We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Carlton”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Carlton”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a five night stay at the Carlton this was the first time we have stayed here. First impressions were good the entrance looked clean and reception staff were friendly. We found our sea view room on the first floor it was fairly big and quite basic. The bathroom was small and there was a bit of black mould on the ceilling but everything worked could do with updating though. There was a little tea & coffee tray. We were quite suprised there was no information booklet in the room about the hotel and facilities as being new to the hotel we didn't really know anything about it. There was also no hair dryer. The balcony was nice with great views but not much privacy. When it came to our first evening meal we couldn't believe it they only give you from 6.30 to 7.15 to go down we went in but didn't realise you have a set table for the duration of your stay and we had to go and find some one to ask where our table was as no one was there on hand and they dont have numbers or names on. We were eventually shown to our table it was set up ok but no table cloths on any tables. The hotel was full when we stayed but with everyone down to dinner at the same time it felt very much like a school canteen very busy and we felt quite rushed. The Menu was quite simple and the food was a bit bland with not much to choose from but it was edible. Breakfast was from 8.30 to 9.15. You helped yourself to cereals but that was all that was available you had a choice of cornflakes, Weetabix and bran flakes Then you could have a cooked breakfast and toast. There was entertainment every night Bingo and then a singer. The bar area was nice plenty of seats and tables. The hotel seemed to be more for the older generation there isn't really anything for children but Sandown pier is just a stones throw away and of course the lovely beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Have just returned from a fabulous weeks stay with Sophie and her staff. check in was painless and was given a family room with amazing views of the sea. the facilities are good and the staff were always friendly and willing to help when they could, if your expecting a 5 star hotel than this isn't for you but, if you want a clean value for money stay with an amazing beach on your door step with amazing views (balcony room a must), than this hotel is for you. yes I agree the rooms could do with a little up dating but that's not the décor, but quilts and flat screen tvs with a decent signal and this hotel would get an excellent rating, needless to say there is so much to do on the sea front and on the island watching tv is the last thing you want to do but just thought a few suggestions so I am not to biased, overall me and my family (9yro and a 10 yro girls) loved it here and falling to sleep to the sound of the sea is something I will miss. so for a weekend or a week or two holiday this island and hotel are a must thanks again and we will be booking again very soon

Room Tip: Balcony room a must but not essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Called to confirm a booking took me from 7.30pm until 10pm to get through the receptionist was really rude didn't even stay there and would not recommend this totally unprofessional hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't book in this hotel my other tip if your the manager of this hotel your receptionist needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

One week stay at the Carlton Hotel poor state on the shower, black on the floor lino on both sides.Brown and black mould on the shower base. Bad attitude of the Duty manager. The hotel needs upgrading badly. Date 13/7/2013. Brian Richards Neath South Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned from a delightful four night stay Service was first rate even though they were busy having coach party staying. Check in with Sophie was totally painless Helpful and attentive staff make this a hotel I will be returning to Excellent value for money Pete Aldous

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hi all.
The wife and I stayed at this hotel from 05/07/2013 until 08/07/2013. On arrival we were greeted on our coach by a lovely young lady who clearly described the check in procedure and a free refreshment was provided even our luggage was brought in for us.We decided to upgrade to a room with balcony and sea view our room was No 109 on the first floor.This room was excellent extremely clean and with a very nice shower.The staff at this hotel were extremely pleasant polite and very friendly and helpful.It would have been nice to have a small table on the balcony to place your drinks on instead of having to stretch to the floor to pick them up all the time.Thats the good bit now for the bad news The food in the dining hall was amongst the worst we have ever been served the portions were so small one portion of fish was about 3"x2" less than a childs portion the food was,nt very well cooked or presented we had sweetcorn served one night with gravy. vegetables were almost raw I really could go on about the food enough to say,
many guests chose to eat at local cafes.To sum up the Carlton has everything going for it only to be let down badly by it,s terrible food please management do something about it before it,s too late,You have excellent front of house staff, sort out the chefs and cooks.By the way we were with Majestic tours many thanks to our driver John.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony it,s well worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel is very shabby looking from outside and there are good and bad bits internally. Bedroom was ok but their idea of 'refurbished rooms' are just a lick of paint! Bathroom however was disgusting. Mouldy ceiling, dirty plugholes, very small shower you can hardly move in, very dated and horrible! The only good thing was there was hot water available. Can't fault the staff at the hotel as they are all very nice. The food was quite good but the entertainment was ok if you like bingo and cabaret style singers which I don't! We went with Majestic Coaches and to be honest I wouldn't go back again. It took 8 hours to get there which was horrendous! So out of 4 days booked 2 days were travelling so only 2 actual days to enjoy the Isle. Lovely view from our room on the first floor but again pretty shabby balcony. Overall fairly disappointing to be honest! Like a lot of hotels, serious money needs to be spent to improve it but I fear they have not got it! Will not be going back that's for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and the view was lovely to wake up to and relax on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa130467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing