We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" You get what you pay for"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" You get what you pay for"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came back yesterday from a 5 night break at The Carlton. We had a very nice time and the weather was with us, we met some very nice people on the same tour. We went on 2 of the 3 excursions organised by our tour opearator and enjoyed them, especially Osbourne House. Our hotel room was adequate for the 2 of us, it was clean, had a balcony with sea view which was a bonus. The food was varied with a roast meat choice every night also a vegetarian selection or fish choice, the restaurant we were served in was The "Culver" and was a little cramped. If there are 2 of you do try to get a table for 2 on the first night, we didnt and had to share, but being friendly people we got on fine with the 2 ladies on our table (you keep the same table all week). Jade and charlottle (our waitresses) worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff at The Carlton are extremely pleaasant and helpful. We enjoyed a few drinks and some games of bingo evenings and all in all had a good time, Thanks to all at The Carlton xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just got back from staying at the carlton hotel in sandown isle of wight with majestic coach tours, was a lovely week stay, very relaxing atmosphere all staff polite and friendly, meal time was a pleasure to be greeted with happy staff nothing was to much for them, they were very busy but still had time to make sure our needs were met, our waiter Darren was brilliant always remembered who wanted what and there was seven of us, well done Darren. Rooms were clean and tidy, what you exspect it to be ,bathroom needs up grading ie, new bath/showers but it was cleaned daily, i had a single room at the back of hotel but it was ok looked out onto a back lane that lead to the town, very quiet, rest of my famly had sea views, rooms about the same just with a balcony to sit out and watch and enjoy the views. beds were ok mine was a double was firm but once got used to it was ok. would i go back to this hotel Yes i would ..We were out each day to different places not to long of journeys no more than 40min. A nice walk along sea front . At far end there is a zoo we walked there along the sea front took us about 40 mins to get there, nice just to take your time. all in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coseytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 126, twin bedded although a double had been booked. Some fittings missing on the doors. Only 2 electric sockets and to use both you need to unplug the tv. The best feature was the large balcony complete with chairs that look out over Sandown beach, sea and the pier. Close to the High Street and public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my second visit to the Carlton Hotel & will certainly be staying there again.
As a regular visitor to the I.O.W I have stayed in several hotels in different locations and this is by far my favourite hotel.
Unfortunately I had to cancel one of my rooms at short notice & the lady on reception could not have been more helpful.
The rooms are clean & the views from the balconys are unrivaled.
Sure the bathrooms are on the small side but for these prices you can't complain.
Would like to thank the lady on reception again for all her help, & the young barman who always had a smile on his face.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theflores43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a good week stay. Good hotel right on sea front by pier. Room nice, clean and comfortable. Food good, had a good choice for each course and service quick and efficient in dining room. All staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee making facilities extra tea, coffee and milk/cream available for free if needed

Room Tip: try to get room on front for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
What a lovely review. Our staff work really well together and are all friends, which I think shows as we work. I hope you are able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This place certainly gives the lie to the old adage that the Brits don't do service jobs well. The service is uniformly efficient, friendly, everything you could wish for. The hotel itself is another matter entirely. Get as good a room as you can, and even then don't expect the shower to work, or the TV to give decent reception, or the bed to be comfy. The pillows are flat and hard, the blankets scratchy. The hospitality tray consists of two teas, two coffees, nothing else - bring your own biscuits and speciality teas. Also bring your own toiletries, they provide two small bars of soap - and no shower cap even though the showers are old fixed head affairs that will soak your hairdo. The food is good and varied, although the meal times are very restricted - breakfast at 8.30 or not at all! Still, excellent position and great staff, you can't have everything.

Room Tip: Second floor is best. 1st floor is too noisy, and 3rd floor too far - there is only one lift. Sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berrybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

About 60 of us arrived at once but we were soon in our room with help with our suitcases. Excellent sea-view room with balcony. Suspect it is well worth paying the extra for a sea view. Room was clean and comfortable. Best location in Sandown right opposite the beach.
The food was good but lacked a little imagination, but this was made up for by the friendly and efficient service. It all depends on your expectations really. If you were expecting a 5 star hotel you would be disappointed, but for the price the service was excellent.

Room Tip: First or second floor sea view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay at The Carlton Hotel, Sandown and to you entertaining is with your wonderful singing - pity there was not more time.

Hopefully you will be back for another tour in the near future and you will be able to put a concert on at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing