We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for money”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good value for money”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have returned today from a 4 night stay at the Carlton Hotel in Sandown Isle of Wight and had a lovely time. I had read some of the reviews posted on here before we went and was expecting to be disappointed with this hotel. Well we weren't- from the first impression of our room and our first meal there. We were lucky enough to have a sea view room with balcony which literally was a stone's throw from the beach. The view was beautiful and when we were in our room it was great to watch the small boats and even the cruise ships on the horizon setting off from Southampton. Each morning the beach workers were litter picking and setting up numerous loungers, deck chairs and windbreaks starting before 7am ! The drawback as mentioned on a previous review was that due to security reasons we were unable to sleep with the balcony doors open and as there was no other window the room was very hot at night but in the day it was cool and airy. The shower room was small and those of us more rotund would find it a tight squeeze between the wash basin and the toilet! The bed was comfortable and the room very quiet at night with no compressors or air conditioning units making that horrible whirring sound. All we could hear was the gentle lapping of the tide. The meals were fine but not generous. Breakfasts consisted of cereals, grapefruit and porridge followed by a plated cooked breakfast which slightly varied each day. Toast was served with butter and marmalade in portions. No croissants, pastries etc! Dinner was 3 courses with 3 choices in each. I ate the vegetarian option which was delicious apart from the veg lasagne which was average. The veg curry, spicy rice and mushroom en croute and veg cannelloni were great. Our waitress Charli was a joy and very friendly and efficient. There was entertainment each night which varied in quality but there are a lot of hotels and venues around to visit if you want to try something different. I would be happy to revisit the Carlton if we return to the IOW.

Room Tip: We had room 221 front sea view and balcony. Our friends had 218 - no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    91
    75
    34
    84
See reviews for
40
101
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

hotel was okay, really warm but did not have a window as we had a balcony, couldn't leave the doors open at night as you could walk from one end off hotel to the other as there was only a small metal bar to separate rooms, bathroom was really tiny, hotel was clean enough, meals were a bit hurried

Room Tip: cant really advice as, we had a balcony facing the sea, spoke to others who had rooms at back facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was concerned about reviews when we booked our holiday but within minutes of stepping into the hotel my fears were banished. Our room (with a sea view balcony) was excellent - clean, bright airy with a very comfortable bed. Michelle came on to the coach to welcome us with teas and coffees. It was like being welcomed into someone's home. The food was basic but more than acceptable. Staff could not do enough for us - we only had three pillows in our room and another was brought up straight away. An added bonus was a packed lunch provided at a nominal charge for the journey home and this proved a God send for us. All in all an excellent seaside break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view. We were in 125 which was excellent with only one flight of stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was a bit apprehensive when booking accommodation as price seemed very reasonable for location. Expected threadbare carpets, dated decor. etc. But was delighted with this hotel, beyond all our expectations. Fabulous hotel, modern decor.( new carpets throughout). Staff very friendly, entertainment area exceptional, all people I talked to at hotel were enjoying their stay, never herd 1 complaint. Stayed with 6 members of my family, in 3 different type room accommodations, we all loved it and will definitely be staying here again when we return later this year. Oh! forgot the main ingredient, the stunning location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hussmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited The Carleton Hotel July 7th to 11th on a coach tour from North West. Was a bit sceptical after reading a no of poor reviews, but pleasantly surprised when we got there. The Hotel location was second to none with the beach and sea right outside. We had requested a sea view room with balcony and it was well worth the extra, although others were given a sea view room at no additional cost. Our room was a decent size for a Double and was very clean, could not fault. Shower was fine and hot water plentiful. The view was amazing. Food was fine, not huge portions but enough with a starter and dessert. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Michelle was lovely and thanks to Chris the night Porter for his assistance. Would definitely go again, but by car. The Coach journey was much too long with all the pick ups.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor front facing, told room was larger than some on the floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice quiet friendly hotel for a good price then you cannot do better than the Carlton at Sandown

Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, the food is basic but well cooked and tasty, the staff were friendly and accommodating and they genuinely could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. 2 faults- the bar area could benefit with replacing a couple of blown double glazed panels and please replace the toilet tissue dispenser in the loo to take a normal toilet roll - but other than this - cant find any faults!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Copperwasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here last June for 3 nights with my best friend and I had a lovely stay!
Sandown is a very nice place to stay for calm and rest and to enjoy the lovely beach, for me the town is one of the best place on the lovely Isle of wight.
The hotel was very good value for the price I paid, the staff was nice in particular Michelle and the barman and the Reception staff.
I've booked à sea view room,the view was just amazing, overlooking the golden sand beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedric465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing