We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have just come back from the Carlton hotel, we had a 3 night break. The hotel was lovely ,staff were brilliant, the food was really nice you get 3 choices every night served really quickly. We had the best steak and potato pie I have ever tasted. Entertainment every night. You must get a balcony room as the view was amazing. If I had to say something against this hotel, I have just had my 45th birthday and I felt like a teenager next to the other guests, so if you are past retirement age you wont feel out of place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived at the Hotel which I booked and paid extra for a balcony and Sea View. All the public areas have been upgraded and it looked lovely when we walked in. We did have a problem parking our car even though I have a Disabled Badge. We were given Room 109 a room with a Sea View and Balcony. After looking around the room, it was dirty. There was mould all around the patio window and the catch was broken and it was very difficult to open it. I looked in the drawers and they had a lot of grit (probably sand from a previous occupant). I went into the bathroom and the sealant was broken around the toilet and there were was a horrible wee stain all around the bottom of the toilet. I found long black hairs in the sink. We went to reception and I told Sophie (as I now know her name) and she said she had given us a room with a walk in shower, which is what I requested. I reminded her that I had told her that I was a clean freak and as long as a room was clean, even if it was a bit dated, I would be happy. She did not offer to change our room at that point. I refused to unpack and my husband and I sat in the bar having a drink. I was very upset as I had been looking forward to this mini break and I started to cry. A young lady came over to us and said she would show us another room and would move us if we liked the room. We were then put in Room 229. The room was much cleaner, the bathroom looked as though it had been retiled and the flooring looked new. I felt much happier so we accepted the room and I unpacked. This room had a bath with a shower over it. The shower was fixed, not one you could take down and wash your hair. It worked from the bath taps. That night I tried to take a shower and could not regulate the water, it was cold and I had to have a very quick shower and wash my hair. It was not pleasant. We went to bed that night to find the mattress very lumpy and very uncomfortable. I did not complain again at reception as I did not want them to think that all I did was moan. We were booked in to stay for three nights but we left after only two as I was in absolute agony. All the Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend if you book into this hotel that you ask for a room that has been refurbished as the old rooms are not very nice. Also although there was a television in the room we could only get one channel. All the rest said NO SIGNAL. We were coming back to our room on the first night and a Gentleman asked us what we thought of the Hotel. I told him I was not particularly happy with the room, but the other areas were very good. He said there had been 18 in their party and that 14 had asked to have their rooms changed. He was happy with the room he was eventually given but he had to pay extra. On the second evening when we were waiting for the lift, I heard another gentleman who was coming from the third floor compaining that there was no television reception and that he had reported it to Reception the day before and they had said they would sort it out. When I told Reception that we had no signal I had been told that they knew there was a problem and did not know when it would get sorted out. As it seems I was not the only one to be unhappy, I have decided to write this review. I would not visit the Hotel again. My husband and I went on our own and the Hotel seem to cater mostly for Coach Parties with the elderly and disabled. There is only ONE LIFT in a Hotel that has three floors and around 300 hundred rooms. You can imagine at times, you have to wait a long time for the lift to come and as only four were allowed in the lift at a time as it is very small, it is not really convenient if you are disabled as you spend a long time waiting for the lift. We were supposed to be going to this Hotel on a Turkey and Tinsle Trip in a coach party in early December, I have cancelled our booking with the lady who was organising the trip and will loose £100 deposit I have paid but I could not stay in this Hotel again.
I must emphasise that ALL THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY, but that does not help if you have a room that you find uncomfortable and have things that you expect to work properly as you have paid for a room with a TV, to find that you don't get it. There is no clock or telephone in the rooms either. For the money we paid I feel it was rather too basic for the price we paid. I know if you go to this Hotel in a Coach Party it does not cost as much as we had to pay as individual visitors and feel they don't care if they loose individual custom as their bread and butter seems to be coach parties. There is entertainment each evening which was nice to find but overall our stay was not a success. I will Add that the food was acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room witha sea view as the view is excellent. If you go with a Coach Trip, if...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came back yesterday from a 5 night break at The Carlton. We had a very nice time and the weather was with us, we met some very nice people on the same tour. We went on 2 of the 3 excursions organised by our tour opearator and enjoyed them, especially Osbourne House. Our hotel room was adequate for the 2 of us, it was clean, had a balcony with sea view which was a bonus. The food was varied with a roast meat choice every night also a vegetarian selection or fish choice, the restaurant we were served in was The "Culver" and was a little cramped. If there are 2 of you do try to get a table for 2 on the first night, we didnt and had to share, but being friendly people we got on fine with the 2 ladies on our table (you keep the same table all week). Jade and charlottle (our waitresses) worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff at The Carlton are extremely pleaasant and helpful. We enjoyed a few drinks and some games of bingo evenings and all in all had a good time, Thanks to all at The Carlton xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just got back from staying at the carlton hotel in sandown isle of wight with majestic coach tours, was a lovely week stay, very relaxing atmosphere all staff polite and friendly, meal time was a pleasure to be greeted with happy staff nothing was to much for them, they were very busy but still had time to make sure our needs were met, our waiter Darren was brilliant always remembered who wanted what and there was seven of us, well done Darren. Rooms were clean and tidy, what you exspect it to be ,bathroom needs up grading ie, new bath/showers but it was cleaned daily, i had a single room at the back of hotel but it was ok looked out onto a back lane that lead to the town, very quiet, rest of my famly had sea views, rooms about the same just with a balcony to sit out and watch and enjoy the views. beds were ok mine was a double was firm but once got used to it was ok. would i go back to this hotel Yes i would ..We were out each day to different places not to long of journeys no more than 40min. A nice walk along sea front . At far end there is a zoo we walked there along the sea front took us about 40 mins to get there, nice just to take your time. all in all a good holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coseytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 126, twin bedded although a double had been booked. Some fittings missing on the doors. Only 2 electric sockets and to use both you need to unplug the tv. The best feature was the large balcony complete with chairs that look out over Sandown beach, sea and the pier. Close to the High Street and public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my second visit to the Carlton Hotel & will certainly be staying there again.
As a regular visitor to the I.O.W I have stayed in several hotels in different locations and this is by far my favourite hotel.
Unfortunately I had to cancel one of my rooms at short notice & the lady on reception could not have been more helpful.
The rooms are clean & the views from the balconys are unrivaled.
Sure the bathrooms are on the small side but for these prices you can't complain.
Would like to thank the lady on reception again for all her help, & the young barman who always had a smile on his face.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theflores43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a good week stay. Good hotel right on sea front by pier. Room nice, clean and comfortable. Food good, had a good choice for each course and service quick and efficient in dining room. All staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee making facilities extra tea, coffee and milk/cream available for free if needed

Room Tip: try to get room on front for seaview
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie F, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

What a lovely review. Our staff work really well together and are all friends, which I think shows as we work. I hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing