We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely chalet with everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Fossils Reach chalet.. .. with calm, safe, grassed area to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Sunrise on Boxing Day - from the Coastal Path just in front of Fossils Reach.
Fossils Reach chalet..
.. with calm, safe, grassed area to the front.
Open the door to the living area..
.. and the kitchen area.
TV and DVDs within the living area.
The well equipped kitchen.
Everything you need in the kitchen (we think!)
A welcome basket is provided..
.. as is a selection of brochures for local events and attractions.
The double bedroom. Bed has pocket spring mattress..
.. and the view from the window..
Double bunks are adult sized..
.. and have memory foam mattress liners.
Shower room rebuilt for 2017 fully tiled and with large shower cubicle..
.. that will accommodate large baby bath (supplied)
The view from the Coastal Footpath just in front of Fossils Reach. The Sunrise, the mist, the peace.
Sandy beaches at Yaverland as the tide recedes.
Slipway access to the beach at Yaverland.
Fossils Reach dog 'Boo' having a paddle on her morning walk.
Sunrise over the container vessels in Sandown Bay - from Yaverland slipway.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sandown, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen E
1 review
“Homely chalet with everything you need”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

‘Fossils Reach’ was a great, little place to stay - it is ideally located on the outskirts of Sandown, with a very short walk down to the beach. The holiday park itself was quiet and with a grassed area right outside our door, our toddler was safe letting off some steam.
The chalet itself was well equipped, with washing machine, fridge-freezer, oven, microwave, etc.. There was room for us to eat as a family and we could sit outside, if we wanted. The living area had two two-seater settees and a small tv, which was more than fine for us.
Diane and Ian made us feel very welcome...there was local fare for us and they left a puzzle book for our son, as well as putting dinosaur covers on his bed. There was even milk in the fridge so we could have a cuppa when we arrived.
We had a lovely break away, made by the accommodation. We are hoping to get back there soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you so much, what nice things to say. We're pleased you enjoyed your time here, and we very much hope you will return. Thanks again I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginge1970
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, clean and convenient”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Absolutely excellent stay in a 5* well equipped chalet. Welcome pack with local biscuits and information about the island was appreciated.
Fossil's Rest was well-equipped with everything we needed. Excellent chalet and location for dog walking. So peaceful and quiet. Easy access to Yaverland beach and the Bembridge Downs.

Ian and Di's knowledge of sites and attractions in the area was extremely helpful, and we would highly recommend Ian & Di's chalet and attention to detail.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2018
Thanks very much for this review, we're pleased you appreciate our efforts! You would be welcome back at any time. Best wishes I&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine5...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous place to stay, the chalet was very clean and updated, had everything that we needed, welcome goodies were wonderful. Would recommend people to stay here

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Thank you very much, it's nice to be appreciated. Thank you too, for leaving the chalet so clean. You would be welcome back at any time. I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable, very well equipped bungalow”
Reviewed 19 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A group of old school friends stayed for the week end and made the most of the perfect location of this small, but well equipped holiday chalet. A quick walk down the hill to an excellent local restaurant, accompanied by the stunning sea views, and evening bird song, made for a magical first evening. Our base here allowed us to travel around the island by car to see the sights. The chalet itself is cosy, but has everything you need including wifi, and even a washing machine and iron, so it would be a good base for a family with small children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Many thanks for this lovely review, thank you for leaving the chalet so tidy, and we hope you come to visit us again. I&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAL1998
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy and well maintained chalet, the perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fossil's Reach is a beautiful, clean and well looked after chalet with thoughtful touches - welcome pack on arrival, milk in the fridge and even our dog was thought of, Diane and Ian provided her with a water bowl and mat. Soft throws are provided in each room, so you can snuggle up in the evening and relax with the local treats provided in the welcome pack.
We travelled with our two teenagers and they enjoyed their stay as much as we did, it was a fantastic few days break.
The location of the chalet is perfect, walking distance to Sandown and minutes from the beach. It makes an ideal base,to visit the whole island - The Needles, across the far West of the IOW is just a 50 minutes drive. There is a lovely one mile walk up the coastline from the Chalet up to the headland with the most amazing views, where there is a great pub, "Culver Haven Inn" serving generous and very good value meals.
Ian and Diane have thought of everything you need to make your stay at their chalet comfortable and memorable. They reply promptly when you contact them and assist you in any way they can..
Thank you Ian and Diane, hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Wow. Thank you so much. It's nice to know that our efforts bear fruit. It was good to meet you, albeit briefly, and we would love to see you again. I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillE205
2 reviews
“The perfect holiday chalet.”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Within walking distance of Sandown, and less than five minutes from the beach.

Great Wi-Fi comfy beds with amazing memory foam pillows, plus the owners had left us a lovely gift basket.

Lovely and snug, would highly recommend to a couple or small family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Thank you, it's good to know we are appreciated. We hope to see you again. I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usbase55
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not be better”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great place to stay very well fitted out and clean bonus is the people who own it are lovely and nothing was to much trouble highly recommended if you can find better good luck

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks for this lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much appreciate your thoughts.I&D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing