We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel weekend”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beautiful hotel. Room 123 had a balcony overlooking the amazing view of the beach and the sea. Hotel large and plenty of seating area in the lounge. Good comfortable armchairs. Food good. Staff very helpful. Room good just a couple of dirty marks on the carpet

Room Tip: Room 123. Balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our room was at the rear of the hotel.The hotel bottle bank& staff smoking area were within a few yards of the bedroom window. We moved the double bed away from the wall to allow access,
underneath were tissues & debris from previous guests. The shower curtain was stained & dirty general cleanliness was ,sadly, lacking, in the room. Food was poor at the two evening meals,main course fish was stone cold on one occasion. Breakfast was just adequate. We shall not be visiting again.

Room Tip: Insist on a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neeps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 18th oct 2013 to 21st oct 2013 with my husband daughter n grandma after reading the reviews was a little worried but when we arrived checkin was quick n staff very friendly,the reception area is very welcoming n the dinning n bar area is fairly up to date.As for our room was clean n maids came in every day to make beds etc...room was very small for a family room n our room was 335 and was right next to the lift which is very noisy at night/early hrs in morning so stay away from that room.On a good note the food was nice n the service was excellent esp from our waiter kyle who was always very friendly n helpful very good at his job.All three nights we was there ad entertainment bingo n a artist n two out th three was excellent.We did enjoy our stay at the hotel but just afew things need to be updated n if went again would as for seaview cuz our view was rubbish bins.Hotel is a excellent location right on beach frount n a stone throw away from the pier which is a lovely place for kids was very impressed with it, also cafes n pubs are afew mins walk away.Iv gave the carlton a average because of the noise at night by the lift n noisy guest at 230am not good when uv got a 8 yr old daughter n I do think the rooms need to be updated if so I would of gave hotel a very good, don't be put off by the bad coments that people put its not a bad hotel.

Room Tip: Back room on 3 rd floor 335 right next to lift so very noisy n not a good view, ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

(August 2013)

Carlton staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good, offering choice for vegetarians. It has a great location right on the seafront. Room was clean and well stocked with teas, coffees etc with more available from the bar, for no extra charge. Rooms are serviced daily.

Our room was a bit small but adequate however an upgrade to a balcony room is not expensive and well worth it for the great view.

We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location on the sea front and one hundred yards from the pier but in my opinion it was looking pretty 'tired'.
The staff were more than friendly and helpful but the decoration needed updating.
The breakfasts and dinners were nourishing and the 'waiting on' staff were speedy and polite but the packed lunches were bland and uninteresting. The only choice of sandwich was cheese or ham, with no other filling on offer, i.e. pickle, cucumber or tomato etc.
The bedroom was adequate but the mattress needed replacing or a mattress topper was called for,as it was possible to feel every single spring.
We wouldn't hurry back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but it will cost you extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After reading some of the trip,advisor reviews we were pleasantly surprised at the overall standard of this hotel.Most of the rooms had.been refurbished and paintwork and carpets throughout the hotel were in good order and we were given a lovely room with a sea view and a balcony.The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was bright and clean with lashings of hot water(the shower took a bit of adjusting ) and the over mirror light was very wonky but overall the room was excellent and beds made every day. The hotel staff were very helpful particularly the waitress who could not do enough to help,and helped with my husband gluten free diet. The chef did a brilliant job with the food and each meal was hot and meat was always tender and tasty.All in all this hotel gave us a much better standard than we expected and for the price we paid was very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 230 with.a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Greeted at the hotel by the manager and tea and coffee provided, which was most welcome after quite a long trip. This was a lovely little touch. The staff at this hotel were friendly and went through the details that made the stay easier: what time dinner was, where to find your room etc. Also our bags were taken up to our room for us whilst we enjoyed the beverages. When I entered my room the first thing I found was human faeces on the bedspread! Not the best welcome when you have been travelling for hours and just want to lie down and relax for a bit! I complained and the offending bedspread was soon replaced with a freshly laundered one. The carpet in the room was dirty, the shower leaked and there was a long cobweb hanging on the door of the wardrobe. Also the room was really small and I had to clean the kettle because it was covered in black fingerprints!
The breakfast and lunch at the hotel was nice and tasty and the service at the hotel was excellent. I am vegetarian and they catered well with some great food including nut roast, veg parcels with a gorgeous creamy sauce and lasagne. The hotel foyer and entertainment rooms were great and clean too. The entertainment was good and varied, except for the bingo which was soul destroying (only my personal taste as it went on and on and on and on through a really loud speaker). The trips were organised very well from the hotel and the people that worked there were friendly.
It was really the cleanliness that let it down for me. Pooh on a bedspread is just not acceptable and proved to me that the room was not cleaned properly from one guest to the next.
Hotel in a great, central location and is a fantastic little hotel in itself. I think staying here is pot luck as to the room you get.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view as the back rooms overlook skips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
184 reviews
0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing