We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majestic Holiday Tour Stay”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Majestic Holiday Tour Stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Greeted at the hotel by the manager and tea and coffee provided, which was most welcome after quite a long trip. This was a lovely little touch. The staff at this hotel were friendly and went through the details that made the stay easier: what time dinner was, where to find your room etc. Also our bags were taken up to our room for us whilst we enjoyed the beverages. When I entered my room the first thing I found was human faeces on the bedspread! Not the best welcome when you have been travelling for hours and just want to lie down and relax for a bit! I complained and the offending bedspread was soon replaced with a freshly laundered one. The carpet in the room was dirty, the shower leaked and there was a long cobweb hanging on the door of the wardrobe. Also the room was really small and I had to clean the kettle because it was covered in black fingerprints!
The breakfast and lunch at the hotel was nice and tasty and the service at the hotel was excellent. I am vegetarian and they catered well with some great food including nut roast, veg parcels with a gorgeous creamy sauce and lasagne. The hotel foyer and entertainment rooms were great and clean too. The entertainment was good and varied, except for the bingo which was soul destroying (only my personal taste as it went on and on and on and on through a really loud speaker). The trips were organised very well from the hotel and the people that worked there were friendly.
It was really the cleanliness that let it down for me. Pooh on a bedspread is just not acceptable and proved to me that the room was not cleaned properly from one guest to the next.
Hotel in a great, central location and is a fantastic little hotel in itself. I think staying here is pot luck as to the room you get.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view as the back rooms overlook skips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A group of 49 bowlers stayed here for the week from Sunday 8th September after reading the reviews prior to our visit I was a bit worried, however on arrival we were greeted with tea in the lounge by Sophie the manager and her assistant who checked us all in with no problems. There is nightly entertainment that was good, The hotel is a bit run down and needs a make over but the staff could not have been more helpful and obliging the food was okay and most importantly hot, remember this is not a 5 star hotel and you get what you pay for if you are a bit fussy then pay extra and go elsewhere.

David, Tour Organiser

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and myself who are pensioners stayed for 4 nights at this hotel ecently. We were travelling through a coach holiday operator. Whilst the hotel is in a good location, right on the beach, they not tell the whole story. The staff were friendly and I'm sure work very hard. The food was mediocre but then we did not expect cordon bleu. We asked for a sea view room and were apalled when we entered the tiny box room where we were hardly able to move. The room was clean, the bathroom was tiny too and a bit dated. But the view was unbelieveable, there was none, we had another part of the building directly in front of us, so consequently we had the wall of another building immediaely outside our window. We had great difficulty locating our room, in the beginning we did not know whether we had to climb more stairs or go down more stairs. I asked at the reception desk why we had not been given a sea view room as requested, and if that had not been possible why were we not told. We offered to pay extra for a sea view room but were told that none were available. The worst hotel room we have ever stayed in. We do not live like this at home so why should we go away and have to slum it. Never again.

Room Tip: Be very clear of your requirements and check in advance that your request is honoured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel location is good, right on the beach, the entertainment and food was very good with the waiting staff working hard and very polite, nothing was too much trouble and you could ask for extra's food. I agree with others on the noise levels in the dining area as well as it being humid with no ventilation. Others on the trip pointed out that the views from the balcony rooms were good.
Now the bad points - The bedroom / bathroom: Room 108 at the rear on the first floor is in need of some severe makeover. The window would only open 4 inches, needed fresh air (far too humid) and at times we felt we were in the kitchen (back door just below window) this included all the swearing going on from the preparation staff. Their breaks were taken on the roof patio and their smoke filtered into the room, which explained the smell when we first entered on the first day. The room felt like a single room with a double bed put in. The bathroom was so tiny that when I bend down to clean my teeth my backside opened the door. The shower however was the only good thing in there. The wardrobe (walk in) door could not be opened fully as a large radiator was fitted to the wall and kept catching and closing the door. The bed was comfortable but the bedding seemed to cater for the coach loads of OAP's that are attracted by this hotel(sheets, blanket and over down) not a modern hotel duvet in sight!
A couple travelling with two coach loads from our local club.

Room Tip: Unless you like living like a "Rabbit" try a front facing room with a balcony, slightly bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank longfordlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The carlton hotel location excellent. food good. Something needs to be done about sitting arrangements in the kitchen area as it is very noisy. Short staffed. Bathroom tiny cant move around in it . 23 people came with us and 20 of them complained. Things just were not right.
On one day the door fell off the bathroom (literally of the hinges).

Room Tip: Have a bedroom on the third floor as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is in need of a serious makeover as it's falling apart. Examples of this during our stay were: the lift stopped between floors and the door tried to open itself and one of the beds collapsed! In the dining room there were no serviettes provided at Breakfast (which was also very basic food) and you only had 45 minutes to eat your evening meal. The hotel is used predominantly by older persons and whilst we were staying there we encountered quite a few disables people, and the hotel staff catered very well for their needs. There is live entertainment every night, usually singers and they also have nightly 'Bingo' which we won on one occasion!!!
We stayed in two twin rooms on the third/top floor with sea views and balconies and the view from them was fantastic! With the door to the balcony open you could hear the sea lapping the shoreline all night and the way that the room is laid out means that you get a really surreal stereo effect with the noise of the sea echoing back from the room into your other ear. Wonderful and worth putting up with the rest just for thiss experience.
One other thing worth mentioning is that all bars/restaurants in Sandown stop doing food after 21.00 in the evening which is not good if you want to eat a bit later. But, if you ask at reception they will order you a takeaway which will be delivered to the hotel from local Chinese, Indian or Pizza establishments.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the third/top floor facing the sea with a balcony (see picture below)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli Carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were booked into this hotel by a well known Coach Holiday company The booking in procedure was quick and friendly We were allocated a twin bedroom with a seaview That was the best part of the holiday!!! The room was very small we could not open the wardrobe doors The dressing table drawers were falling apart The door to the bathroom opened directly onto the bed The bathroomitself was very small The shower was over the bath but when turning the taps on for a bath the water went directly to the shower head There were no complimentary toiletries, To have a good water mix with good pressure was nigh on impossible We did not have a change of bedlinen or towels during our four day stay
The dining room was just like a works canteen!!! No tablecloths on the tables, odd cutlery, no finesse whatsoever The food was of poor quality obviously the "value range" our waitress a student was very helpful and was worked off her feet
For the elderly and infirm there is only one lift which holds only four people and is situated at one end of the hotel ok if your room is near the lift, but a fair walk for those whose rooms are at the other end
The few times we made complaints at the reception the staff were most offhanded
The location of the hotel is superb The beach is lovely helped by four days of superb sunshine
I will never ever visit this hotel again and will never recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Don't go there!!! If you do take a bathmat!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucykins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#16 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing