We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our group stay”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our group stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

our stay at the carlton hotel from 21st - 25th of march 2013 was back to a surperb standard in every aspect of a holiday they were the most efficent staff & help recieved good luck in all the work that has been done to get this standard back up cant wait till our visit 2014

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leglesshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have been working extremely hard over the past 12 months. We look forward to welcoming you once again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just returned from the Carlton and I found it exellent value.The staff are very pleasant and friendly.The food was varied and very good.Our room was small and we had poor reception on television but we didn't go away to sit in room or watch tele.Overall we had a good time in a clean hotel. I would definitly go back.The holiday was with David urquhart and the whole package was good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review left on Trip Advisor. We have a very good team that all work well together and enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huttoft alford lincs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

my wife and i went on a coach holiday to the carlton hotel,at the end of january this year.the room we had ,had a sea view.the hotel is a bit tired, but never the less, it is very clean, and the staff are very friendly and hard working..the food was also good.we really enjoyed our five day stay.we went with JUST GO HOLIDAYS,we would go again.we read some negative reviews before we went,for what we paid it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: try and get a sea view. as the hotel is right on the beach front....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to place this review. All the staff and Management work very hard to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay with us.
We do have a redecoration program in place and are working hard to ensure that all bedrooms are bought up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Before going on a 4night out-of season coach holiday to the Carlton I consulted trip adviser and was prepared for the worst. The majority of comments I read were misleading to say the least. Perhaps the hotel has had a recent makeover, in which case your website needs a spring clean! It was amazing value, friendly, clean, cheerful and well appointed.The food- "home cooking" was very good, generous quantities, efficiently served and better than I have had recently in 'smart' hotels.
A 'budget' hotel certainly, but I could not fault it apart from a rather chilly dining room - it was after all a very cold February!

Room Tip: As an elderly solo traveller I was grateful for a twin room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for posting a review - this is a problem that we face with prospective clients checking on-line reviews rather than "taking the plunge". As you are aware, we are a large coaching hotel and during a year have over 40,000 guests visit our hotel. We do not advertise the hotel and rely on repeat business and word of mouth.
The staff and Management work extremely hard to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay and are always on available to lend a hand if required.
I am very pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

we have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Carlton and couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and efficient at all times, our room on the 1st floor with a seaview was spotless - the pillows were a tad on the 'firm' side though. The meals were good. We wouldn't hesitate about booking again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights with a coach tour, as 1 of our 2 honeymoons. On arrival it was freezing at the hotel, it was so cold people requested heaters and extra blankets for the rooms. However it was much warmer in the building the following day and for the rest of our stay. Tuesday was great and Wednesday saw another incident in the dining hall. The young female waitress, don't know her name she didn't have a name tag, was serving at a fast pace, sometimes carrying over 6plates of food to the table. She passed my wife and spilled fish sauce over her top, handbag, chair and on the floor, she didn't know what she had done until we pointed out to her, she gave what was a patronising apology. Obviously the hotel hasn't got an incident book as no one approached us, what was worrying it could have been a hot drunk. I viewed the above on the satisfaction form. 2 days later still no contact from the hotel. So dont bother completing the form. Obviously the staff training needs updating and more intense.
Although the restaurant incident put a damper on the holiday, it is clean, most of the staff experienced in what they do, nice food, if it stays on the plate to the table, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymro35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

after staying 4 nights which was booked with a coach company i think some of the reviews are a little harsh.

all the staff were friendly and catered for all our needs. Food was hot well presented and for the price we paid i dont think it was bad value, service was always quick and effienct. it may be a bit dated but it was clean had no unpleasant smells rooms were small but again for the price they were comfotable.

if you are on a coach tour you could and will do a lot worse than stay at this hotel i would return on a short break budget hotel. one negative i think they should have a credit card facillity at the bar i did run low on cash so they lost a couple of rounds of drinks

Wel done to the owners and staff for making this a pleasant short break

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing