spills all over my mother, the table, the floor, you expect the staff to run around cleaning it up and apologising profusely? To my horror, the response we got from the waitress, was that she didn't leave it there and it was in fact 'Sean' to blame and walked off! Jesus, whats happened to customer service? the service throughout the entire weekend was appauling, there were clear training issues, and some common sense wouldn't have gone a miss......

Needless to say I duely completed my feedback form left in the room, have emailed them regarding this 'experience', and hope to god they do not offfer me a free weekend there as compensation!

If you want a romantic weekend away, with good food, ambience and good service - stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Venessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Staff very frendly
Food very good
Good location next to the pier with sea view
High st shopping behind the hotel
Rooms are clean and warm
Hotel is clean through out








**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel and thought that the building and food were an absolute disgrace! The food had quite clearly been recoiled from previous meals and quite frankly I would not be surprised if it had been says old. The veg was past the quality it should be used and breakfast on both days was stone cold! We had water coming through the walls and a gale blew through the old doors which I would like to add we had to wedge close with a broom from the open cleaning store on the stairs ( as it contained cleaning chemicals this is a complete disregard for health and safety. The waiters did an excellent job although it was clear they did not have any experience with "fine dining". My bed was broken and was screwed together with screws too long and were poking out. This is such a shame for the staff who quite clearly are fighting a losing battle. The staff did an excellent job and I think if it was not for them I would have left. They also deserve better!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

On the weekend of 26th / 28th October I attended a wonderful chartity weekend with 111 other guests at the Carlton Hotel, Sandown and EVERYTHING as far as I am concerned was fantastic. I can honestly say at present, as far as I know not one of our party has any serious complaint and we consisted of persons of all ages, from teenagers to guests well into their eighties.Sophie and her staff did everything to make our stay an absolute pleasure, she and her staff are such hard workers. As for the food the ten persons on our table had no complaints what-soever and were most surprised to have such a choice for each course, followed by an excellent cheeseboard. The rooms were spotlessly clean with lovely sea views. I cannot understand the latest bad review. For the price paid which includes the ferry you can't expect the Savoy or Claridges Hotel. Chuckie 4636

Room Tip: Choose a sea room so to awake to the Sun Rise & the Sound of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckie4636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Carlton Hotel with a large party of family and close friends.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the sea front close to the high street and next to the pier.

The staff were both friendly and fun, taking part in our Halloween frolics on the Friday night and our formal evening on Saturday night.

The rooms were both clean, tidy and spacous with lovely views of the beach at sun rise.

The food was nicely presented and well cooked, with a nice menu which catered for all.

Finally, if you want a cheap, fun, reliable, friendly hotel at a price that's right then ignore all those reviews that expect "Rolls Royce service for Robin Reliant prices" and head for the Carlton Hotel........

Well done Sophie (manageress) and the rest of the staff, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

rooms that basil fawlty would be proud of in 1977.if your on a £99 coach holiday that seems too good to be true beware.you know why the hotel takes on average £15 per person per day including breakfast and evening meal.please please dont book the famous 5 day hols at bargain prices as you will have to eat out due to peasant food at hotel. hospitals barely get £1.51 for patients, the guests at the Carlton must surely get 90p.SAYS IT ALL..Please Know the staff are fighting a losing battle with the owners that don,t give a damn, but they do their best in evil owner management.

Room Tip: dont have a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cashman61068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing