We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs refurbishing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location on the sea front and one hundred yards from the pier but in my opinion it was looking pretty 'tired'.
The staff were more than friendly and helpful but the decoration needed updating.
The breakfasts and dinners were nourishing and the 'waiting on' staff were speedy and polite but the packed lunches were bland and uninteresting. The only choice of sandwich was cheese or ham, with no other filling on offer, i.e. pickle, cucumber or tomato etc.
The bedroom was adequate but the mattress needed replacing or a mattress topper was called for,as it was possible to feel every single spring.
We wouldn't hurry back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but it will cost you extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

After reading some of the trip,advisor reviews we were pleasantly surprised at the overall standard of this hotel.Most of the rooms had.been refurbished and paintwork and carpets throughout the hotel were in good order and we were given a lovely room with a sea view and a balcony.The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was bright and clean with lashings of hot water(the shower took a bit of adjusting ) and the over mirror light was very wonky but overall the room was excellent and beds made every day. The hotel staff were very helpful particularly the waitress who could not do enough to help,and helped with my husband gluten free diet. The chef did a brilliant job with the food and each meal was hot and meat was always tender and tasty.All in all this hotel gave us a much better standard than we expected and for the price we paid was very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 230 with.a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Greeted at the hotel by the manager and tea and coffee provided, which was most welcome after quite a long trip. This was a lovely little touch. The staff at this hotel were friendly and went through the details that made the stay easier: what time dinner was, where to find your room etc. Also our bags were taken up to our room for us whilst we enjoyed the beverages. When I entered my room the first thing I found was human faeces on the bedspread! Not the best welcome when you have been travelling for hours and just want to lie down and relax for a bit! I complained and the offending bedspread was soon replaced with a freshly laundered one. The carpet in the room was dirty, the shower leaked and there was a long cobweb hanging on the door of the wardrobe. Also the room was really small and I had to clean the kettle because it was covered in black fingerprints!
The breakfast and lunch at the hotel was nice and tasty and the service at the hotel was excellent. I am vegetarian and they catered well with some great food including nut roast, veg parcels with a gorgeous creamy sauce and lasagne. The hotel foyer and entertainment rooms were great and clean too. The entertainment was good and varied, except for the bingo which was soul destroying (only my personal taste as it went on and on and on and on through a really loud speaker). The trips were organised very well from the hotel and the people that worked there were friendly.
It was really the cleanliness that let it down for me. Pooh on a bedspread is just not acceptable and proved to me that the room was not cleaned properly from one guest to the next.
Hotel in a great, central location and is a fantastic little hotel in itself. I think staying here is pot luck as to the room you get.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view as the back rooms overlook skips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

A group of 49 bowlers stayed here for the week from Sunday 8th September after reading the reviews prior to our visit I was a bit worried, however on arrival we were greeted with tea in the lounge by Sophie the manager and her assistant who checked us all in with no problems. There is nightly entertainment that was good, The hotel is a bit run down and needs a make over but the staff could not have been more helpful and obliging the food was okay and most importantly hot, remember this is not a 5 star hotel and you get what you pay for if you are a bit fussy then pay extra and go elsewhere.

David, Tour Organiser

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and myself who are pensioners stayed for 4 nights at this hotel ecently. We were travelling through a coach holiday operator. Whilst the hotel is in a good location, right on the beach, they not tell the whole story. The staff were friendly and I'm sure work very hard. The food was mediocre but then we did not expect cordon bleu. We asked for a sea view room and were apalled when we entered the tiny box room where we were hardly able to move. The room was clean, the bathroom was tiny too and a bit dated. But the view was unbelieveable, there was none, we had another part of the building directly in front of us, so consequently we had the wall of another building immediaely outside our window. We had great difficulty locating our room, in the beginning we did not know whether we had to climb more stairs or go down more stairs. I asked at the reception desk why we had not been given a sea view room as requested, and if that had not been possible why were we not told. We offered to pay extra for a sea view room but were told that none were available. The worst hotel room we have ever stayed in. We do not live like this at home so why should we go away and have to slum it. Never again.

Room Tip: Be very clear of your requirements and check in advance that your request is honoured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel location is good, right on the beach, the entertainment and food was very good with the waiting staff working hard and very polite, nothing was too much trouble and you could ask for extra's food. I agree with others on the noise levels in the dining area as well as it being humid with no ventilation. Others on the trip pointed out that the views from the balcony rooms were good.
Now the bad points - The bedroom / bathroom: Room 108 at the rear on the first floor is in need of some severe makeover. The window would only open 4 inches, needed fresh air (far too humid) and at times we felt we were in the kitchen (back door just below window) this included all the swearing going on from the preparation staff. Their breaks were taken on the roof patio and their smoke filtered into the room, which explained the smell when we first entered on the first day. The room felt like a single room with a double bed put in. The bathroom was so tiny that when I bend down to clean my teeth my backside opened the door. The shower however was the only good thing in there. The wardrobe (walk in) door could not be opened fully as a large radiator was fitted to the wall and kept catching and closing the door. The bed was comfortable but the bedding seemed to cater for the coach loads of OAP's that are attracted by this hotel(sheets, blanket and over down) not a modern hotel duvet in sight!
A couple travelling with two coach loads from our local club.

Room Tip: Unless you like living like a "Rabbit" try a front facing room with a balcony, slightly bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank longfordlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The carlton hotel location excellent. food good. Something needs to be done about sitting arrangements in the kitchen area as it is very noisy. Short staffed. Bathroom tiny cant move around in it . 23 people came with us and 20 of them complained. Things just were not right.
On one day the door fell off the bathroom (literally of the hinges).

Room Tip: Have a bedroom on the third floor as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing