We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful cozy escape at any time of year”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Fossils Reach chalet.. .. with calm, safe, grassed area to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Fossils Reach chalet..
.. with calm, safe, grassed area to the front.
Open the door to the living area..
.. and the kitchen area.
TV and DVDs within the living area.
The well equipped kitchen.
Everything you need in the kitchen (we think!)
A welcome basket is provided..
.. as is a selection of brochures for local events and attractions.
The double bedroom. Bed has pocket spring mattress..
.. and the view from the window..
Double bunks are adult sized..
.. and have memory foam mattress liners.
Shower room rebuilt for 2017 fully tiled and with large shower cubicle..
.. that will accommodate large baby bath (supplied)
The view from the Coastal Footpath just in front of Fossils Reach. The Sunrise, the mist, the peace.
Sandy beaches at Yaverland as the tide recedes.
Slipway access to the beach at Yaverland.
Fossils Reach dog 'Boo' having a paddle on her morning walk.
Sunrise over the container vessels in Sandown Bay - from Yaverland slipway.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markolive...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful cozy escape at any time of year”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a lovely find! Recommended by friends, Fossils Reach (and the associated Fossils Rest) are holiday chalets (dispense with any preconceptions you may have about holiday chalets) and a peaceful site in Yaverland (Nr Sandown) overlooking the sea at Culver cliff.
The chalet itself is impeccably and tastefuly decorated. It has everything you could need including free broadband. Most importantly for us it is dog friendly. Lots of walks nearby and we enjoyed a walk up to the Culver Haven Inn for Sunday luch - also dog friendly.
The owners Ian & Di welcomed us on arrival and showed us around. We enjoyed the super welcome pack of wine and local treats plus enough tea and coffee to get us started. Such a nice touch.
This is ideally positioned for an exploring by car holiday, walking, but also for those who just want to chill by the beach - we recommend Small Hope beach just along the road and lunch at The Salix right on the beachfront.
We will most certainly be returning here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for this kind review, we're pleased you enjoyed our little part of the Isle of Wight, and would welcome you back at any time. Thanks again I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somefishe...
Medway, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adorable little gem of a chalet”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just returned from a 3 night break at Fossils Reach, what a lovely lttle chalet! Di and Ian have thought of everything to make this little chalet something really special. Our party of 3 adults and a Golden Retriever were very comfortable, the chalet was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The internet connection was good and the beds realy comfy a perfect spot fot a relaxing weekend. In a lovely quiet corner of the park, a few metres from the cliff path the vews across the bay are lovely, even though the weather was a little grey. We really appreciated the little touches, the welcome pack was especially welcome! Thank you Di and Ian for a lovely weekend break we will be back for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for this, and indeed for cleaning the chalet so well before you left! We're pleased you enjoyed our little corner of the Island and hope you will return in the future. Thanks again I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“2 night short break”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Spotlessly clean, well equipped chalet. Very close to the beach. Comfortable and quiet. (Out of season). I was looking for peace and quiet in a place good for walking the dog. This ticked all the boxes. Very much recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thanks Simon, this is very much appreciated.Thanks also for looking after our chalet and leaving it so clean! We're sorry we didn't get to meet you, but we hope you will visit again and we can put that right. With kind regards, I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail c
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Chalet is well equiped and very new and so it was a very confortable stay The weather was not that wonderful but there are always plenty of nice places to eat and visit
The only downside was the poor site facilities and if you don't have any transport then have to walk quite a long way to get any groceries that you may need. So it was such a lovely gesture of Diane's to supply a little box of goodies and milk etc. Very much appreciated too and they were kind enough to pick me up from Shanklin where I had spent two lovely evenings at Grange Bank House
It is also a perfect location with your pets! - lovely views and beach is nearby the Chalet is perfect for a family holiday or for a solo person too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks you for your kind words, Gail, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We understand that the chalet site managers have plans to improve the site, but it is out of our personal control. What we do have is a beautiful location, peace & tranquility, and great views and walks on our doorstep. We hope you are able to visit us again. I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire68...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have visited the IOW many times but this was our first time in a chalet. It far exceeded expectations and was immaculate and homely. The welcome pack was a lovely idea and received with thanks. The chalet is in a lovely position and the kids loved eating outside on the picnic bench. Ian and Diane went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you so much. It was good to meet you and your family - may we wish you all well in the next few months. If you need accommodation here in the future, you will be most welcome. Thanks again I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nattyrod2...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The chalet far exceeded my expectations. Its beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. When we arrived we found the chalet spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped and the owners are so helpful and thoughtful when anticipating our needs. The location of the chalet is brilliant as there are lots of interesting places accessible by foot or in the car.

My children loved staying at Fossils Reach and are begging me to take them back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for this, and also for leaving our chalet so clean! We're pleased your little fossil hunters loved it, and we would love to see you all again. With kindest regards I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek68836...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“July 23 relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic chalet so thoughtful with the interior and clean, lovely owners who couldn't be more helpful would recommend to everyone and wonderful location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Hi Tracey, thank you for this lovely review, it's very much appreciated. You and your family would be welcome back at anytime. Thanks again, Ian & Di B.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing