We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hoilday”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 12 August 2013

i have be going to this hotel for the last 15 to 16 years i have never had any problems with the hotel the rooms are always clean the food is very good the staff are most help full we have already
booked for next year i would go back tomorrow if i could

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are very good
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindamatthews45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Comments frm mature couple. We checked in on 2aug 2013 welcomed by a really nice guy. Who explained all hotel procedure very professional and courteous We had requested balcony rm was first told nt available. Bt thn told we cud upgrade 4 £40 extra Twin room clean bt small especially bathroom balcony sea view stunning. Bt no privacy and although hotel adopts no smoking rule there were those that abused this complained to management and although this situation was promptly dealt with. The offenders still carried on regardless needless to say we wasted our £40 extra for balcony which i pointed out to management at the time Food very budget bt edible. Staff cud nt do enough 4u efficient courteous professional helpful well mannered We had to do an OLIVER and ask 4 more wud have been nice if someone had asked Is everything ok. Ths hotel cud definitely do with UPGRADING especially the ONE lift (the carlton boasts 300+ rooms) and ths being really outdated (there is no safety in mind with ths lift if u r nt quick enough it will have u LITERALLY. I kid u nt. we wud only stay here again if they did some serious updating and REALLY ENFORCE their policy of a non smoking hotel (and ths includes the entrance).

Room Tip: Do not go for back room go 4 2nd floor less noise less walking (especially to lift an stairs balcon...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Komopdiebok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was the worst hotel I have stayed in. Rooms for single people too small, dirty bed linen, no clean towells. The food was bland and very little choice, tables would be better in the garden, cutlery looked as if it was ex army seconds. Knife would not even cut the bread rolls. Overall apart from the good
Weather it was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8lucy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a five night stay at the Carlton this was the first time we have stayed here. First impressions were good the entrance looked clean and reception staff were friendly. We found our sea view room on the first floor it was fairly big and quite basic. The bathroom was small and there was a bit of black mould on the ceilling but everything worked could do with updating though. There was a little tea & coffee tray. We were quite suprised there was no information booklet in the room about the hotel and facilities as being new to the hotel we didn't really know anything about it. There was also no hair dryer. The balcony was nice with great views but not much privacy. When it came to our first evening meal we couldn't believe it they only give you from 6.30 to 7.15 to go down we went in but didn't realise you have a set table for the duration of your stay and we had to go and find some one to ask where our table was as no one was there on hand and they dont have numbers or names on. We were eventually shown to our table it was set up ok but no table cloths on any tables. The hotel was full when we stayed but with everyone down to dinner at the same time it felt very much like a school canteen very busy and we felt quite rushed. The Menu was quite simple and the food was a bit bland with not much to choose from but it was edible. Breakfast was from 8.30 to 9.15. You helped yourself to cereals but that was all that was available you had a choice of cornflakes, Weetabix and bran flakes Then you could have a cooked breakfast and toast. There was entertainment every night Bingo and then a singer. The bar area was nice plenty of seats and tables. The hotel seemed to be more for the older generation there isn't really anything for children but Sandown pier is just a stones throw away and of course the lovely beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Have just returned from a fabulous weeks stay with Sophie and her staff. check in was painless and was given a family room with amazing views of the sea. the facilities are good and the staff were always friendly and willing to help when they could, if your expecting a 5 star hotel than this isn't for you but, if you want a clean value for money stay with an amazing beach on your door step with amazing views (balcony room a must), than this hotel is for you. yes I agree the rooms could do with a little up dating but that's not the décor, but quilts and flat screen tvs with a decent signal and this hotel would get an excellent rating, needless to say there is so much to do on the sea front and on the island watching tv is the last thing you want to do but just thought a few suggestions so I am not to biased, overall me and my family (9yro and a 10 yro girls) loved it here and falling to sleep to the sound of the sea is something I will miss. so for a weekend or a week or two holiday this island and hotel are a must thanks again and we will be booking again very soon

Room Tip: Balcony room a must but not essential
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Called to confirm a booking took me from 7.30pm until 10pm to get through the receptionist was really rude didn't even stay there and would not recommend this totally unprofessional hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't book in this hotel my other tip if your the manager of this hotel your receptionist needs...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank cherry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

One week stay at the Carlton Hotel poor state on the shower, black on the floor lino on both sides.Brown and black mould on the shower base. Bad attitude of the Duty manager. The hotel needs upgrading badly. Date 13/7/2013. Brian Richards Neath South Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing